We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aloha Sol Hotel
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I just came back from Santiago and i stood 3 nights at Aloha sol which was great . Rooms where clean staff is very friendly and breakfast was good as well. if your looking to stay in the heart of Santiago i recommend this hotel 100%. will stay again on my next trip !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janice r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
12
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Was looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Santiago and as you can read from most reviews this place can be a bit loud at night but bearable.
Its around $75 a night US, in the center of the city.
Rooms are clean, AC works well, Cable included, mini bar for an extra fee.
Overall not too bad

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike12v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTO DOMINGO
Level Contributor
270 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have been going this hotel forbussines purposes since it opened.
It is not a 5 stars hotel, but location is great and it has a lot of thing around at walking distance, also a parking lot with security.

Santiago city lacks of hotels rooms and this one has growed. Normally i stayed at the main building, there rooms are not so big but ik of overnigth stay. They built a new building and there also a casino and a bar that closes nearby 5 at morning. The noise gets in your room. Be aware to be placed in a room in main building. Very dissapointed with my last stay but i will give them an opportunity and will post.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgeronimopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

It is a nice hotel. Reasonable price and I got upgraded to better room for cheaper price. It is clean, safe, have a casino on ground floor, restaurant downstairs that opens until 11pm. The room has a hair dryer, fridge, TV but no window. No free water but has a bucket for you to get free ice and water downstairs. It is good for the money, convenient location downtown.
I was there for business and my supplier always bring all his customers there.
The internet was down a few times during my 2 nights stay so that is a downside.
I would stay there again. It is good for money and business meeting and has everything I need.There was only one staff at reception can speak English but that is good enough for me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy592104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel almost yearly, once per year. I was just there March 30th - April 3rd, 2012. I have to say that once again I was very pleased with the quality of my room and the service. The cleaning service came daily like clockwork and always did a great job. The shower pressure and amount of hot water was exceptional. Actually, this surprised me as I don't remember the shower being this good. The breakfast was always filling and had a good variety of fruit and traditional Dominican breakfast items. I had a room with two queen beds in it and I paid $1,999 Dominican Pesos per night or a little more than $51.00 US per night. I look forward to my next stay. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer.

Room Tip: If you are traveling and staying alone the room for $1,999 Dominican pesos is perfect. I beleive it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JBars13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was surprised at the great service and nice room. I had reserved (via phone, as the website didn't work for me) an executive room with double bed, but it was really small and had no desk or table for working, so they moved me to a room with a king-sized bed which was much more roomy. Amazingly quiet (it was away from the street but facing the street wouldn't have been a problem since everything closes downtown at 7 pm) even near the elevator. Pretty clean, but the bedding was kind of flimsy and the sheets didn't stay tucked in. Room was well lit, but no natural light. Breakfast pretty good - buffet with eggs, fruit, breads, cheese, ham, mangu, etc.

Wifi from the room was great. Air conditioning worked very well. Very attentive, friendly staff.

Location ok, although downtown is not that exciting. One can at least walk to a good grocery/book/etc store (la Sirena) and to the Pez Dorado restaurant. Also several restaurants near the monument, but I didn't feel comfortable walking there alone at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rorinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Here's the good part:
The staff is friendly and helpful.
The breakfast buffet includes serve-yourself hot coffee and milk, sparing guests the (in my experience) all to frequent torture of having to try to wave down a waiter to get more coffee.
The hotel was clean.
The location is good.

Having said that, I have to say now that this was one of the worst hotel stays I have had in a while. Why? COULDN"T SLEEP!!! And not only me- I was with a work-related group of about 20 people and many people complained of difficulty sleeping d/t the noise- noise from the street, and noise from the hallway, and noise from other rooms, and from the ice bin, whatever. After two almost sleepless nights, another person told me that she got extra sheets and put them all on top of her and turned the air conditioner on the lowest possible setting so it would never cut off. I tried it, and slept better. Cold, but better than noise.Other than that, well, I missed the amenities that it doesn't have: no in room coffee, no gym, no pool, nada. But- as I said, good location and nice staff, so I am giving a middle rating.There was free wifi, but it cut off at least once a day.

Room Tip: Maybe a higher floor would have less street noise- I was on the second floor. IDK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExPatinNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
0.1 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Platino
Hotel Platino
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Los Jardines
Hotel Los Jardines
#5 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Court
Hodelpa Garden Court
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Sol Hotel

Property: Aloha Sol Hotel
Address: Calle del Sol 50, Santiago de los Caballeros 51000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloha Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Aloha Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Santiago
Santiago Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing