We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come here if you like Western Style Food!”
Review of Kukara Makara

Kukara Makara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: I found it in the Moon Travel Guide. Phone number is 809-241-3143. It is located across from the Monument to the Heroes of the Restoration of the Republic.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Come here if you like Western Style Food!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

They even dress like cowboys which made it more fun. Good appetizers and lots of fun. And its located across from the Monumento De Los Heroes De la Restauracion. Good spot for a date! :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviate037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    38
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting place, friendly staff, good food”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had a very nice evening here in March 2013. Our waiter was as helpful as he could be given my language limitations - when he was unable to answer a question he brought the son of the owner to talk to me. The son was also quite helpful and, in fact, gave me the recipe for an appetizer that I really liked.

The appetizer, Champignones al Gratin, was 2 tomatoes stuffed with suteeed mushrooms in a wine wine and cheese sauce - it was substantial enough to have been a meal. I also had a pasta and chicken dish that was very good. My companion enjoyed her meal as well.

The restaurant is located at the base of the Monument to the Heroes of the Revolution and is in an area that is a nice one for evening entertainment having horse drawn carriages, restaurants and bar/night clubs in the immediate vicinity.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkB1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Good food and good service. The menu is very diverse and the drinks are also very good. The grilled seafood platter is a must!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raybla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A western restaurant in the DR”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We recently returned to Santiago for a training conference. We had eaten at this restaurant a few months ago Nd wanted to take the rest of our team to this wonderful restaurant. It was very nice and the food was good and great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idahojeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“no 1”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

this is my favorite restaurant there,i like the service and ambiance,the view of the street and the monument

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ammishaddaikatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kukara Makara also viewed

Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 

Been to Kukara Makara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing