We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Century Plaza
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you're visiting Dominican Republic and want to stay in the heart of things away from tourist, stay at this location. It's in the heart of Santiago and not far from lots of places. Only about 15 minutes from the airport and 10 minutes from any attractions in Santiago. Hotel Century is very affordable, but the only thing the rooms are small. Just big enough for a couple.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuanAmadiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Century Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 48 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

I liked my stay in Santiago, and staying the this hotel ended up being a good choice. It's quiet at night as peaceful. The food is good, ad they have a good breakfast buffet. The town is also beautiful and it's people are great.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aviate037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed for a week at this hotel October 2012. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms a little small but clean and with all your needs met. They even have a basket on the refrigerator with small items that you don't think to pack but even up needing such as a razor, needle and thread, etc. The rooms are clean and the air conditioning is great considering the hot weather there. I love that it is energy efficient so that the air conditioner comes on when you use your card to come in and turns off when you leave the room with your card. The restaurant that is part of the hotel is excellent. The food is very good. They have live entertainment on Fridays and some music for dancing on Saturdays. Definitely a hotel that I will stay at next time in Santiago.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCGirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Century Plaza. The pluses are an excellent restaurant and bar with outside patio, attentive front desk personnel who speak English and breakfast included. Although the hotel is not in the city center its is a short cab ride away. My only critique is the small standard room but the Suite is huge. Overall this is my favorite economy hotel in Santiago and has many features of more expensive hotels in Santiago with a very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get the suite if you can afford the upgrade.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank santiagoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Not a bad little hotel if you like claustrophobic rooms, noisy air conditioners, and don't mind having your personal property stolen.
I bought some perfume for my wife and left the shopping bag in the room when I checked out. When I called a half hour later they sent some up to look for it. They found the bag, but it was empty. I don't have it, so who does?

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PungisSunob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

From Panama I went to Santo Domingo and found that my two bags were missing. Since mine was last flight the staff was minimum at the airport.

Since I could not speak Spanish had trouble to explain to the airport authority. They did register my complaint and assured me that they will deliver my baggage to any place in Dominican Republic.

I had my regular taxi driver who came to pick me at the airport dropped me to the Hotel Century Plaza at Santiago. It was around 2 hours journey.

I reached to hotel around 2 am and the reception desk welcomed me cheerfully. The person at the reception counter could speak fluent English.

I explained my situation to the reception so he took the photocopy of my complaint and assured me that the day staff will follow up with the airport authority.

The day staff at reception also speak fluent English and made regular follow up with the airport authority. On third day I got my baggage, thanks to all efforts of the staff.

The room was good, bed was excellent. 24 hour hot water, the entire staff was helpful.

The food at restaurant was excellent, the only problem was they could not speak English, but again reception desk played good role in explaining them what I want to eat..

Overall I had wonderful stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sameer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed here one night. We arrived late, and check in was easy. I am unsure if the people at the reception desk spoke english, since our daughter who speaks spanish took care of everything for us. The room was nothing spectacular, but it was clean. The air conditioning worked well. My only negative comment is that the lighting was overhead and very dim. It was difficult to read. The bathroom was clean, but when you turned on the shower, the shower head popped off, spraying all over the place. We had to just hand hold it ,because it wouldn't stay mounted in the bracket.
I would stay here again, it was clean, and we felt safe.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Happyinhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
2.3 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
289 reviews
1.5 mi away
Platino Hotel & Casino
Platino Hotel & Casino
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
387 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Court
Hodelpa Garden Court
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
200 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolitanos
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolit...
#9 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Plaza

Address: Av Rafael Vidal | Plaza Century, El Embrujo I, Santiago de los Caballeros 51000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range: $70 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Century Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Century Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing