We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only I could go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tablon Latino

El Tablon Latino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If only I could go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

El Tablon Latino is the place to go while in Santiago. As some of the reviews have stated, the view is stunning with the Monumento de la Restauracion right there in front of you while sat on the patio. We started off with their signature mojitos...passionfruit (chinola) and coconut. They were both good but the coconut mojito was exceptionally good! We had the fish ceviche and the mofongo as starters and then the eggplant flatbread and coconut shrimp risotto as our main... yum! We finished off the meal with an oreo cookie cheesecake.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bermytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElTablonLatino, Public Relations Manager at El Tablon Latino, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We greatly appreciate your visit, and the time for reviewing us. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    54
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Do not miss this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The idea of sitting on a patio enjoying a good meal while having views of the monument enticed us to try this place for dinner. We were not disappointed. The views are spectacular, the service was good and the food was excellent. We started with one of the flatbreads, which was excellent, but a lot larger than we were expecting (it could have been a meal for one person). for an entree we had the Filete De Mero al Ajillo (Sea bass in white sauce) and the Chicharron de Puerco Cubano (Pork Roast) which were both excellent. Needless to say we did not have dessert given the portion sizes. Great food, great service, amazing views!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank garhuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElTablonLatino, Public Relations Manager at El Tablon Latino, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We greatly appreciate your visit, and the time for reviewing us. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very good for a moderate price, with a great view,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I've been here several times; twice recently. The menu has been redone and the food is now very good and nicely varied. I've had several of the arepas, the auyama (pumpkin) soup and the paticon - and all were really good. The place is next to the Puerto del Sol which is much louder and busier with multiple televisions, loud music, and so on, but the wall between and the music in El Tablon successfully blocks out all of that. El Talbon has tasteful decor, a nice atmosphere, and you look out across the street (Calle del Sol) to the open area around the monument and the Monumento itself, so it feels spacious and a bit grand. There are cars going by and people walking, and all, but you're up off the sidewalk, so there's separation. If you really want more peace and quiet, you can sit in the inside air-conditioned room with glass walls. But really, this is a place with atmosphere and good food to sit and see the monument and feel the vibe there. It's very alive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eammorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElTablonLatino, Public Relations Manager at El Tablon Latino, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We greatly appreciate your visit, and the time for reviewing us. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
315 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food, different for Santiago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I went to El Tablon Latino because of the recommendation here and it was great. Try the Patacon Lation is different but good. They are friendly and honest. I highly recommend it. Also you can enjoy a nice view of the Santiago Monument.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElTablonLatino, Public Relations Manager at El Tablon Latino, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We greatly appreciate your visit, and the time for reviewing us. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Superb food, excellent atmosphere, nice view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Situated down town in Santiago right across from the famous monument, we sat out front and watched the world going by as we dined. Its a busy street with a lot of "bustle" if you want a quiet seat then sit somewhere in the back, there is the choice for everyone.

The menu is amazing. We were on business and our hosts were local so helped us chose from the fantastic selection of delights. It was all good.

The only "fly" is the beer is Quisqueya which isn't such a good beer as Presidente which is served most other places. But if you drink wine or one of the excellent cocktails instead, who cares about beer? ;-)

I will certainly make sure to eat here again when I am next in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Akku_Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElTablonLatino, Public Relations Manager at El Tablon Latino, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We greatly appreciate your visit, and the time for reviewing us. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tablon Latino also viewed

Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 

Been to El Tablon Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing