We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than expected, Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Platino Hotel & Casino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I believe that a good service is the one you receive when you are not asking for it, otherwise would be an obligation.

I came into the front desk and a very polite and educated gentleman: Wandy Landay. He have the right actitude when you come tired and desperatelly looking for a place to rest. Check in was smooth and he even walked the extra mile in service offering a nice discount for my week stay. I know quality has a price and you mostly receive what you paid for, As a frequent traveler and Tripadvisor user, the first impression i got was: I know what im paying for and at the end, indeed, i got a discount!

The good thing is that the discount was not the price of hidden problems in service. The only complaint and must be fairly noted is that electronic cards are painful, the lock reader on each door must be improved or fixed. It is true that they know the issue and they offer to recode everytime you come in, but sometimes somebody with a master key shall step up.

Room is confortable, elegant, clean, very clean and cozy. it might be little bigger (for Executive Deluxe) but it is not bad at all, today i wont behave as too picky. Downside is that an executive customer needs a desk or table and the one provided, most for make up than for working environment can be painfull when you need to work for hours.

I´m a clean world and nature keeper and i was little worry about how much water the toilet spoil and a flush, that can be iimproved.

Breakfast is Included, yes it is!!! and is plenty and variated.

People in Hotel seems to be dedicated, friendly and willing to help.

I asked for a room with a window, im not claustrophobic but i like to see sunlight and i got what i wanted on the fly.

Im not an hotel expert reviwer but i travel a lot for business and i kind of know what you expect for confort. reading the previous reviews i though that maybe i was making the wrong choice, but i believe some people are complicated, i had refered international friends to this hotel with no complaints now as a user myself i cant tell of any mayor issue would bring me to a bad review.

I would highly recomend this Hotel, spot is nice, close to downtown, Carrito the Marchena Restaurant with high variety and taste.

My overall experience is quite good in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ERRveneno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Platino Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 187 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Recently stayed one night and, all in all, it was a pleasant experience. Hotel is a very good value for the money. Breakfast was included. Breakfast area is rather small, so, if there is a large group, you will have to wait a long time for breakfast. Grounds of the hotel were immaculate and very attractive. Rooms were nice. Electric went off during the night but the electric generator kicked right on. However, it does not run the air conditioner. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The standard room is very small. But the executive rooms are larger. The closet was surprisingly spacious. We were in room 306 which faces the wall of a building next door. Absolutely no view. The rooms on the opposite side of the hotel have a view of the parking lot and the rear garden with gazebo. There wasn't a safe in our room. There was a small sink in the room near the mini fridge which proved useful to us. The mini fridge was fully stocked, but the cheapest item was water ($25 Dominican pesos; it only costs $8 pesos at the supermarket). The bathroom was small; it only has a shower. No bathtub. Their was no hot water. The water only got a bit warm. We were able to hear all the noise made in the hallway, even guest coming in late at night. The AC worked but it made a lot of noise. We were thankful though that the bed was comfortable. Breakfast is not included. At checkout my wife and I commented how the receptionist could improve her attitude.

Room Tip: Rooms 304-319 windows face the a wall of the building next door. The other rooms face the parking lo...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tobedla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Platino for 2 nights on our visit to Santiago. The rooms were beautiful, air-conditioned, with private bathrooms. The beds were comfortable and the rooms also had cable. Breakfast was incredible. The staff were extremely helpful. This is not a luxury standard hotel, but if you are looking for a truly wonderful dominican experience, check this place out.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms are great quality. Try to stay away from rooms on the lowest level.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The staff are very friendly and help you with everything. The food you will have to buy it. The rooms are small and also the shower.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franciellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My husband cousin and myself stayed here and we left early due to the rude staff and freezing air conditioning by rude I mean the women were rude the men were okay. The AC was freezing and did not work the bathrooms are tiny and the shower is stand up only and you can barely fit. The rooms are small and the only good thing was that there was a safe deposit box in the room. i would never recommend this place to anyone visiting the next time I will pay the extra cash and go to the Gran Almirante up the street this is the most unprofessional hotel I have ever been too.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, General Manager at Platino Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Dear Cynthia:

I appreciate you taking the time to review us. I am pleased that you found our safe deposit boxes to be adequate. Having a safe in the room helps many customers feel at ease while traveling. At the same time I am saddened that you felt our services were not what you expected. We would like you to know that we have changed management since you have left and rest assured our customer services is one of the many reasons people choose us. Here at Platino, we strive on making our guests feel right at home. We are constantly working on improving ourselves to make our guests feel right at home.

I personally would like to invite you again to experience our great professional and kind customer service.

Lowell De Leon
General Manager
Platino Hotel& Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hotel was very clean. Ac in the room did not work, had to switch room on which staff was very friendly. Hotel location was excellent. Had a wedding to attend and visitors had the same problem with AC in their room. Rate was good, but I would think twice about staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
1.1 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Court
Hodelpa Garden Court
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
200 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Los Jardines
Hotel Los Jardines
#5 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolitanos
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolit...
#9 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platino Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platino Hotel & Casino

Address: Estrella Sadhala Ave, Santiago de los Caballeros 51031, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range: $55 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Platino Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a restaurant, hot tub and free Wi-Fi access in all areas, Hotel Platino is located 5 km from Santiago de los Caballeros main square and 1.6 Km from Gran Teatro del Cibao Park. The rooms here will provide you with a flat-screen TV and air conditioning. Featuring a bath or shower, private bathrooms also come with free toiletries and towels. Some rooms have a garden view. Extras include a minibar and cable channels. Other facilities offered include meeting facilities, on-site shops and an ironing service. The property offers free parking. This property is 4.4 Km from San Luis Fort and 2.2 Km from Colon Park. Cibao International Airport is 15 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Platino Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platino Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing