We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway for north dominica”
Review of Calibishie Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calibishie Lodges
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Calibishie lodges offers a very good service and a good place to stay if you want to visit the north of Domina. The room is nice, the breakfast is good, the pool is clean and the restaurant is the best in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sxmSintMaarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Calibishie Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 270 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2010

Two thumbs up! After visitining several caribbean islands we must amit that that was one of the best we have stayed in so far.Everything was great: accomodation,service, food, tips we got from the owners.....hidden gem.
B+T

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We went back to Dominica and take Calibishie Lodges there Top Service package.
We can tell you: this is a very good package. You can tell the driver every day what you want to see in Dominica. The private driver drives eight houres around with you were you want and you can stop where you want and so long that you want. We have in or one week two drivers: Webster and Chris. Both are Super. The know the island so good and explain you everything. They know all the good restaurants on the way and all the special places in Dominica, a lot of places that you never will find when you are alone. We enjoy the freedom, that you don't need to drive for your self on the small roads in Dominica. You are not tired from driving your self and sometimes you can sleep when you drive from point A to B. Calibishie lodges is a small hotel with very good service. Linda and Chris are very good hosts. Webster and Chris are exellent guides. We thank you all for or wonderful holiday. We hope that we can come back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olderpeopleAntwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one week,this was best holiday,completly diffrent from all inclusive holidays.This island is spectacular,mountains,waterfalls,sulphar spa....
The best location,excellent and friendly service, spectacular views of mountains,ocean and village below,very good food,friendly staff,clean a comfortable room.Chris and Linda are very nice,friendly a wonderfull hosts.We would go back any time(maybe next year),bathroom needs a bit updating-maybe change toshower,but everythig else for very good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kubali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

This is the third time in 10 years that we visit Dominica. The third time that we stay at Calibishie Lodges. Still very good accommodation, service is top. Linda and Chris are good hosts. Food is very good, now they have every night a special and those are super good. Rooms are still very clean. So: we love Dominica and specialy Calibishie so much that we only can say. When you want to discover this green island, visit the north and specialy Calibishie. Calibishie lodges is a perfect place direct on the beginning of the village and the staff is very friendy. Thanks again for your service that we get.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I had been to Calibishie Lodges before, but my husband had not and he was intranced with service, conversation, and view. He is an engineer and likes to know how everthing works and was intranced with the prescison and detail that went into the running of the Lodges. I was glad he was occupied so I could relax.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallywally41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

This was always going to be a very special holiday as my wife was born in Dominica, left when she was 3 years old and 50 years later this was the first time she had returned.

Our 3 week stay was split, a week in each of 3 areas. Calibishie in the North, Roseau Valley for the South & Mero mid West Coast. We would recommend to anyone staying more than a few days but wanting to see a good part of the island to at least split between North & South. Calibishie is an ideal base to cover the North & East/Atlantic Coast. Being reasonably close to Melville Hall airport on one of the islands better quality roads, its an easy drive if you are hiring a car on arrival or a reasonable price taxi fare if your not.

As for Calibishie Lodges, the service we experienced from pre-booking enquiries through to reluctantly leaving at the end of our week with them could not have been better. We were treated by Chris & Linda as though long lost friends. They spent many memorable hours with us after dinner talking about their experiences of the island. All of their team were friendly and helpful, with special mention of Royce-a more pleasant young man you could not hope to find.

Rooms kept spotlessly clean and comfortable. We were top floor (lodge 4) with wonderful views over village, sea and to the mountains in the distance. Ive seen comment in other reviews of the main road below. Yes you overlook that road but its not particularly busy or noisy. You see village life on it and thats what we wanted - to see and experience Dominican life. We had the silence of the rainforest during our week in Roseau Valley. The sounds of nature there were probably louder than the Calibishie road!!! The well kept gardens hosted a good selection of birdlife and the small but refreshing pool was ideal for cooling off after a hard days hiking.

We pre-booked breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed it every day. A good selection, but we tended to go for the full breakast each day and found that it saw us through a days activity without worrying about lunch (unless we found locals selling fruit or jelly coconuts- you must try one). We were so impressed with breakfast that we stopped off on the drive from Mero to the airport on the morning that we left for a final one.
We also stayed for dinner on most evenings. Again a good choice to suit any budget and most enjoyable.

Chris & Linda will arrange as much in terms of local guides, trips etc as you want. They seem very quickly to pick up from guests how much they want organised and who is happy to do their own thing. We were certainly content to get on with things by ourselves but always knew that their help and advice was there if we needed it.

For most of the first week we used the local buses to get around. Very easy from just below the Lodges to get to Portsmouth and the North or to see a good part of the East Coast. The buses are an experience not to be missed. But if you dont want to be restricted by bus routes and times and want to get off of the beaten track, hiring a small 4x4 is ideal. We pre-booked for 2 weeks through Courtesy Cars at Chris's recomendation and we were delighted with that choice and their service throughout. That car hire also meant that we avoided expensive taxi transfers between accomodations and at the end of our stay to the airport. Driving actualy was very easy, in particular as they drive the "proper side of the road" like us here in UK.

Our week with Chris & Linda at Calibishie Lodges was a truly wonderful introduction to an amazing island where we immediately felt relaxed and at home.
We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonRlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calibishie
9.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
499 reviews
20.8 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
21.4 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
0.6 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calibishie Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calibishie Lodges

Address: Main Road, Calibishie 5000, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Price Range: $85 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calibishie Lodges 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calibishie Lodges Hotel is a retreat with typical Caribbean charm, nestled in a friendly village on the North-East of Dominica,the most beautiful area of Dominica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Calibishie Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calibishie Hotel Calibishie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing