We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rustic Jamaica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Mum and I arrived here after four hour drive from Kingston. Weary and thirsty and was greeted by the most amazing, friendly and relaxed staff. The courtesy melon juice was amazing and became addicted. It was a great start to a two hotel stay we had planned and thank goodness we started here first. Loved the rooms and whole set up. The food, bar the Callaloo soup which was of poor standard, was amazing. Didn't like the pool and really missed having a conventional beach I.e. sandy. Nonethess we had agreat time and woulda like to say a big thank you to Chris and the rest of the staff for making us feel so welcomed. Chris, loved the poems and hope to one day see these published.

Sadly would not return here due to fear of cats. There was just too many of them and this just stressed me out.

Sass

Room Tip: Room with balcony was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassikia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    132
    30
    19
    19
See reviews for
103
340
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had been to half moon bay earlier in the year which is the compete opposite of Jake's in style, location, size, feel, all of it. We loved half moon but also enjoy smaller, off the beaten path hotels. We stayed at a house down the road from jakes that they own and manage. Our house was perfect, four large bedrooms, perfect pool and literally steps from the beach. Staff came to clean every morning and Dennis cooked amazing food for us. It is Jamaica at its purest, you really can't get much more local in feel. The hotel itself has NO beach so with my kids I am very glad we were at the house. Also, the small saltwater hotel pool isn't ideal to use but cool to look at. Jake's is a two hour drive from Montego Bay airport along small,, bumpy roads but the views are beautiful!! You really get to see the country and while it's not an ideal place for say two nights, I found the drive gorgeous and interesting. The spa is small but great treatments, products. I had a massage in a room with three walls listening to the waves. It's an eclectic crowd and hotel. If you want traditional resort this is not the place for you. The mosquitoes were pretty bad. Overall we had a wonderful trip with beautiful scenery, kind people but it's off the beaten path and missing anemities of resort that some people may miss!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie-RGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Very great place to stay! Quite beautiful rooms and cliffs. There are some rooms directly ocean front and a lot garden front but very close to the cliff.

Unlikely we got the place during tropical storm and we couldn't use pool and other facilities, but the location is very very great!

It is not cheap and it has crazy prices for transfer anywhere. I suggest to find different solution outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginioA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

a note sent to Jake's Management:

I think I speak for all of us when I say it was the holiday of our lives. Thank you. It became very clear to us from very early on that it was a true privilege to share in the history of Treasure Cot. Meeting Ms. June and receiving her blessings made my year. I have left Jamaica with a great love and curiosity for a country and people that have been blessed in so many ways. You may just see us again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khamdru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Based on an interesting review in the NY Times we booked 5 nights at Jakes. It was a 2+ hour drive from Montego Bay Airport.

http://travel.nytimes.com/2012/03/04/travel/in-jamaica-treasure-beachs-quiet-isolation-is-its-draw.html

the good stuff at Jakes:
- treasure beach area has a great vibe -- it is a very relaxing environment that showcases both the beaches and the farmlands of Jamaica.
- Jakes is a collection of colorful, quaint buildings, located directly on the ocean.
- our room (called “Cockles down”), like many others, had an outdoor porch (2 chairs and 2 lounge beds) that overlooked the ocean; waves were crashing just at your feet! The sound of the ocean could be heard all day and all night.
- uncrowded "beach" and pool, lounge chairs are generally available.
- great poolside bar, bartender makes excellent fresh fruit & rum cocktails (using a Vitamixer, so you get all the good nutrients)
- staff are all genuinely friendly.
- grounds, pool and gardens are lush and well kept.
- new spa building, with open-air treatment rooms overlooking the ocean. Treatments were okay, but still something left to be desired.
- hotel transport was on-time, waiting at the airport. Car has A/C and driver navigated the roads and traffic expertly.

Jakes can & should improve: I would have told the manager these things directly, but I never saw management at this hotel, it was like the hotel was on autopilot, not in a good way.

- lunch & dinner at jakes was truly disappointing, just awful (breakfast was fine and fresh juices are wonderful). and to be honest, there is much better food next door at Jack Sprats (same owner and you can charge the bill to your room).
- the room was a bit weathered and there were many small things in need of repair: loose faucet handle, too-small-sink, old toilet, rusty security box, very weak A/C (we paid extra for A/C, and it didn't really ever feel cool), the bathroom door did not shut properly and provides only minimal privacy. these small things and the bad food caused me to check out one day early (no refund provided, but still not worth wasting a vacation day here).
- though there are plenty of lounge chairs by the pool/beach, only a handful are in the shade and when the sun is intense and hot, easy to feel like there is no place to go for shelter! an umbrella or two would be nice.
- front desk staff did not ever mention the daily activities which are posted on the board in the dining room. we missed farm tour, which i'm sure would have been special given that treasure beach is an agricultural economy.
- there is a man-made-looking beach at Jakes which is rather disappointing, but, there is a better beach next door in front of Jack Sprat's restaurant.

I would love to go back to Treasure Beach if Jakes could make even just a few of these improvements. From someone who is rather used to staying in boutique B&B/hotlels, this one just feels a bit neglected, its rather sad -- I only say all of this, so that they can improve the quality of the stay.

Room Tip: Cockles up is probably the best room (we stayed in cockles down).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surfcoast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are always improving our product and it is through the comments of our valuable guests that we can continue to do so. We sincerly hope that you will return and give us the chance to make better the opportunities you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Jake's is probably not for everyone, however if you are looking for a relaxing vacation with a warm and welcoming environment, you have reached the right place!
There is no hustling here (unlike most other places on the island) and the place is designed in such a way that you are given privacy in each room (almost always facing the sea) yet there is a great communal area which can be used to hook up with other travellers in order to go on day trips or just meet other like minded people if you are so inclined. The swimming there is not great and whatever beach they had, was mostly decimated during hurricane Ivan a few years ago. Nonetheless the vibe there is so great that you see beyond that and save the beach experience for somewhere else. Be aware as well that Jake's is a 2.5 hr journey from Mo Bay which will cost you $120-130 (US), there are other cheaper ways to do it but be prepared to squish in and make many transfers on the way. Food is good and there are very reasonable places around there such as Waikiki - for Cynthia's cooking. My wife and I were there for 5 days and never felt like we needed to move on!

David

Room Tip: I think that all of the rooms are good. We had the standard ocean front and I cannot imagine needin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is a great place to get away and relax, Jamaica is expensive... but its addicting ! If you are looking for the all inclusive beach party resort...this is not the place for you... if you want to explore, relax and have a romantic trip you should definitely check out Jakes !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnCorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Beach
48.0 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
58.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
47.3 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Resort & Villas
Sunset Resort & Villas
#3 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
43.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
65.1 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa

Property: Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Address: Calabash Bay, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Chicest shack in the Caribbean" – Vogue Magazine. --- "Welcome to one of Caribbean's funkiest resorts, where reggae and rock stars, doctors and lawyers, writers and artists come to taste the real Jamaica." - Island Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jake`s Hotel, Villa And Spa
Jake`s Hotel, Villa Hotel Treasure Beach
Jakes St Elizabeth
Jakes Hotel St Elizabeth
Jakes Jamaica
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing