We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a hotel with a very friendly face, definitely not a faceless resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We arrived in the dark and the welcome was warm and put us at ease. The rooms are delightfully quirky and yet equipped with everything you need and to wake up in the morning with the sea right in front of your door and breakfast tables nearby is a joy. Fresh fruit and great coffee top a special breakfast menu. Lunch and dinner menus change daily and are delicious. There is a pool but the sea is preferable especially with masks available to see the magic in the reef.
This is not a 'ghetto' resort; you can walk around the locality, see the farms which supply Jakes, shop in the little stores and take a boat trip from Calabash Bay. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 699 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at the HOPE HOUSE and had a great time! I had brought along a few friends for the first time and they were blown away. I would like to thank everyone at Jakes. Everone you encounter is very friendly. I'll be back for sure. The sooner the better. Monica and Shirlon are the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckdodgers850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

From the experience to being checked in to the service from the restaurant, the villa (honeymoon suite) the experience was simply fantastic. From the natural rustic ambiance and beautiful surroundings the stay was truly romantic and relaxing. The staff was courteous and very professional. I will defiantly be back and would highly recommend this resort and unique experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a week in Jamaica to attend a friends wedding. We found this hotel on this site and chose it as something different from the often soulless 'all inclusive' style hotels.

We enjoyed a very relaxing peaceful stay here. The staff were very friendly and the food was good. This is not the place to come if you want busy nightlife or entertainment, Treasure Beach is relatively undeveloped. But for a place to chill, jakes is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicknSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Loved sleeping and waking up to the ocean. Wonderful staff with big smiles. The seafood was so delicious and fresh, I don't think I could ever get tired of jerk lobster. Farm to Table is a must! Its also great to see how much work Jake's does for it's community, especially with sustainable farming The lush country side and sweeping foothills never got old. Definitely would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Abalone Up
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Upon arriving in Kingston, our driver Andre, a Jake's employee, promptly picked us up, and my husband and I immediately knew we were in good hands. Winding through the countryside, mountaintops, and small towns, Andre entertained us with stories of his culture, the community and all that is Jamaica. If you require transportation, then Andre is your man.

The staff greeted us with big smiles and freshly squeezed juice, making every note to remember our names. At Jake's Resort, your eyes never tire of the views. Not only is the countryside lush and green, the water blue and serene, but the beauty of Jakes' itself is overwhelming. Every villa has its own character in so much that you feel it was designed just for your getaway, and the common spaces are colorful and welcoming, intricately designed with beautiful mosaics.

Our lazy afternoons were spent pool and beachside, sipping Appleton rum- a must try! Dougie, the namesake of Jakes' bar, expertly mixed delicious cocktails all day for us. On a couple of occasions, we found ourselves at the Driftwood Spa, a mere 20 steps from our room. An attempt to tell you how utterly relaxing and idyllic the massages were would be futile; words cannot describe.

On the more active days, my husband and I took a boat ride out to the highly famous, Pelican Bar. Our captains were relentless in finding dolphins on our trip out to sea, and find them, they did! Get yourself a Red Stripe and a plateful of lobster, and enjoy Jamaica! We also spent a morning at YS Falls, a gorgeous display of nature and must see.

On our last evening, the hotel staff insisted that we go to the monthly 'Farm to Table' dinner. Fresh seafood, local vegetables, and Jamaican wine under the stars and lit by candlelight? How could we pass that up? Another must do at Jakes'!

How have I not mentioned the food, in general, at Jakes'? It was amazing! We ate at Jack Sprat and Jake's Country Cuisine, the two onsite restaurants, for almost every meal. Homemade desserts, grilled lobster, organically grown fruit and vegetables . . . need I say more?

We stayed at the Starfish and Abalone (up). Both rooms were lovely, but I venture to guess that any spot at Jakes would be just that. Thank you Jakes' for making us feel so welcome and giving us a honeymooon we will surely never forget. 'Til next time . . .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is well kept and staff attentive and ready to help. the area is the best to stay (at least that we visited). It is maybe a little pricy and having a tiny beach are the two drawbacks of this place. The shower out of the cottage when it rains is not cool ;). But We had a good time there. With a car there are many options around: Great Bay or Frenchman's Bay. Breakfast is not included, but they have a good variety of options. I would stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Txiquitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Beach
48.0 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
58.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,305 reviews
47.3 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.3 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,014 reviews
43.8 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#22 of 64 in Montego Bay
571 reviews
44.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa

Address: Calabash Bay, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range: $102 - $754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Chicest shack in the Caribbean" – Vogue Magazine. --- "Welcome to one of Caribbean's funkiest resorts, where reggae and rock stars, doctors and lawyers, writers and artists come to taste the real Jamaica." - Island Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jake`s Hotel, Villa And Spa
Jake`s Hotel, Villa Hotel Treasure Beach
Jakes St Elizabeth
Jakes Hotel St Elizabeth
Jakes Jamaica
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing