We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stayed here and had a great time”
Review of Hotel Los Jardines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Los Jardines
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I stayed here and had a great time”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I can tell you that I enjoyed my stay here. They had great rooms here and I felt safe at all times. The Front Desk is very friendly and willing to help you as well as the Management. I enjoyed the breakfast and the location is great. The rooms a little bit small but great value for the price. Just a few minutes walk from the Hodelpa Hotel. I will return because of the great value in price and location. Anthony the General Manager goes out of his way for people and this makes me want to return and to recommend this place to others. My friend Ivan recommend this place before but I was unaware of the location till I had a bad experience at another Hotel.

Room Tip: The internet works better in the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
6
13
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
puerto rico
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I had the chance to stay for several days in santiago. Visited los jardines hotel en the second day because I was unhappy with the Gran Almirante hotel. Los Jardines is behind Gran Almirante,has a great price, and small room, but its good enough for a nights sleep. Staff is very helpful. Will return on my next trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank annayblacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We used to stay at Hotel Los Jardines several times a year for over two years now.
The staff is constant and always friendly and they never ask for much more than the night paid in advance. The hotel is safe and quite clean and located just behind one of Santiago's most expensive hotels (Hodelpa). the hotel is nothing special, the architecture typical concrete Latin American style with all it's up's and downs. It HAS and elevator. I would call it a 3 Star at Int'l level.

Sadly, last weekend we had to find out that management had the splendid idea to raise the price a whooping 50%. For us, a couple with 3 kids 10, 11 and 13 in a 3-bed room this came now from USD 75.oo/night to USD 115.oo. We've staid at the allegedly 5-star JARAGUA hotel in Santo Domingo for less than that. I told the desk, they seemed to agree.
It's not untypical for the region... backwards marketing, sadly. I doubt it will be a decision they wil l be able to rate as successful down the line. But that is not our problem.

There is a shortage of mid-range (USD 50's to 70's) QUALITY hotels in Santiago. And thus competition is difficult to compare.

We'll be reporting on a replacement.

Room Tip: ASK for rooms with a WINDOW! Some rooms are built into the center of the building and only have a wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here for one night awaiting a flight out of Santiago Aeropuerto. This was a very organized hotel, everyone was bi-lingual, I started with Spanish but the very helpful gentleman at the desk proved to be very fluent in English so everything went very smoothly. I don't understand the negative comments about discrimination at this hotel as I never felt it and a large party of Asians checked in right after me so this reputation must be unfounded. Also I had a meal at the hotel restaurant, granted I had to wait a bit, but it was worth it because it was one of the best meals I have had in years!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank draino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great location. Good value. If you are business guy who wants value for his money this is the place to stay in Santiago. Got money to burn? Gran Almirante is steps away. This place works if you are business guy that is wanting a clean and simple (though small) room. I would add that the breakfast is better than the States continental type but not as good as a full buffet.

Forget travelling with kids or your wife. Its not that type of hotel (at least for Americans).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romney2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My stay at this hotel was disappointing. I traveled with my kids and did not feel accommodated at all. I traveled for a few nights and had no place to fold my clothes, all the clothing were kept on the briefcase on the floor the complete stay. Keep in mind the rooms were small. They do not have plastic cups for kids and as a result my 3 year old dropped a glass of juice by accident. Everyone that was dinning heard it, and it took at least 8 minutes for the cook who was a skinny short female to come over and pick up the glass. The cook also made a comment and said with an awful attitude YOU SHOULD OF ASKED FOR A PLASTIC CUP. Not once I was asked if everything was ok, the waitress was no where near our table, instead went to look outside and didnt even ask if we needed another drink or cup. As a result of their horrible service my kids and I were not able to finish our breakfast. This hotel I do not recommend at all. Price too high for their poor service. Elevators were off most of the days.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinelly p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels

LA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Per online recommendations I decided to try Los Jardines hotel. The good, the hotel is located in a walkable area near banks, night life and restaurants. The bad, small rooms that need updating and thin noise friendly doors. There is a decent breakfast included. Although this hotel is decent and well priced, I decided to change locations to something a little nicer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santiagoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
1.8 mi away
Platino Hotel & Casino
Platino Hotel & Casino
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
181 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
281 reviews
1.6 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
379 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolitanos
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolit...
#9 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
9 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Court
Hodelpa Garden Court
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Jardines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Jardines

Property: Hotel Los Jardines
Address: Av Texas esq. Calle 10 | Los Jardines Metropolitanos, Santiago de los Caballeros 51000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Jardines 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Los Jardines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing