We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value room in Santiago” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colonial

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de los Caballeros
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Colonial
Monte Cristi, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value room in Santiago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel Colonial is smack dab in the middle of Santiago and is close to a lot of beautiful things to see. The rooms are nice, simple and clean.

The management was really helpful in giving directions and in making our stay really comfortable. There is wi-fi as well.

The best part was breakfast! We had mangu, eggs, fried cheese and toast. Super Dominican and super cheap. This is a great value for your time in Santiago.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
7
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

As a solo traveler, I spent two nights here. Good location, friendly manager. Room is small, uninspiring, but clean, and, oh, so cheap: $16 for room with shower, fan, and TV (originally I asked for a room with air-conditioning. That cost $26, but didn't need it in February). Was glad I came!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scoop12356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Hotel Colonial gives very good value. It is centrally located, clean, good security and a local type restaraunt. It has a range of room prices that are all economical. There is however a lot of street noise. The neighborhood is very busy in the day and quiet with some "street" types at night like hookers. Avoid the Chinese place next door. The owners of Colonial speak perfect English and will help you solve just a about any problem. Unless you are looking for the trappings of luxury this is a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
1,011 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is close to city market,shopping district, close to city area and close to Santiago monument. The hotel is average it has hot water, tv,small fridge. Room get be book with breakfast which consist of Dominican food mash platain (mangu), salami or egg, chocolate or coffee. Room can be for $30.00 in the off seanson. This is the place I used often when arrived at Santiago city for short period of time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I agree with most of the other reviews here - we traveled here with my three children (youngest is 6) in June 2012 and had a wonderful visit in Santiago. We didn't have a car and had no problem getting cabs and taking buses where we couldn't walk. The staff helped us find the simple things - bank, shopping, food etc. I'm not fluent in Spanish but can speak it enough to get along - the staff was patient in explaining stuff to me, and the owner? speaks very good English and loved talking to my kids. We didn't hang out after dark - but since we had kids we didn't need to anyway. It seemed safe enough, but there is a lot going on in the streets. The rooms have TVs, window air conditioning units and a small fridge. Our hot water wasn't completely consistent but we usually had it. There are three or four prices for the different rooms, which are posted in the lobby of the middle building. The lady we spoke to couldn't tell us why? We had more expensive rooms and moved to a cheaper one but we couldn't tell much of a difference. They didn't clean our rooms while we were out during the day, but they did offer to, so I'm sure you could request it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mombygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Hotel Colonial doesn't pretend to be any more than it is; an older hotel with small, cheap, clean rooms. It is about 1/2 walk to the monument and the better restaurants, but close to some good markets and other parks. The hotel is next to the bus/taxi stand and there is almost always street noise. It is a 15 minute (200 peso) taxi ride from the Caribe Tours bus station.
My room was in the front on the 2nd floor. It had AC and a small fridge. Hot water for the shower was provided by an electric water heater/shower head; unfrotunately this meant that the shower head could only be pointed straight down.
The only problem I had was on Saturday night. Around 11:00 PM about 20 people gathered in the street in fornt of the hotel; drinking, talking and playing very loud music which kept setting off a car alarm. At about 12:30 I went to the lobby to complain and discovered that the hotel staff was out in the street partying right along. This lasted until about 2:00.

Room Tip: do not accept a room near the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

This hotel is a great value. Our room with 2 double beds and bath was about $40us/night. It is very basic but very clean. The hotel is large and although there is nothing cute or hip about it, I completely recommend it. The plaza is about 15 min walk and the fortress another 10. The bathroom is spacious but there is no hot water. There is a tv and a very cold ac.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kabuka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Platino
Hotel Platino
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Los Jardines
Hotel Los Jardines
#5 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloha Sol Hotel
Aloha Sol Hotel
#7 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Salvador cucurullo Nos. 113 and 115, Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de los Caballeros
Number of rooms: 67

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing