We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calibishie Cove
Nearby Hotels
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calibishie Lodges(Calibishie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secret Bay(Portsmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
176
34
7
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
34
7
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthouseplunge poolsea view roomour honeymoonevery morningamazing viewsjerk chickencoral reefchocolate factorythree nightshodges beachfresh fruitprivate balconywhole buildingowner kenwaves crashingplay cards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 225 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a great Dominica expereinece, staying at Calibishie Cove was a big part of this. Staff is very friendly, rooms are spacious and have have nicer than expected showers. Walking distance to town and to Hodges beach..Probably the best 'north coast' place to stay at. Close to 5 stars, but:

- At night it gets windy, there is no way to fully close the windows (they are fixed wooden slats). Noise from the wind could be annoying to some people.
- Breakfasts were hit or miss. They need a better system for providing early 'to-go' breakfasts for those leaving on adventures. Surprising lack of fruit (no banana til the last day; no coconut ever; no mango).

But these are minor problems - so I'd highly recommend a stay here, but couldn't quite go to 5 stars.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank bbcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeLoveDominica, Owner at Calibishie Cove, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We are so glad you had a wonderful time.

Please accept our sincere apologies, we had a new person buying our groceries and we very much appreciate your bringing to our attention that we did not have our usual plentiful supply of fruit. This has been immediately rectified. Thank you again.

We sorry the wind did not cooperate with you but the sea breeze is usually a wonderful asset, bringing a wonderful cool breeze to keep the rooms pleasant. That being said, we take our guest feedback seriously and we have made arrangements to have windows that close put inside the current hardwood louvre windows, so guests will have the choice between a pleasant sea breeze or closing the window on the rare occasion the wind is too cold.

Thank you again for all your wonderful compliments and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and all of our future treasured guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

From the moment we checked into Calibishe Cove, we felt right at home. Jervelyn welcomed us and helped us get our bearings as we had just flown into Dominica after a day of tumultuous travel. She told us where we could find amazing food and made travel arrangements for us to the restaurant. Morning breakfasts on the balcony added a touch of soft romance and the delightful young ladies at the Cove (Peaches and team) were all so charming and hospitable.

The breeze in the room was unforgettable-even flowing while we were sleeping at night. The sounds of the ocean were unimaginable. I would definitely return and I couldn't have imagined the staff doing anything more for us to make us feel more at home. Their concern, their help, their hospitality was all so genuine....all at an amazing value.

I would go back in a heartbeat. It was gorgeous and a great base in Calibishe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravisharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed three nights in the Seaview room, which is very spacious with a sitting area and a large veranda on two sides giving stunning views of the ocean and surrounding countryside.

Thanks to LIAT we arrived late and after dark. We were welcomed by the manager Jervelyn who hadn't expected us to eat that evening although we had booked, (some mis-communication with the owners in the States apparently), but nevertheless quickly sorted out a meal for us, which was served on the veranda. The room was clean and well equipped and we really appreciated the fresh, local coffee on the hospitality tray.

The food was locally sourced and freshly cooked. Breakfasts arrived promptly at the preselected hour. We had dinner each night and this was always delicious. The staff were, like all in Doninica, cheerful and friendly, and Jervelyn made every effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay - which we did!

The only drawback was the exceptionally high winds that blew during our stay making it hard to sleep at times with the rattling of the shutters. Not a lot anyone could have done about this though.

Room Tip: We didn't see any other of the rooms, but no hesitation in recommending Seaview.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2_lodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeLoveDominica, Owner at Calibishie Cove, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor! We really value your happiness and welcome any guest feedback that allows us to provide a better vacation experience for our guests. Our staff at Calibishie Cove are very dedicated to our guests and that is the main reason why you were accommodated so well by Jervelyn on your arrival after a late check in due to LIAT delaying your flight.

We have checked the shutters in your room to ensure that they function correctly and have made a small adjustment following your comments. We are glad to be back to pleasant, comfortable breezes.

We really hope that you will come back to Dominica and stay once more with us at Calibishie Cove.

Warmly,

Ken, Dwayne, and Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I spent 8 days in the Calibishie Cove penthouse. We lucked out and were the only ones staying at Calibishie Cove that week, so we had the whole place to ourselves. The accommodations were very nice with a panoramic view that is breathtaking. Situated on a mountainside with a wonderful view of the rainforest and the Atlantic Ocean, you almost feel like you’re on a deserted island. Initially, I was a bit concerned about the lack of air-conditioning, but the cool constant breeze made it very comfortable. Each night my wife and I opened all of the windows and doors, and enjoyed the sounds of waves crashing on the nearby rocks and tree frogs. We did a lot of diving, hiking and sightseeing, and by the end of the day the private plunge pool felt great on our tired bodies. And lounging on the comfortable furniture and hammock on the huge deck was a real treat.

We had breakfast and dinner in our room three times. The food was good, and Peaches and Keisha were fun to talk to. The housekeeping was immaculate. Each day we returned to a super clean, tidy, restocked room. The on-site manager was rarely around, which made getting information or scheduling tours more difficult, but she did leave us her phone number in case we needed to contact her. A local cell phone was provided, but if you need more time than was left on the phone you have to find a place to reload it yourself. However, it was not hard to find places to do that.

Be advised that there is no elevator and the stairway to the penthouse is narrow and steep. If you have difficulty navigating stairs, access may be difficult.

Overall, our stay was wonderful. What a beautiful, relaxing place!

Room Tip: The Penthouse is by far the nicest room here. No elevator to get you or your bags there though.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBEIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The stunning views of the rain forest and the ocean on our first morning were simply perfect. We had arrived the night before, close to midnight, and Jervelyn (the manager) stayed to greet us with that wonderful island warmth. All the meals were great, with many of the local recipes used to their fullest potential. For other meals we ate in the vicinity, we had excellent food at the Poz, the Coral Reef and the Rainbow restaurants, but there are many other places we didn't have time to try in the village (Calibishie). We signed up for the All Around Dominica tour, that included 4 days throughout the island's scenic and cultural landmarks. Our tour guide was Jenner, for the most part, and one day with Alex. Jenner is the best we could have asked for, and he is a fine mentor for his other guides, such as Alex and Bones. Jervelyn and Jenner even arranged for our very early departure on the last day of our stay (7:20am flight to Barbados). We heard of Dominica through some folks we know here in Ontario, and Jervelyn worked very hard to arrange for us to meet the relatives of our son's friend, Terri, and we had an excellent evening of lobster and rum on the west side of the island. Jervelyn's brother actually drove us there and back in one of the many modern mini-buses that you see on the twisty roads of Dominica. We wished we could have stayed longer at this wonderful gem of a place, but we have to return to our chilly weather in Canada. If you are ever fortunate to come to Dominica, we definitely recommend staying at Calibishie Cove!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bud P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews