We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Visit to Calibishie Cove”
Review of Calibishie Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calibishie Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Dominica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Second Visit to Calibishie Cove”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My second visit to Calibishie Cove in five months, this time on my own as a business trip. Stayed in the Sea View Room, as the Rainforest Suite was booked. Another great four days with great hospitality they have a new property manager Jervelyn Lockhart who has great ideas for making your stay even better.

Was welcomed on arrival by five staff members all making me feel like I was part of the family. As always the room was nice and breezy with the views spectacular. No need to mention the breakfast, it was worth going to sleep for.

Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenGui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeLoveDominica, Owner at Calibishie Cove, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback Ken. As a return guest, you are now family. We have enjoyed working with you to ensure you stays have been fantastic, and are so happy you've loved your experiences. We will look forward to working with you further in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    35
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
166
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Dominican charming eco retreat, unfortunately we've been quite unlucky with the weather, beginning of January being very windy & rainy season. The property has lots of blinds but no windows, so we did struggle to sleep and many evenings the sea howling and wind moving everything around on balcony felt quite creepy. The breakfasts were served into the room to our heart desire, great pancakes, granola & jams. For dinners we went quite often to the Red Rock neighbours, Red Rock Heaven, great beach bar & restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IoanaBozan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeLoveDominica, Owner at Calibishie Cove, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Ioana -- great to hear from you again! We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed our food and hospitality. As we talked about six months ago, the gusts of wind during your stay were of an extreme we have never seen in the five-plus years we have been open. Our windows have hardwood jalousie shutters to allow a little bit of air to flow through at all times while offering complete privacy. We very much appreciated your understanding of this at the time and your plans to come back in typical weather to better appreciate all the is wonderful about Dominica and Calibishie Cove. I wish we could control the weather, but we can't! :) It is certainly different from London, I will give you that, but a risk you take with such a beautiful and expansive sea view. Warm regards - Eileen and Dwayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at the Cove and it was fantastic, again! This was our second visit and the first time we splurged and stayed in the Penthouse in Paradise suite. It was totally worth the extra money. I practically lived in the private plunge pool and the upstairs sun deck was very private and oh the views. Arle was a wonderful host and extremely attentive to all our needs. The meals he prepared were some of the best we've had on the island and I am already missing breakfast on the terrace each morning. The rest of the staff was great as well, they were polite and did a wonderful job keeping our suite neat and fully stocked. Hodges Beach and lagoon located down the path is one of my favorite spots in the world, the river running into the ocean, the lagoon and sand beach, the nearby island. Arle guided us last time we visited on a kayak trip to the island and up the river and we learned so much about the island and the friendly, wonderful inhabitants. It seemed pricey at first but was well worth the cost. All in all this was the best place to stay for our anniversary and birthday trip and we would highly recommend it to all. Thanks for the cake Arle and best of health to you and your new family.

Room Tip: Penthouse is worth the splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamRay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The trip to Dominica was far beyond our expectations. This was partially due to the accommodation provided. From the time, my husband and I entered the room, we were amazed by the rustic and country feel of the room. The fresh seas breezes met our faces even when the windows were closed. However, when the window was open, we were met by the bright sunshine. The friendly staff stood to great us as we arrived and, from that moment, treated us as family. They helped us with our bags while Al gave us a tour of the villa. Every morning, we were greeted by the chirping of birds, the rolling of the sea and the smell of eggs and pancakes - much to our delight. Breakfast exceeded our expectations and is a nice addition. Every day, our room felt 'new' again due to the hard work of the housekeeper. We think your villa is a 'diamond' in the rough, not only in Calibishe but when compared to other accommodation across Dominica (as I had other friends staying near Rousseau while I was there). We will not keep it a secret!!!

Thank you for organising the tubing with Jenner who was warm and friendly and purchased drinks for us after that unforgettable experience on the river!!!! LOVE tubing!! My new favourite sport!!

All of God's blessings!!! We plan to return to Dominica since this is our 'new favourite' island!! No doubt - Calibishe Cove is where we want to stay!!

My recommendations:
1. Keep the staff
2. Keep the breakfast
3. Keep everything

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We travelled in Dominica again after months of debate; have a completely new adventure, or go back to beautiful Dominica. I'm so happy we returned, we had such a great time. This time we stayed in Calibishie during the middle of our trip in March. After an expensive, yet bumpy guest experience at another eco-lodging, we returned to Calibishie Cove. All five nights in the Sea View room were perfect. For the rates, Calibishie Cove is worth it! There is so much added value in the welcoming staff, a great breakfast every day, a cell phone for calling on the island. There is almost always a staff member available to answer questions. For many frequently asked questions, the owners have compiled a handy booklet for each room so you can familiarize yourself with Calibishie Cove, the neighborhood, and nearby attractions. So helpful.
For us, staying in the Sea View room again was like home. That might sound silly, but we had such a relaxing and amazing visit last year that we couldn't wait to get back. The sounds of the surf hitting the reef, the rock doves cooing in the morning, and the tree frogs chirping us to sleep at night, one can't help but fall in love with the place. We spent a lot of time talking with locals and some funny characters. People are really quite nice here, and are proud of their home.
There were of course relaxing hours spent on our private patio facing the bay, but there is just so much to do that you'll want to get out and about. The snorkeling is great and beaches nearby are so gorgeous, and not busy. In nearby Hodges bay I saw a seahorse, turtle, lobster, stingray, and of course all the amazing fish. Chaudierre Pool, Batibou and Hampstead beaches and visits to the Red Rocks and the Escape Beach Bar were favorite outings. We were PADI open water certified at Cabrits Dive Centre in nearby Portsmouth , which I highly recommend if you are thinking about it, and also did some nice diving in the south.
What ever activities bring you to this breathtaking island, or to beautiful Calibishie in particular, you will feel blessed staying at Calibishie Cove.

Room Tip: We loved the sea view room for its views and hammock hangout area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natenmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Calibishie Cove for 10 days in March 2013. We stayed in the cheapest of their rooms the Garden View, which still had views of the sea. They have a beach that is located at the end of step path (10 minutes walk), which is rugged and beautiful and safe for swimming. Our room was well equipped with a huge walk in shower big enough for 2! The room was very spacious plus we had a huge balcony were we ate our meals. The balcony was also useful for drying out our clothes (the rain forest is so named for good reason!) The staff were excellent especially Arl who was always ready to answer questions and offer advice, plus he is an amazing cook, his goat curry and grilled tuna especially so. Other local restaurants were Poz, run by the very sociable Troy and Liz, Escape bar (very nice for evening cocktail on the beach, and Coral Reef (traditional Creole). They were all excellent although Escape is more of bar than a restaurant we thought. The real star of our holiday was the island of Dominica and its people, it is simple amazing, and I’ve never met such friendly people in all my travels. Everyone we met was willing to help, talk and explain things to us. We travelled the length and breadth of Dominica in our 10 days, the only thing I would say is that it would useful to split your stay into a north and south location, due to driving times! To drive from Calibishie to Scots Head for instance will take you over 3 hours, even though its only around 23 miles as the crow flys! Make sure you buy Paul Crasks guide to Dominica as well, we found it essential.
Dominica is a truly beautiful place, if you want a holiday, that’s off the beaten track, full of waterfalls you can swim in, jungles you can walk through, and beaches to explore, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fuel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place and the island of Dominica are amazing. The natural beauty of the island is amazing. The Calibishie Cove is set high atop a hill with an amazing view of the ocean and the surrounding hills. It's a short walk to the beach where a fresh water river meets the sea. You have the best of both fresh water or salt water. The locals were so friendly and there is no begging or bothering you to buy things. Unlike most locations around the world. If you want to enjoy true nature and friendly people then make it a point to go. I want to put out a special thank you to Arl and the whole staff for making our trip amazing. You guys are the best. Thanks again for the beach party with your family and friends. Hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: If you can swing the extra expense the Paradise Penthouse is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calibishie
9.7 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
8.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calibishie Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calibishie Cove

Property: Calibishie Cove
Address: Point Dubique, Calibishie, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Calibishie Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calibishie Cove-on the mountainous island's beach-studded northeastern corner-is a colonial-style hotel inspired to reenergize with just four rooms, each with platform beds, large shutters, and a private patio overlooking quaint panoramic vistas of Caribbean Sea. Nestled 80-feet above Hodges Bay Beach, the Eco-hotel sets the tone for an elegant and private relaxed beach hideaway. Calibishie captures the native spirit of Dominica with its distinctive "Nature Island" philosophy. At-a-glance: Distinguished Eco Boutique-hotel | Romantic Beach | Weddings | On-site Dining | Organic Garden | Nature Made Views | Yoga + Wellness Retreat | Sustainable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Calibishie Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calibishie Cove Hotel Calibishie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing