We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple hotel - great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aloha Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aloha Sol Hotel
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simple hotel - great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

This hotel is in a great location. It is right in the middle of Santiago. It's easy to walk anywhere from here. The staff was very nice and helpful. If you need anything just ask them - even if they don't offer what you want they will help you get it anyway. The breakfast was included in our stay. The breakfast food was good. We ate there for dinner a couple of times and it was amazing. I would stick to ordering Dominican dishes - you will be pleasantly surprised. I would recommend this hotel to others and stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebrisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
13
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEW JERSEY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

We stayed at the Aloha Sol Hotel from Apr 26 through May 10, and I will say that this hotel in the best location of Santiago (Center of the City). This is my opinion:
GOOD:
Great Value for the money, secure safe deposit box in the room (which is important to have), great people at the reception/hotel workers, good hotel restaurant, everything is near (stores, restaurants, taxis, shops, beauty salon, banks, currency $ change, and you could even walk to the Monumento, and rooms were okay clean (I mean you get what you pay for)
BAD:
Rooms were a little small for what we expect, only a little tiny window in the room, noisy sometimes in the morning, a lot of couples (young girl with old men), and the air conditioner dusty.
Overall, If I need to stay at a hotel at Santiago, I will choose Aloha Sol Hotel for the great location and the best value for the money.

  • Liked — Great value and great location
  • Disliked — Noisy in the morning, small rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LEBIROS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed here after staying at the Platino. So, by comparison, it was a great experience. It's a normal hotel, nothing extremely special. But it's clean, really well located (you can walk everywhere), includes breakfast and the staff was very helpful in several situations.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and location.
  • Disliked — Nothing special about the rooms.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dexxtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2006

The hotel provided good service and the cleaning staff attended to the room like clockwork. I had a room with double beds, and a nice bathroom. All in all a good deal at $52.00 per day. Continental breakfast included. The piano bar is a little dead but a good place to grab a drank before hitting the city at night. The front desk people were helpful at all times.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank jbars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Platino
Hotel Platino
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolitanos
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolit...
#9 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Court
Hodelpa Garden Court
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Sol Hotel

Property: Aloha Sol Hotel
Address: Calle del Sol 50, Santiago de los Caballeros 51000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloha Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloha Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Santiago
Santiago Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing