We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but security is an issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Veranda View Guest House
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely, but security is an issue”
Reviewed January 3, 2010

I'll start with the good points: the location is amazing (right on the coast in the heart of Calibishie), and the huge veranda offers beautiful sea views. I loved the open-air porch/restaurant, and the owner made us a delicious dinner of fish, rice, salad, bread, and various sides. There are two rooms here, which are not particularly luxurious but cute and comfortable. The owner was friendly (and so were her dogs).

However, I would not recommend that anyone stay here until the owner adds bars to all the windows (and/or hires a security guard). I woke up at 4 a.m. to see an intruder climbing through the window right next to our bed. He had used a 12-foot ladder to get up to our window (which had no screen), and proceeded to rifle through all of our stuff until he found my boyfriend's wallet in his shorts pocket on the floor.

We were in the room on the left if you're coming from the stairs. The windows overlooking the veranda had bars over them, but the side and back windows did not. The owner had told us not to open the side window, as there was a porch right underneath it that intruders could climb onto. She also told us not to leave valuables under the barred windows because someone could reach in and steal something through them. However, she told us that the back window would be fine to leave open for airflow. (She told us later that no one had ever used a ladder to climb in before.)

In talking to the owner, it was clear that robberies have happened here before -- except during a period in the past where she hired a guard. I hope she will consider hiring one again.

The owner did her best to make things right, taking our dinner off of the tab and letting us make a number of phone calls to cancel our credit cards. We appreciated this.

This is a charming place, but I can't recommend it unless the owner adds bars to ALL the windows -- and preferably hires a security guard as well. Ask about this before booking.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank soliteyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verandaview, manager/owner at Veranda View Guest House, responded to this review, March 25, 2010
Security has been improved since this incident happened by hiring a security guard at night and property is monitored by CCTV-DVR-( closed circuit tv-digital video recording) equipment 24/7. Furthermore the ladder is secured with a chain and padlock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
datteln germany
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2009

take it, dont matter what a new yorker said. the owner is a very nice person, the ambiente is styled by her inside, and her dogs are so pretty and intelligent

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calabishie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oneonta, new york
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2007

We wanted to split our trip between the north and the south parts of the island. We picked Calibishie because it sounded like a nice spot..... maybe to the locals. Anyway, the Veranda view is just like it's name, the view is the best part. There are only 2 rooms, one with 2 beds and one with 1 bed. We picked this place because it was very cheap and it has a shared kitchen, But the rooms were very dirty and we didn't even have a bathroom door. No soap, no hand towel or wash cloth, a chair maybe?
Our room was never cleaned the 3 nights we were there. If you don't mind it being dirty, it's o.k., but it was a little too dirty for me. We would have gone to Calibishie Lodge, but they didn't have any rooms. We did get a tour from the owner after we had lunch there and the cottages are pretty nice, with there own little kitchens and separate bedrooms. They even have a pool that they'll let you use if you ask. Next time I'll stay and the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reissbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verandaview, manager/owner at Veranda View Guest House, responded to this review, March 26, 2010
Veranda View guesthouse is under new and improved management since December 2007.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calibishie
8.7 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
269 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
224 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
0.2 mi away
Atlantique View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda View Guest House

Property: Veranda View Guest House
Address: Main Road, Calibishie, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Calibishie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veranda View is located on the main road in the seaside village of Calibishie. There is an upper and lower Veranda. There are two rooms sharing the wide covered and open Veranda. There is a vista of sand- ocean -rocks- mountains. The trade winds provide a cool escape from the village and is a great place to relax after touring the island.On the ground floor there is a 3rd room opening on to the lower Veranda. Here you can enjoy the beach, only 20 feet from the guest house, or sit with your friends and other guests while you share your incredible experiences of the day touring the Nature Island.Be sure to book for one of Hermein'e fantastic breakfasts, or reserve for dinner. Hermein's meals are as unique as the island. A blend of local, english, french and dutch foods. A great meal to be remembered.The rooms are basic but have all the comforts of home, decorated in an artistic manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Veranda View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing