We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster a no no”
Review of Pez Dorado

Pez Dorado
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Santiago, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lobster a no no”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Went for New Years Eve with girlfriend. We ordered lobster tail and what they brought us was a miscarriage of justice. Expecting a lobster tail with drawn butter to dip in and what we received was a lobster tail flattened out to the thickness of a pancake and get this...........it was frickin deep fried. I asked the waiter what this was supposed to be and he said Lobster Tail. I have retired in Santiago and my girlfriend works in the Dentist office next door, so this restaurant is not new to me. Have enjoyed other meals here, but they don't know the meaning of Lobster tail.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Waytogoagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Traditional place in Santiago”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

El pez dorado is a family tradition in Santiago, we have been going to the restaurant for more than 25 years. The have the famous Corazon de Filete or the Heart of filet. I like the mero fish and the pineapple and chicken meal. It is good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CC2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very good food. A lot of variety. Good service. Near the Hodelpa Centro Plaza.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tobedla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An Old place, with good food and good service”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

El Pez dorano has been there forever, and still the same place, good food, excellent service, quiet for bussinness, decent choice of drinks.
Amounts of food are big, but again you do not want surprises, that is the place to go!!!
My customers like it, and I liket it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Avicultura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Dated but good food with huge portions”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Great seafood - huge portions. Good chinese (enough for 4 people!). Very professional service. Atmosphere kind of dated. Seems to be more popular for lunch than dinner - but same menu and prices.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rorinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pez Dorado also viewed

Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 

Been to Pez Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing