We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Main tourist attraction in Santiago”

Monumento a los Heroes de la Restauracion
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.99*
and up
Santiago and Jarabacoa Day Trip from Puerto Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Main tourist attraction in Santiago”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a must see attraction if visiting Santiago. Their are panoramic view of the entire city from here. Also you learn a lot of the country's history.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank tobedla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    102
    38
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cities Center, The Monument”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A great place to people watch or watch the streets on horse carriage.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mike12v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Must Visit if you are in Santiago”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I actually visited the monument twice in the same day during my stay in Santiago. The first time I visited was late in the morning around 11:00. During this visit I went inside and visited the museum which is located throughout the monument on several different levels. If you want to go inside you must visit during the day because the monument closes around 4:00. Each floor you reach has several different exhibits, but they are all based on the country's history about its fight for independance. The exhibit consist of mostly paintings and some large glass enclosed scenes you would find at many museums. Keep in mind that all of the exhibits are only explained in Spanish, so if you only speak English (like me), their will not be much for you to read.

The real attraction here is obviously the view of Santiago that you get when you are at the top of the monument. Another bonus was the breeze you get on all levels of the monument, especially the top. I went on a very hot day, and the temperature inside of and on top of the monument was very comfortable because of the breeze.

The monument was very cheap to visit 200 pesos for Dominicans, and 350 pesos for everyone else. There is plenty of free parking around the monument if you are driving there.

I returned to the monument during sunset, and there were many more people around the monument during this time, and for a good reason, it was much cooler, you get a great view of the sunset, and all of the restaurants and bars around the monument come to life at this time. If you do not plan to go inside the monument, I would definitely recommend that you visit it late in the day/early evening.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron-from-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top of the World”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were early to get to the airport by a couple of hours, so asked the driver what was a good tourist site that could be seen for a short period of time, and he took us to the Monument. Beautiful view from the top. Only a few pesos to go up, and nothing missed because we didn't have a lot of time. The vendors of beer were a bit more aggresive than in a lot of countries, but not as bad as many places in the Dominican Republic.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DingoElGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dominican Floridian”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I had visit the monumento since I was a little girl.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank arefalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monumento a los Heroes de la Restauracion also viewed

Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 

Been to Monumento a los Heroes de la Restauracion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing