We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, but dimly lit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platino Hotel & Casino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Santiago de los Caballeros is a VERY loud city. Hotel Platino's best attribute is that it is off the street (in the deep end of a little strip mall), so it is quiet. (I stayed at Hodelpa Centro Plaza, a nicer hotel, but on a downtown block--horns honking all day and night). Book directly with the hotel by phone to save about 10 dollars US per night. The hotel is clean, rooms tend to be small, but they are very dimly lit with money saving flourescent bulbs. My in room safe did not function properly, so they gladly and quickly moved me to another room. There is an attached restaurant that served a good lunch. For Santiago, it seemed a little high priced, but compared to the USA it was a good deal. Hotel staff speaks good enough English.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thinline69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Platino Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 187 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2010

The hotel is kind of good, rooms not that big! but clean and I liked the bathroom, but it was small.
The service in the restaurant is not that good, but the food is really nice!

Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank JuRaNaranjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We saw the reviews and went in. First, the staff are helpful once you get there and interact face to face. We called them 3 days in a row, every day. We faxed them our
flight itinerary. I offered to pay upfront for the shuttle to pick us up from the airport at 3am.
They scewed up. Luckily i had my verizon phone on roaming and was able to call them
at 4am when i was able to get out from the airport and they sent a taxi. They claimed that
the taxi driver came there at 3 am and did not see us and returned. Is it common sense to know that it takes time for people to come out after a 3am landing.
We had a similar arrangement 2 years ago with our hotel in Guatemala and they
were wonderful in waiting for us at the airport to drive us to the hotel that was 2.5 hours
away.

Now, this hotel for $80/night, gave us a room with a queen size bed for a family of 4.
we were soo tired when we got there at around 4:30am or so that we did not bother to
ask for a change. we tried to sleep for a few hours and left for puerto plata. The toilet
flush did not work properly. The sink would fill up and not drain. The A/C unit was noisy.
This is an old hotel. The location was good. It was about a $20 taxi ride from the airport
and was over 8 miles away. If you are headed to puerto plata and arrive at Santiago
in the early hours of the morning, just wait in the airport and get out when the sun pops.
You will be better off. We wish we had done that and saved about $120 and hit the
road to Puerto Plata just like one of the other families we ran into while they were waiting
at the National car rental counter. We also had a rental car with National and we went
back at 11am to get our car and headed up North.
Also no breakfast is included. There is a restaurant next door and the hotel guides their
guests to this restaurant. The food was ok and service fine.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kumarkrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

The room was nice for the price but we didn't sleep very well due to car alarms going off all night, window washing or something that was splashing water on our windows in the early morning. All noise in the hallway was easily heard in our room, talking, rolling suitcases, doors closing and music from the outside venue.
The location was nice and we felt safe.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2vacation14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I was on a business and leasure trp and Hotel Platino served as a great Inn. The hotel is wonderful if you look for a bed and breakfast type of place. Restaurants are right outside of the hotel. I highly suggest El Carrito de Marchena for delicious and inexpensive cultural food like sancocho, steak, goat or "chivo guisado" and azopado de camarones.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacksReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Stayed one night, price was about 65 dollars. Room was Ok, nothing special. Air Conditioning worked good. Had internet in the room, if I remember correctly it was wifi, included in the room rate.

Room had a refrigerator and a small counter with a sink. Across the street from this hotel is a large university. Up the block from this hotel is a sports bar and another plaza with a pharmacy and ice cream shop. Attached to this hotel is a bar/restaurant where I had coffee, the morning I checked out.

This hotel is located in Plaza Platinum. Many businesses in Santiago are located in Plazas. There is a good size mall with movie theaters, fast food restaurants, shops, gym and the bar Moma located in Plaza Internacional, less then a ten minute ride from Hotel Platino.

There is a large sign for Plaza Platinum with somewhat small words that say Platino.

Check out took about 20 minutes. For the money this is a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NY_Oak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

very cozy room... great hotel staff...the food was beyond good...they treat you with the most respect...i couldn't have asked for a better place to stay...i'm going to tell everyone about this spot...why keep something soooo good to myself...

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwayzdalady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
1.1 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
289 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Court
Hodelpa Garden Court
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
200 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Los Jardines
Hotel Los Jardines
#6 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolitanos
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolit...
#9 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platino Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platino Hotel & Casino

Address: Estrella Sadhala Ave, Santiago de los Caballeros 51031, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range: $55 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Platino Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a restaurant, hot tub and free Wi-Fi access in all areas, Hotel Platino is located 5 km from Santiago de los Caballeros main square and 1.6 Km from Gran Teatro del Cibao Park. The rooms here will provide you with a flat-screen TV and air conditioning. Featuring a bath or shower, private bathrooms also come with free toiletries and towels. Some rooms have a garden view. Extras include a minibar and cable channels. Other facilities offered include meeting facilities, on-site shops and an ironing service. The property offers free parking. This property is 4.4 Km from San Luis Fort and 2.2 Km from Colon Park. Cibao International Airport is 15 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Platino Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platino Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing