We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calibishie Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Calibishie Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I spent 8 days in the Calibishie Cove penthouse. We lucked out and were the only ones staying at Calibishie Cove that week, so we had the whole place to ourselves. The accommodations were very nice with a panoramic view that is breathtaking. Situated on a mountainside with a wonderful view of the rainforest and the Atlantic Ocean, you almost feel like you’re on a deserted island. Initially, I was a bit concerned about the lack of air-conditioning, but the cool constant breeze made it very comfortable. Each night my wife and I opened all of the windows and doors, and enjoyed the sounds of waves crashing on the nearby rocks and tree frogs. We did a lot of diving, hiking and sightseeing, and by the end of the day the private plunge pool felt great on our tired bodies. And lounging on the comfortable furniture and hammock on the huge deck was a real treat.

We had breakfast and dinner in our room three times. The food was good, and Peaches and Keisha were fun to talk to. The housekeeping was immaculate. Each day we returned to a super clean, tidy, restocked room. The on-site manager was rarely around, which made getting information or scheduling tours more difficult, but she did leave us her phone number in case we needed to contact her. A local cell phone was provided, but if you need more time than was left on the phone you have to find a place to reload it yourself. However, it was not hard to find places to do that.

Be advised that there is no elevator and the stairway to the penthouse is narrow and steep. If you have difficulty navigating stairs, access may be difficult.

Overall, our stay was wonderful. What a beautiful, relaxing place!

Room Tip: The Penthouse is by far the nicest room here. No elevator to get you or your bags there though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBEIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    35
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
166
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The stunning views of the rain forest and the ocean on our first morning were simply perfect. We had arrived the night before, close to midnight, and Jervelyn (the manager) stayed to greet us with that wonderful island warmth. All the meals were great, with many of the local recipes used to their fullest potential. For other meals we ate in the vicinity, we had excellent food at the Poz, the Coral Reef and the Rainbow restaurants, but there are many other places we didn't have time to try in the village (Calibishie). We signed up for the All Around Dominica tour, that included 4 days throughout the island's scenic and cultural landmarks. Our tour guide was Jenner, for the most part, and one day with Alex. Jenner is the best we could have asked for, and he is a fine mentor for his other guides, such as Alex and Bones. Jervelyn and Jenner even arranged for our very early departure on the last day of our stay (7:20am flight to Barbados). We heard of Dominica through some folks we know here in Ontario, and Jervelyn worked very hard to arrange for us to meet the relatives of our son's friend, Terri, and we had an excellent evening of lobster and rum on the west side of the island. Jervelyn's brother actually drove us there and back in one of the many modern mini-buses that you see on the twisty roads of Dominica. We wished we could have stayed longer at this wonderful gem of a place, but we have to return to our chilly weather in Canada. If you are ever fortunate to come to Dominica, we definitely recommend staying at Calibishie Cove!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bud P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you're looking to go somewhere to go to relax.... Calibishie Cove is the place !!

First of all I must commend the staff (Jervelyn) and management (Dwayne) for being so accommodating on our travel there. It was a very last minute decision (maybe 6 hours before our flight was to leave, we planned the whole trip) and they both were helpful in making sure our room was booked and transportation was arranged. Additionally our flight ended up being over 4hrs late, getting there just after midnight. It's not a big international hotel with hundreds of rooms and dedicated reception but Jervelyn was there and waiting for us to make sure everything was OK at minutes to 1 in the morning. Thank you !

Now to the good stuff !! After a restful night we got a chance to fully take in the property and room. We had room #3 which is facing the ocean... and more than enough space we could ask for. Large bed with mosquito net, futon, mini fridge, shower, separate water closet & wardrobe. It's essentially a small apartment and not a room... nothing is lacking. But with all the comforts of inside... outside is where you'll likely spend your time. We were surprised by a large L shaped balcony (with hammock and chairs) and amazing views out to the ocean. It really is where we spent most of the time. This room has no radio or no TV but honestly didn't miss those things... it's a great place to relax and that we did.

In the mornings Johanna came by to prepare a delight breakfast for us and delivered it to the room so we could enjoy it on the balcony. She was also very helpful in telling us a few of the insights of the area and answering the few questions I had. There's a nice little private forest / garden to the left of the property and down a few stairs which is an interesting little get-a-way. Then also a short walk away you'll find the entrance to Hodges Beach. I say entrance, because then you have a walk about 5 or 6 min down a many narrow and sometimes steep steps to the actual beach area. It's not a typical Caribbean beach you'll see, so don't expect paradise but it's worth the trek down... some good photo opportunities exist.

Last few things. On our departure date our flight was due to leave at 6:30 PM so Jervelyn was accommodating and allowed us to stay in the room until we were ready at 4:00 pm. Although not wanting to keep her waiting we went out about 3:00 and actually had a good long chat with her until our ride came.

You won't be disappointed at Calibishie Cove... great location, excellent rooms and customer service.

TIPS
* Sea view rooms are worth it !
* Good nearby place to eat... Coral Reef $5 - $6 USD away by taxi
* Taxi / Tours - Pascal ... Jervelyn would assist in reaching him

Room Tip: Sea view room is absolutely worth it (Room #3)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bajan300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeLoveDominica, Owner at Calibishie Cove, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you all of your compliments. We are so glad you loved your experience from the rooms to the views to the service. We really do appreciate your feedback. Next time, hopefully, you will get a chance to have one of our chef's legendary dinner options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Gorgeous views, tasty food, amazing ocean breezes in this huge penthouse suite. We loved our time there - the first week of our honeymoon - a perfect, relaxing, sunshine filled paradise. The breakfasts were very tasty, served on the deck, my favorite was the local breakfast. One negative was the pre-8am raking on the cement, not the ideal way to wake up.
We loved Jervlin, she is a lovely hostess, directed us to some great locations. I hope we get to return some day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeLoveDominica, Owner at Calibishie Cove, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled you had such a great and relaxing honeymoon in our 'sunshine-filled paradise.' One quick note to apologize for the landscaping at 8am: our groundskeeper thought he was helping out by getting an early start on the day's beautification work, and didn't realize that it might have audible to guests up above in the rooms. It has been discussed and our team now understands well that peace and quiet is cherished until a certain hour. Thanks again - we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

After much searching for the perfect location for our honeymoon, we stumbled upon Calibishie Cove in Dominica. This place is simply majestic. My husband and I stayed in the Rainforest Suite (for one week in August 2013) which was beautiful. Waking up to the sounds of birds chirping, the rainforest on one side and the ocean view to the next was like being in a dream where everything was as you would have liked it to be.
The staff was great. Jervelyn (Property Manager) is a sweet heart who ensured that our stay was the best we could have *two thumbs up*. Johanna and Markeisha were always polite, pleasant, helpful...... very lovely people. The meals were great, always on time and the room and surroundings were kept very clean. The complimentary cell phone was also greatly appreciated.
We will definitely be sharing our wonderful experience with our friends and family :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RS-Cardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeLoveDominica, Owner at Calibishie Cove, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Please allow me to speak for the staff and say we loved working with you to make sure you had a most special honeymoon. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

A wonderful week in Dominica at Calibishie Cove , we stayed in the Sea View Room with it's gorgeous balcony view over the sea and wonderful breezes . The breakfast served on the balcony every morning was delicious and hearty. We also treated ourselves to 3 suppers ( one of them lobster) they were all delicious.
Jervelyn the property manager was a wonderful help and the cook Maquisha and rest of staff were all friendly and ready to help.
The complimentary local phone is a great idea helping to organize and keep in touch with those at home. The caricom rate helps to make this place a great deal for people from the region who wish to treat themselves to a great holiday.
Loved it, would go again .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My second visit to Calibishie Cove in five months, this time on my own as a business trip. Stayed in the Sea View Room, as the Rainforest Suite was booked. Another great four days with great hospitality they have a new property manager Jervelyn Lockhart who has great ideas for making your stay even better.

Was welcomed on arrival by five staff members all making me feel like I was part of the family. As always the room was nice and breezy with the views spectacular. No need to mention the breakfast, it was worth going to sleep for.

Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenGui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeLoveDominica, Owner at Calibishie Cove, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback Ken. As a return guest, you are now family. We have enjoyed working with you to ensure you stays have been fantastic, and are so happy you've loved your experiences. We will look forward to working with you further in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calibishie
9.7 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
8.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calibishie Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calibishie Cove

Property: Calibishie Cove
Address: Point Dubique, Calibishie, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Calibishie Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calibishie Cove-on the mountainous island's beach-studded northeastern corner-is a colonial-style hotel inspired to reenergize with just four rooms, each with platform beds, large shutters, and a private patio overlooking quaint panoramic vistas of Caribbean Sea. Nestled 80-feet above Hodges Bay Beach, the Eco-hotel sets the tone for an elegant and private relaxed beach hideaway. Calibishie captures the native spirit of Dominica with its distinctive "Nature Island" philosophy. At-a-glance: Distinguished Eco Boutique-hotel | Romantic Beach | Weddings | On-site Dining | Organic Garden | Nature Made Views | Yoga + Wellness Retreat | Sustainable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calibishie Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calibishie Cove Hotel Calibishie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing