We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheer Delight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Escape at Red Rock Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Escape at Red Rock Haven
Ranked #3 of 6 Calibishie B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sheer Delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Always a delight to dine at the Escape bar but staying at Red Rock Haven hotel for a second time, recently, confirms that this is one of the best hotels on the island for attention to the individual. We were made to feel special in every way. Our time was too short Stacey & Rita but keep your eyes peeled as I'm sure we will be back!!! Serenity, Bliss, Castaway although surrounded by others, hmmmm!!!

Room Tip: No fitness centre needed!!! The beach is on your doorstep as are long walks on the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmazingMsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dominica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I am a local Dominican woman who has visited the restaurant at Red Rock Haven Hotel for many years. Last month I decided to stay at the hotel for a small vacation. The room was perfect in every way from the locally stone crafted walls to the thatched roof. The friendly staff assisted me with all my demands, it felt as though they were a part of my family and I was at home. The tranquility and homely atmosphere encouraged me to extend my stay. A simple stroll on the beach in the mornings and a dip in the ocean gave me a healthy appetite to work my way through the restaurant menu. The food is deliciously prepared by caring and friendly staff. I was a women staying on my own, I felt very safe and cared for. Thank you Stacey and staff for making my stay such a memorable one, I have just booked to go back in December!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Tree Top Room, great view of the coconut grove and steps away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Hello Everyone, I visited red rock back a couple of Weeks, i love the place, the food was ok, but the owner and girlfriend, talk so bad about the local people including their warm and friendly staff, Stacey seem very strange and would take 1 week to respond to our booking reservation..

Rat were near our room, the parking lot was full with garbage, stacey said Dominica have very bad disposal system

Room Tip: stacey doesn't like the local people
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sonia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hovde34, Owner at Escape at Red Rock Haven, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
It has taken me a while to find the correct way in which to reply to this review. Firstly the reason I moved to Dominica and invested my time and money is because of the people and the beauty of the island. The people are warm and friendly. I have many friends, neighbours and indeed my staff all local and dear to me. My business could not function if I did not have the respect and support of the community, we all work together and are proud of our village and island.

With regards to the comments about the hotel, I can inform the readers that during September and going into October the hotel was closed. Red Rock Haven is a small boutique hotel of two beach rooms and one villa. There was no guest staying during this time and no one of the name of the person who wrote the review has stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our stay at Red Rock Haven was nothing short of paradise. From the warm welcome we received at our arrival to the sad good-byes when we departed, we have never had such a relaxing holiday.

Our room was spectacular – beautifully decorated and private. The food at the Escape Bar and Grill was delicious, filling, and very reasonably priced. The staff was above and beyond helpful and friendly.

But the best part of all was the atmosphere. We literally felt like we were living in a Jimmy Buffet song. After several days of hiking and sightseeing on the beautiful island of Dominica, we were ready for some R and R, and the Red Rock Haven was the perfect place to find it.

The beach was breath-taking, with its lovely sand beaches, beautiful view of the red rocks, warm ocean water for swimming, and indescribable sunsets. We were able to explore the tidal pools along the shore, and a short walk into Calibishie gave us a glimpse of the local way of life.

We highly recommend both Dominica as a vacation destination, and Red Rock Haven as the perfect piece of paradise to stay while you are there. Hats off to Stacey and Rita for their amazing facility and hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_AnneW154919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed in the Villa at Red Rock for the first three nights of our Honeymoon and we were in heaven! Stacey and Rita were so incredibly generous and accommodating throughout our entire stay. We didn't leave the property for three days----just spent it in total luxury---lounging on the patio reading, swimming in our private infinity pool, eating at the Red Rock beach restaurant, going for awesome walks out on the rocks, and swimming in the ocean. There was one day that it rained almost all day and we still had a blast. The villa is so beautiful and comfortable. We do recommend keeping the doors closed at night to keep out the bugs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Our first trip to Dominica was memorable, and Red Rock Haven was definitely part of the reason. Casual atmosphere but elegant amenities in the room. The food was great, and the service very personal. The beach took our breath away. We were up at sunrise every morning with cameras in hand. Evenings on the beach were also spectacular. Our hosts were friendly and open, giving us great advice on day trips and some less well-known sites. It was a perfect introduction to the island, and we plan to go again.

Room Tip: Every room is lovely, well appointed and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Dominica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

I'm a student at Ross University in Dominica. There are a lot of options for us to get away from campus and experience the island but the Red Rock Haven stands alone. I'm always greeted personally by the owner and the staff is friendly. The beach restaurant atmosphere is calm and beautiful. Large leisure chairs on the beach overlook crashing waves. I always refer tourists I meet to eat a dinner there. There's no other place like it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdelgreco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calibishie
1.1 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
0.5 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Atlantique View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escape at Red Rock Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape at Red Rock Haven

Property: Escape at Red Rock Haven
Address: Pointe Baptiste, Calibishie 20000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Calibishie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private villa and beach front cabanas with bar and restaurant serving local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Rock Haven Hotel Calibishie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing