We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, Business Class hotel in City Centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
leeds
Level Contributor
280 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Good, Business Class hotel in City Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed in Santiago en route to Haiti- Caribe Tours bus runs to Cap Haitien from here . Also the hotel has secure parking so we planned to leave the car while we went to Haiti. The hotel is right in the centre of town, just off the main shopping street and 10 minutes walk from the bars and restaurants around the monument. From what I saw it's probably the best located hotel in town. It's a business class chain hotel - not much character but clean, modern and functional. We had a 6th floor room so weren't bothered by traffic noise which I guess could be an issue with some of the lower floor rooms. The hotel has a bar restaurant on the top floor which sounds pleasant but was very staid and characterless to the point that we didn't even visit to get our complimentary cocktails! Buffet breakfast was served there and that was okay. In summary - a safe, clean option and the secure car parking was a real bonus for us as we left the car there for 3 days while we went to Haiti.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    84
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
41
41
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We loved the modern feel of the common areas, the friendly staff, the variety of the breakfast which had traditional Dominican food and which was included in the room rate, the modern and spacious room.

We had to request to be changed to a different room. The first room was pretty spacious and it had its own balcony with chairs. We thought that was pretty nice until it was time to go to sleep. It was so noisy that we requested to be changed to a side room with no balcony. The room was much smaller, but at least we were able to sleep at night.

The hotel is centrally located in downtown Santiago, withing walking distance from restaurants and shops. The downside is that the area is very very noisy. If you are looking for peace and quiet you might want to consider a hotel in a different location. The hotel has a casino downstairs and a full restaurant on the 6th floor. They serve a full breakfast buffet everyday which we loved. The staff was very friendly and acommodating.

Room Tip: Try to request a side room if you want to be able to sleep better at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elikaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked this hotel because of its central location. Calle de Sol has a lot of shops and it is not far to very good restaurants and the theater. It was for us a friends weekend getaway to enjoy a great Tango show. The hotel has free parking and a friendly stuff, free breakfast in a nice hotel restaurant with a view over the city. The room has everything what you need and is ok for an one night stay.

Room Tip: we had a room to the street and the traffic starts early in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was our 3rd time staying here, and it's always a pleasure. They've always had the van at the airport, ready to pick us up, the front desk staff is welcoming and capable, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the free umbrella drink relaxes our travel-weary souls, and the breakfast buffet with omelet bar is fresh and tasty.

I especially appreciate the quality email communications prior to the trip, where the details of a group visit are arranged and they put my mind to ease relative to pickup, room types, and costs.

Room Tip: The previous times, we had a room on the busy street side. We're normally too tired for the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have stayed at the Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel in Santiago, DR for a few years now. This hotel has always been my favorite in downtown Santiago. The Hotel is beautiful. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable, great bed, great shower, excellent service and a fantastic view of the Santiago on the 6th floor in the restaurant. I cannot praise this hotel highly enough.
The restaurant to the high quality of service throughout hotel is wonderful. The excellent staff Arismendy, Yaniris, Leandro, Manuel, and Elvis are just some of the people that always provide me with excellent service, friendly, professional and accommodating. So trust me when I say you will not find a better hotel in Santiago, DR. The staff are very attentive and eager to help and make your visit as pleasant as they can.

Thanks again, I really appreciate your service!

Chance

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were happy with our stay here although it seemed over priced compared to where we have stayed elsewhere in DR. Room is on the small, basic side and there seem to be people on the streets talking to very very late which is annoying. Good service, good breakfast and great airport transfer. Wifi wasn't working most of our stay though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wheressharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteleshodelpa, E-Commerce Coordinatior at Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Mrs.Wheressharo,

Thank you for Choosing Hodelpa Centro Plaza during your Visit to Santiago City; given that the hotel is in the city center, it might be noisy at times but we recommend requesting a room furthest from the street, to quieter ones to avoid disturbance in the future. We are also working in our wifi connection to provide a better experence for our customer. We hope we have the pleasure of having you as a guest once again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in January 2014. The first night, I woke up to take a shower around 5:30am and there wasn't any hot water. I talked to the front desk and they sent someone to the room. He either told me I need to let the water run for 5 minutes or run the water, wait 5 minutes, and then turn it on again.

I don't know if the water heater is a long way from the room or it is an on-demand heater and just takes a while to heat up. On the second morning, I let the hot water run for about 10 minutes. Turned it off for a few minutes, then let it run for another 5 minutes and it started getting hot. Problem solved.

As the other reviewers have said, Santiago is a very noisy city. The taxis are constantly honking and when a heavy truck or car with a loud radio drives by, it sets off the car alarms which go off for 15 or 20 minutes at a time. The only way to reduce the sound would be to replace all the doors and windows on the exterior of the building. That's not going to happen.

My room was clean and the mattress was very clean. It is a basic room. A few minor complaints - the deadbolt on the door was broken and the lock on the safe had been drilled out. I was on the 3rd floor facing the Hotel de Sol. Yes, it was noisy, but not as back as Panama City.

The floor of the room was tile - which I much prefer to carpet in hotels.

The service in the restaurant as well as at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included with my room rate and the buffet was good. A good selection of fruit and breads and they will make you an omelete.

I spent about 30 minutes in the casino in the lobby and had a good experience as well.

There are a number of good restaurants in walking distance, but be careful walking after dark. Santiago is not as safe as it was 5 years ago. Around 7pm, the streets really become empty around the hotel. Take a taxi - they are cheap. Lots of clothing stores around the hotel as well.

I needed to be in this area for my business meetings. The other close hotels are either more expensive or is worse condition.

Room Tip: Ask for room on a higher floor and away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plcitv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
1.4 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Platino
Hotel Platino
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Court
Hodelpa Garden Court
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Los Jardines
Hotel Los Jardines
#5 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camp David
Camp David
#6 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel

Property: Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Address: Calle Mella 54, Esq Del Sol, Apdo 459, Santiago de los Caballeros 51000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing