We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pearl in Santiago”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camp David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camp David
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Pearl in Santiago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel for four nights and had an unbelievable time. The hotel sits on top of an elevated bluff that permits an unobstructed view of the entire city of Santiago. It is close enough to the City that you can be at any desired location in a matter of minutes and yet it is far enough that you don't have to endure noise of their downtown area. The room was very clean, spacious and well air-conditioned. The bed was very comfortable and the staff was accomodating. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYViajador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nb2146, Manager at Camp David, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting us.. hope to have you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    29
    9
    11
    16
See reviews for
21
43
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

The view is the first thing you notice. Hate to be cliche, but it's breathtaking. The rooms are huge and modern with a walk in shower. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcdemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nb2146, Manager at Camp David, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for staying at Camp David ...let us know if we could have done anything more to make your experience better.. Hope to have you back any time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Spent four wonderful days at Camp David Ranch. The view of the city from the restaurant is breathtaking both by night and day; you would even need a sweater in the evening with the breeze coming through as you are almost 2000 feet above sea level! The rooms are more than spacious, the beds are very comfortable and the ACs do work quite well. Some of the better rooms facing the vista of the city are located above the restaurant. I thought the breakfast really hit the spot and was quite good (and it is complimentary!). I heard they are considering a swimming pool in the next year or two but otherwise it is a rest & relaxation venue. If you are into cigars Santiago is home to several cigar plants and smoking is allowed everywhere. Cannot forget the staff--they do their very best to see to all your needs and will accommodate English speakers. One of the best hotels in the area by far!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the city for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YkrsNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nb2146, Manager at Camp David, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for staying at our hotel... We are a cigar country and can't encourage enough for people to try our cigars, like you mentioned we allow cigar smoking, hope to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Gorgeous setting in the mountains above Santiago! The hotel rooms are beautiful and the restaurant excellent. Two things ,though, that need to be paid attention to ..... The complimentary breakfast is awful and does not reflect the wonderful restaurant. There is no pool and basically nothing to do which could be a good or bad thing depending on your goals for your stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the new section!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leahbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

The hotel is very nice. Very clean. The beds are sooo soft. AC works awesome. Patios for the rooms are spacious. THe view is soooo great. It is only 20 min cab ride to town and well worth it for the view. THe food at the restaurant is fabulous. Every meal I have there was wonderful. I would stay there again and very much enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR-BRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

More than decent prices for rooms that are HUGE, with a bed where four can find a comfortable dream, superb service, and a very fine restaurant (a little expensive, but worthy).

Hotel have a big salon upstairs the restaurant, great for bussiness, parties or weddings, WiFi, and a collection of old cars that belonged to Generalisimo Trujillo.

The surroundings and the views are marvelous, and always cold temperatures (it's almost 3,000 ft high) and a romantic fog in the mornings. Sorry, no Spa or pool.

Actually the hotel is developing a villas compound in the mountain nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josegarcia1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Awesome view of the city. Friendly and helpful staff. Room was very clean, very visually pleasing (modern) and very comfortable bed. Very quiet. Great get-away spot. Food was excellent-kudos to the chef. While you are visiting for dinner, order the restaurant's specialties. Dinner was pricey and wait staff was slow though. Wonderful experience overall. Very reasonably priced stay. My husband and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophisticada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
4.6 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Platino
Hotel Platino
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Court
Hodelpa Garden Court
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Los Jardines
Hotel Los Jardines
#5 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp David

Property: Camp David
Address: Carretera Gregorio Luperon Km 7.5, Santiago de los Caballeros 0, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camp David 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned and operated hotel and restaurant in the Septentrional Mountains of the Dominican Republic, with a Spectacular view of the city of Santiago de los Caballeros and the Cibao Valley! Only 15 minutes from the city and 20 minutes from the Santiago Intl Airport (STI). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camp David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp David Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing