We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Amazing”
Review of Calibishie Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Calibishie Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place and the island of Dominica are amazing. The natural beauty of the island is amazing. The Calibishie Cove is set high atop a hill with an amazing view of the ocean and the surrounding hills. It's a short walk to the beach where a fresh water river meets the sea. You have the best of both fresh water or salt water. The locals were so friendly and there is no begging or bothering you to buy things. Unlike most locations around the world. If you want to enjoy true nature and friendly people then make it a point to go. I want to put out a special thank you to Arl and the whole staff for making our trip amazing. You guys are the best. Thanks again for the beach party with your family and friends. Hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: If you can swing the extra expense the Paradise Penthouse is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 225 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

I researched this trip like my second job! Read up on many, many properties. We traveled all over the island, and stayed in 3 places. You will not be disappointed with Calibishe Cove! Beautiful, comfortable rooms. Amazing views. We stayed in Garden View 1 night, then Seaview room for 2. We preferred the Seaview room. Bigger, more private. Hazel was out of the country during our stay, but Arl is the best! He works very hard to make sure the guests are happy. ...and what a cook! We had delicious , fresh breakfasts and amazing dinners on our private balcony. Doesn't get any better than that! Arl hand picks the fruits he uses everyday. We were provided with snorkel equipment, great suggestions for exploring, and of course, the spot - on recommendation to have Jenner Robinson as our driver, guide for a few days. His contact information is : jenna23dm@ yahoo.com. He is THE man to really show you Dominica. Calibishe Cove is an excellent location for exploring the North side of the island. We went to La Chaudiere pool, Spanny Falls, Emerald Pool, Indian River and Portsmouth, Cabrits, Point Baptiste and Red Rocks, and Carib Territory, while staying at Calibishe Cove. It was always nice to come back to the beautiful room, relax with a cocktail on our deck, over- looking the gorgeous sea. What a value for luxurious accommodations Stay here, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Seaview or Penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmkathnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our experience of Calibishie Cove started before we even set foot in Dominica. Dwayne gave us invaluable advice in planning an itinerary with one of the best guides on the island, Jenner Robinson. We arrived quite late at night to be greeted by Arl who had made us a fantastic fresh Tuna dinner which remains the best meal we had on the island. We were made to feel very welcome and this was redoubled in the morning when we met Hazel.

We stayed on the Penthouse suite on the top floor which is beautiful. The view of the coastline from the veranda (complete with plunge pool) must be one of the finest in Dominica. We only stayed a couple of nights but some of the things we managed to see were Chaudiere Pool, the gorgeous Batibou Beach and the red rocks at Pointe Baptiste just around the corner (another great view of the coastline from here).

I really can't fault our stay at Calibishie Cove. Fantastic friendly, welcoming staff, great food, a beautiful room and a stunning view make for a superb base when visiting the North of this remarkable island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just returned from a week long honeymoon in Dominica. Stayed in the Penthouse on the top of Calibeshi Cove. It was a wonderful stay and the room was truly spectacular, large and comfortable, with a wrap-around balcony and views straight out to the azure Caribbean. Arl Robinson met us and was a great host for the entire week. We went out with Arl on several trips around the island where he showed us: a roadside place where we purchased (and we all ate) cassava bread (hot, sweet, delicious), the Kalinaga Territory, Emerald Pool (water cold and delightful, we each splashed around, the fifty foot falls tumbling onto our heads). Arl knows a lot of folks and he is a knowledgable guide. Several notes: Dominica is a real rain forest and hikes are mostly for serious hikers. If the book says moderate, that means the hike is moderate for hikers, not non-hikers. We hit a trail from Pennville to Capuchin that was listed as "easy" but was anything but. It took us four hours of strenuous walking, not the listed three. Arl came looking for us, I must admit, but we were almost there by the time he came looking from the opposite end. Also, the wind on the north side of the island is usually very strong, so be prepared for wind. We had several great dinners prepared by Arl and the overall experience was just wonderful. Very quiet, which is what we were seeking. Only one small complaint: the soaking pool on the balcony stays very cold - Hazel the manager said they were working on that. Go have a drink and dinner at POZ, just up the road. Quite a hoot, and good to boot.

Room Tip: The Penthouse is well worth the extra money due to size and vista, and it has a full kitchen. The t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wrickb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Excellent food, Excellent service, Excellent staff, Gorgeous island, Breath taking views. Calibishie Cove is a lover's paradise! We stayed in the Rainforest Suite which is on the Ground Floor but it was reassuringly private and we were undisturbed. We wanted to honeymoon in an eco friendly environment that was secluded, private and intimate. The rainforest Suite is very spacious and the water pressure is phenomenal. Calibishie Cove captures the rustic, quiet, and uniqueness of the island of Dominica and provides the perfect environment for a romantic and relaxing honeymooon. i would definitely recommend this location to anyone looking for a great honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garnetandtennessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Not quite what we hoped. The views~spectacular, however the Rainforest Room, on ground level offered almost NO privacy. If you can...opt for the PARADISE PENTHOUSE...it wasn't available for our travel dates, but would be much more private. Having traveled to MANY MANY places we were enticed to visit Dominica for it's pristine SCUBA sites, undiscovered beaches and nature, and just a great adventure...and we were not disappointed. DISCOVER DOMINICA!!

Room Tip: SPLURGE for the Penthouse!! The Jungle Room offered little privacy. The patio houses a storage clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeeingtheWorld66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeLoveDominica, Owner at Calibishie Cove, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear 'SeeingtheWorld66' - Thank you for your nice review and your stay at Calibishie Cove!

We were a little bit confused by the different language used here versus what was communicated when you were on sit. We have spoken extensively with our wonderful management staff (Hazel and Arl) about your stay and were advised they spent much friendly time with you, chatting about your stay, making sure everything was to your liking, and that your needs were met. The comments shared with them, more than once, were that everything was (verbatim) "perfect and could not be better" and that you "would be back." We were so happy to hear that they took such good care of you!

As we do everything within our power to ensure that we make improvements based on guest feedback, we sent you a very polite and gracious email asking if we could chat on the phone to understand any perspectives not shared with our staff; however, we never heard back from you. As our staff followed up extensively with you during the stay, it seemed clearly understood that the storage room referenced was only accessed one time - to get kayaks out for your private kayak tour, when you were about to leave for the tour. Reading over other recent reviews for Rainforest Suite, it is wonderful to see that guests have found the room exceedingly private, comfortable, and even commented about heavenly sleep in that suite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We came to Dominica on our honeymoon looking for a little adventure in an untouched Caribbean paradise. We found it at Calibishie Cove. The Paradise Penthouse had amazing views, a refreshing plunge pool, and a secluded feel that is perfect for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calibishie
8.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
9.7 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
505 reviews
20.8 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
0.6 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calibishie Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calibishie Cove

Address: Point Dubique, Calibishie, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Price Range: $155 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Calibishie Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calibishie Cove-on the mountainous island's beach-studded northeastern corner-is a colonial-style hotel inspired to reenergize with just four rooms, each with platform beds, large shutters, and a private patio overlooking quaint panoramic vistas of Caribbean Sea. Nestled 80-feet above Hodges Bay Beach, the Eco-hotel sets the tone for an elegant and private relaxed beach hideaway. Calibishie captures the native spirit of Dominica with its distinctive "Nature Island" philosophy. At-a-glance: Distinguished Eco Boutique-hotel | Romantic Beach | Weddings | On-site Dining | Organic Garden | Nature Made Views | Yoga + Wellness Retreat | Sustainable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Calibishie Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calibishie Cove Hotel Calibishie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing