We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calibishie Lodges
Nearby Hotels
$137
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Beach Resort(Grand Bourg)
$102
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calibishie Cove(Calibishie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
176
59
13
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
59
13
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate bedroombeautiful villagered rocksmakes you feelpalm treeslocal marketpeterfansmountainscaribbeanislanddominicabeachesnatureroadskitchenettecalibishi
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 270 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The lodges itself are quite nice and relaxed place to stay, but outdated both outside and inside. I would not e.g. use the swimming pool. The room was clean except kitchen stuff that were unusable. Its location is a bit remote and needs a car to stay. The quality of the food was poor in the hotel restaurant as well as rest of the area when compared to other areas in the island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leena152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our third visit with Peter and Lystra at Calibishie Lodges and, as always was delightful. This time, we were also most fortunate to enjoy the VILLA! We have always loved returning to our favorite #5 of the Lodges---BUT, were able to enjoy an unforgettable last night in Dominica in one of their marvelous villas. We always thought the view from the lodges was amazing----but we were blown away with our view of Calibishie Village from the hilltop of the villa----the view, pool, comfortable relaxing furniture , and gorgeous rooms----made it very tough to leave. Peter and Lystra are so genuinely concerned about their guests' experience-----we inadvertantly left behind a few items and they are saving them for our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123maxipad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our stay at Calibishie Lodges was one of the highlights of our Caribbean tour. The hosts Peter and Lystra instantly felt like old friends, and gave us plenty of useful tips on where to go for the best swimming, sightseeing etc. Our room had a stunning sea view and was simply furnished but charming, very spacious, in fact it's a suite, not a room, with sitting area and kitchenette, separate bedroom, and a lovely balcony to sit and admire that view (I'd definitely go for an upstairs room if you can). The garden around the lodges is colourful and lush, and you can sit by the pool (not huge, but big enough for a refreshing dip) and watch the humming birds.

The location in general is one of the best we found in Dominica: It's on the northeast coast of the island, just 15 mins from the airport, close to a string of pretty beaches, and only a 25-minute drive through glorious forest and mountain scenery to Portsmouth on the West coast where there are bigger beaches and calmer seas. In less than an hour you can be walking the Syndicate nature trail high up in the mountains, looking out for parrots (Peter will book the best guide for you if you give him a day's notice); or relaxing in a small boat as your guide rows you up the Indian River and points out the wildlife...and the "Pirates of the Caribbean" locations!

The Lodges are on the edge of Calibishie, which is a charming village, with a few small supermarkets, bars and restaurants (it's a good idea to book, as it's very quiet and they may not be open!), a bakery with excellent cakes where you can also get coffee and light lunches, a long narrow beach, and...well, it's only five minutes walk from the hotel to the village center, but it will take you all afternoon to walk the length of the village, because everyone you meet will engage you in conversation, ask you what you think of their beautiful island, and tell you all about their life. Magic!

We didn't actually eat in any of the local restaurants, we took the lazy option of eating at the Calibishie Lodges' own Bamboo Restaurant each day. The food was more like home cooking than "restauranty," there was plenty of choice, and you can spend a very happy evening chatting with your hosts and with fellow guests while you try to decide which version of rum punch you prefer. And all the while you're looking at that view.

What didn't we like? Hmmm. Still trying to think of anything. No, can't think. Oh yes -- there are quite a few steps to get up to the property. So, if you have trouble with stairs, maybe it's not for you. But we loved it all!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the best view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyklamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was just a one night stay on route to the airport but wish I had the chance to stay longer.
The service was outstanding and we were made to feel so welcome, all of the staff were very friendly and more than happy to help in anyway possible.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmpascoe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you are flying in or out od Dominca on an International flight then is is a gem to stay at and is only 10 minutes taxi ride north of the airport on Calibishie Bay. We were greeted by a lovely local girl who made us feel so at home from the first moment. We were shown to our lodge only 10 meters from the reception, bar and restaurant which are rolled into one. The room was comfortable and capable of being used for self catering if needed. It was all very clean and fans in the living and bedroom which was also equipped with a mosquito net not required during our visit. There is a small swimming pool more than adequate for the number of guests. The restaurant seated about 20 people and was very cosy and personable. The owners Peter and Lystra served at table in the evening and gave us the benefit of knowing so much more about the island. There is a walk up the back of the Lodges to Red Rocks. The climb is steep but worth the effort for the magnificent views of the bays north and south and across to Marie Gallante, Les Saintes and Guadaloupe. The village along the beach is only 5 minutes walk away with a couple of general stores, an ATM and several rum shops along the beach.

Room Tip: Try and book direct we found an A$30 pd difference between going direct with Hotel.com and what we would have paid which would have added up had we stayed longer. Try and get a ground floor lodge
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brook R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews