We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“look for a better place to stay”
Review of Hotel Colonial

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de los Caballeros
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Colonial
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed her for 1 night in febr 2012. I wanted to stay 2, but santiago and the hotel made me decide to stay for only 1 night. The room was clean, but there is no atmosphere what so ever and the light (one tl light bulb) made this even worse. I just didn't feel ok there. No nice places to eat.....
When i arrived the electricity was down (in other area's of the city, this happened as wel, though not at the same time). After a few hours, it finally worked again. I'm sure there are better places to stay, if you pay a little more. After dark I didn't feel completely comfortable in the area where the hotel is situated....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ML503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colonial
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 33 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed 3 people in a room for Carnival for 1000 pesos a night! Really good deal, it is the process of getting remodeled so its a little crazy but still a good cheap place to stay when your in Santiago.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fozzy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Hotel Colonial's best asset is its excellent location in walking distance to Santiago's sites for cultural events, history, museums, parks and shopping on bargain-rich Calle de Sol. The hotel also offers covered parking for your rented car, an alert security presence, free WiFi, dependable hot water, quick access to public transportation and very low cost for rooms and meals. You will feel quite safe here. Food is well-prepared but routine. However, a wonderful, very cheap and friendly restaurant is next door. Beyond that, quality drops. I chose an unair-conditioned room for six days in December, 2011 (not needed). Rooms are tiny, open to 24-hour city noise, fairly clean (mine was not checked during my stay). Be sure to ask for one with some kind of clothes storage (my 1st had no dresser or hanging space). The hotel-provided towel was a threadbare rag. I did not find the staff at all welcoming and, being fluent in Spanish, did not need the one English-speaking employee. More enjoyable was the macedoine of guests from across the globe. If unbeatable price and great location are your chief needs, this is a good choice for your time in bustling Santiago.

Room Tip: Save cash by choosing cieling fan instead of A/C. Preview for clothes storage and quietness.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank papaperegrin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My family (shoestring budget backpackers) stayed at this centrally located spotlessly clean hotel in Santiago. The owner was extremely helpful and speaks excellent English. The rooms are small and plain, but clean. I felt very safe at this hotel and there was a nice mix of travelers and foreigners staying here. The lobby has a really tasty restaurant and free wi fi. The place isnt for every traveler, as it is most definatley budget accommodation. If you are looking for very basic, clean, safe accommodation at a low low price then this is your place!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 20now40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank Jesus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
0.2 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolitanos
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolit...
#9 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Platino Hotel & Casino
Platino Hotel & Casino
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloha Sol Hotel
Aloha Sol Hotel
#7 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Salvador cucurullo Nos. 113 and 115, Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de los Caballeros
Number of rooms: 67

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing