We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Waikiki Guest House(Treasure Beach)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Kudehya Guesthouse(Treasure Beach)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Welcoming Vibes(Treasure Beach)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Katamah Beachfront Guesthouse(Treasure Beach)(Great Value!)
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Blossom Bed and Breakfast(Treasure Beach)(Great Value!)
$45
Priceline
View Deal
Treasure Beach(Treasure Beach)(Great Value!)
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Southview Hotel(Treasure Beach)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Seasons Guest House(Treasure Beach)
Booking.com
View Deal
Sunset Resort & Villas(Treasure Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveler rating
516
147
32
20
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
147
32
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjack spratabalonecocklespelican barpizzathe salt water poolys fallslaid backoutdoor showeryoga retreatseafoodoctopushope housefarm to tableblack rivercaptain josephhour drive
Filter
Updating list...
423 - 428 of 736 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Mum and I arrived here after four hour drive from Kingston. Weary and thirsty and was greeted by the most amazing, friendly and relaxed staff. The courtesy melon juice was amazing and became addicted. It was a great start to a two hotel stay we had planned and thank goodness we started here first. Loved the rooms and whole set up. The food, bar the Callaloo soup which was of poor standard, was amazing. Didn't like the pool and really missed having a conventional beach I.e. sandy. Nonethess we had agreat time and woulda like to say a big thank you to Chris and the rest of the staff for making us feel so welcomed. Chris, loved the poems and hope to one day see these published.

Sadly would not return here due to fear of cats. There was just too many of them and this just stressed me out.

Sass

Room Tip: Room with balcony was great.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassikia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had been to half moon bay earlier in the year which is the compete opposite of Jake's in style, location, size, feel, all of it. We loved half moon but also enjoy smaller, off the beaten path hotels. We stayed at a house down the road from jakes that they own and manage. Our house was perfect, four large bedrooms, perfect pool and literally steps from the beach. Staff came to clean every morning and Dennis cooked amazing food for us. It is Jamaica at its purest, you really can't get much more local in feel. The hotel itself has NO beach so with my kids I am very glad we were at the house. Also, the small saltwater hotel pool isn't ideal to use but cool to look at. Jake's is a two hour drive from Montego Bay airport along small,, bumpy roads but the views are beautiful!! You really get to see the country and while it's not an ideal place for say two nights, I found the drive gorgeous and interesting. The spa is small but great treatments, products. I had a massage in a room with three walls listening to the waves. It's an eclectic crowd and hotel. If you want traditional resort this is not the place for you. The mosquitoes were pretty bad. Overall we had a wonderful trip with beautiful scenery, kind people but it's off the beaten path and missing anemities of resort that some people may miss!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie-RGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Very great place to stay! Quite beautiful rooms and cliffs. There are some rooms directly ocean front and a lot garden front but very close to the cliff.

Unlikely we got the place during tropical storm and we couldn't use pool and other facilities, but the location is very very great!

It is not cheap and it has crazy prices for transfer anywhere. I suggest to find different solution outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginioA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

a note sent to Jake's Management:

I think I speak for all of us when I say it was the holiday of our lives. Thank you. It became very clear to us from very early on that it was a true privilege to share in the history of Treasure Cot. Meeting Ms. June and receiving her blessings made my year. I have left Jamaica with a great love and curiosity for a country and people that have been blessed in so many ways. You may just see us again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khamdru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Based on an interesting review in the NY Times we booked 5 nights at Jakes. It was a 2+ hour drive from Montego Bay Airport.

http://travel.nytimes.com/2012/03/04/travel/in-jamaica-treasure-beachs-quiet-isolation-is-its-draw.html

the good stuff at Jakes:
- treasure beach area has a great vibe -- it is a very relaxing environment that showcases both the beaches and the farmlands of Jamaica.
- Jakes is a collection of colorful, quaint buildings, located directly on the ocean.
- our room (called “Cockles down”), like many others, had an outdoor porch (2 chairs and 2 lounge beds) that overlooked the ocean; waves were crashing just at your feet! The sound of the ocean could be heard all day and all night.
- uncrowded "beach" and pool, lounge chairs are generally available.
- great poolside bar, bartender makes excellent fresh fruit & rum cocktails (using a Vitamixer, so you get all the good nutrients)
- staff are all genuinely friendly.
- grounds, pool and gardens are lush and well kept.
- new spa building, with open-air treatment rooms overlooking the ocean. Treatments were okay, but still something left to be desired.
- hotel transport was on-time, waiting at the airport. Car has A/C and driver navigated the roads and traffic expertly.

Jakes can & should improve: I would have told the manager these things directly, but I never saw management at this hotel, it was like the hotel was on autopilot, not in a good way.

- lunch & dinner at jakes was truly disappointing, just awful (breakfast was fine and fresh juices are wonderful). and to be honest, there is much better food next door at Jack Sprats (same owner and you can charge the bill to your room).
- the room was a bit weathered and there were many small things in need of repair: loose faucet handle, too-small-sink, old toilet, rusty security box, very weak A/C (we paid extra for A/C, and it didn't really ever feel cool), the bathroom door did not shut properly and provides only minimal privacy. these small things and the bad food caused me to check out one day early (no refund provided, but still not worth wasting a vacation day here).
- though there are plenty of lounge chairs by the pool/beach, only a handful are in the shade and when the sun is intense and hot, easy to feel like there is no place to go for shelter! an umbrella or two would be nice.
- front desk staff did not ever mention the daily activities which are posted on the board in the dining room. we missed farm tour, which i'm sure would have been special given that treasure beach is an agricultural economy.
- there is a man-made-looking beach at Jakes which is rather disappointing, but, there is a better beach next door in front of Jack Sprat's restaurant.

I would love to go back to Treasure Beach if Jakes could make even just a few of these improvements. From someone who is rather used to staying in boutique B&B/hotlels, this one just feels a bit neglected, its rather sad -- I only say all of this, so that they can improve the quality of the stay.

Room Tip: Cockles up is probably the best room (we stayed in cockles down).
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surfcoast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are always improving our product and it is through the comments of our valuable guests that we can continue to do so. We sincerly hope that you will return and give us the chance to make better the opportunities you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews