We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse Delight”
Review of Calibishie Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calibishie Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Certificate of Excellence
Easton, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Penthouse Delight”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just returned from a week long honeymoon in Dominica. Stayed in the Penthouse on the top of Calibeshi Cove. It was a wonderful stay and the room was truly spectacular, large and comfortable, with a wrap-around balcony and views straight out to the azure Caribbean. Arl Robinson met us and was a great host for the entire week. We went out with Arl on several trips around the island where he showed us: a roadside place where we purchased (and we all ate) cassava bread (hot, sweet, delicious), the Kalinaga Territory, Emerald Pool (water cold and delightful, we each splashed around, the fifty foot falls tumbling onto our heads). Arl knows a lot of folks and he is a knowledgable guide. Several notes: Dominica is a real rain forest and hikes are mostly for serious hikers. If the book says moderate, that means the hike is moderate for hikers, not non-hikers. We hit a trail from Pennville to Capuchin that was listed as "easy" but was anything but. It took us four hours of strenuous walking, not the listed three. Arl came looking for us, I must admit, but we were almost there by the time he came looking from the opposite end. Also, the wind on the north side of the island is usually very strong, so be prepared for wind. We had several great dinners prepared by Arl and the overall experience was just wonderful. Very quiet, which is what we were seeking. Only one small complaint: the soaking pool on the balcony stays very cold - Hazel the manager said they were working on that. Go have a drink and dinner at POZ, just up the road. Quite a hoot, and good to boot.

Room Tip: The Penthouse is well worth the extra money due to size and vista, and it has a full kitchen. The t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrickb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    35
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
172
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dominica
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My first visit to Calibishie Cove has been wonderful, in fact I'm writing this review with two nights to go before returning back to Tortola.. The rooms are wonderful and the hosts Hazel and Arl are exceptional when it comes to customer service. If you want to know where to visit and have it arranged for you, look no further than Arl.
The breezy aurora around the property during our stay has been a much needed distraction from the heat usually experienced in the Caribbean, but I'm told in a few months the hot sun will take over for those of you who enjoy relaxing and hoping for a tan. Calibishie Cove offers the opportunity to rest or a base to be much more adventurous.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenGui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Excellent food, Excellent service, Excellent staff, Gorgeous island, Breath taking views. Calibishie Cove is a lover's paradise! We stayed in the Rainforest Suite which is on the Ground Floor but it was reassuringly private and we were undisturbed. We wanted to honeymoon in an eco friendly environment that was secluded, private and intimate. The rainforest Suite is very spacious and the water pressure is phenomenal. Calibishie Cove captures the rustic, quiet, and uniqueness of the island of Dominica and provides the perfect environment for a romantic and relaxing honeymooon. i would definitely recommend this location to anyone looking for a great honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garnetandtennessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Not quite what we hoped. The views~spectacular, however the Rainforest Room, on ground level offered almost NO privacy. If you can...opt for the PARADISE PENTHOUSE...it wasn't available for our travel dates, but would be much more private. Having traveled to MANY MANY places we were enticed to visit Dominica for it's pristine SCUBA sites, undiscovered beaches and nature, and just a great adventure...and we were not disappointed. DISCOVER DOMINICA!!

Room Tip: SPLURGE for the Penthouse!! The Jungle Room offered little privacy. The patio houses a storage clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeeingtheWorld66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeLoveDominica, Owner at Calibishie Cove, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear 'SeeingtheWorld66' - Thank you for your nice review and your stay at Calibishie Cove!

We were a little bit confused by the different language used here versus what was communicated when you were on sit. We have spoken extensively with our wonderful management staff (Hazel and Arl) about your stay and were advised they spent much friendly time with you, chatting about your stay, making sure everything was to your liking, and that your needs were met. The comments shared with them, more than once, were that everything was (verbatim) "perfect and could not be better" and that you "would be back." We were so happy to hear that they took such good care of you!

As we do everything within our power to ensure that we make improvements based on guest feedback, we sent you a very polite and gracious email asking if we could chat on the phone to understand any perspectives not shared with our staff; however, we never heard back from you. As our staff followed up extensively with you during the stay, it seemed clearly understood that the storage room referenced was only accessed one time - to get kayaks out for your private kayak tour, when you were about to leave for the tour. Reading over other recent reviews for Rainforest Suite, it is wonderful to see that guests have found the room exceedingly private, comfortable, and even commented about heavenly sleep in that suite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We came to Dominica on our honeymoon looking for a little adventure in an untouched Caribbean paradise. We found it at Calibishie Cove. The Paradise Penthouse had amazing views, a refreshing plunge pool, and a secluded feel that is perfect for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Calibishie Cove was the perfect choice for our vacation this past December. The way the hotel is set up, there's not a bad room in the place. All rooms have a view of the ocean and each have their own charm (I snuck a peek at each room). I stayed in the Rainforest room for the first few nights and then moved up to the Penthouse for remainder of the stay. There's really no other comparison to the Penthouse view and how it is set up. You have 360 degrees of views, you can see the sun set and feel the warm breeze blow through. Did I mention it is pretty romantic?

The staff at Calibishie Cove goes above and beyond - noticing all details. Local made soaps, nice bed linens, and great food. I have a new found appreciation for banana pancakes which I had never had before. Fresh fruit and awesome food each morning.

If you need anything, day or night, someone is available to help out. From where to have dinner to how to find a local artist in Roseau (capital), we found the help we needed. Hazel and Arl took care of everything.

I came to Dominica looking to relax and experience another culture - Dominica did not disappoint. I loved the island, the ability to be outdoors and experience the unique and warm hearted spirits of the Dominicans.

Thanks Calibishie Cove and thanks to Dominica! I have missed you both since my return.

Room Tip: Penthouse has the most spectacular views - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valarie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our friends had stayed at this hotel during their honeymoon and strongly recommended it. They loved it and the island!!

Honestly, we didn't know what to expect when arrived at the airport in Dominica. We were attracted to this island due to the untouched nature and driven by the fact that we didn't want to be surrounded by 1000's of tourists everywhere we went as seen in the pictures of places like Jamaica, Puerto Rico and other popular destinations in the Caribbean. We wanted to escape from the hustle and bustle of our daily lives, relax, and have some great adventures.

The adventure began as soon as we landed. We rented a small SUV from Courtesy Cars and were met by the manager of Calibishie Cove Arl who graciously welcomed us to the island and offered to drive us to the property. Upon arriving, we were offered some rum punch and a beautiful array of fresh fruit.

We were there for 1 week and had to split our stay between two rooms due to availability at the time of booking. We spent our first couple of nights in the Rainforest Suite and then moved up to the Paradise Penthouse. Both rooms were phenomenal, the beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms are well appointed.

The Breakfast is AMAZING!! Arl makes the best pancakes (Banana, Banana Chocolate Chip, Chocolate Chip) Yum!! It is always accompanies with fresh fruit and juices. The food is very good and it is a delight! All of the staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and welcoming. They took amazing care of us during our visit. I could just go on and on about how incredible everyone is... Trust me when I say to you that you will consider them family after your visit -- We miss them and can't wait to see them again!

Highlights:

Glenda's Restaurant - it doesn't look like much but she is an amazing chef!

Escape Beach Bar & Grill - AMAZING!! Great food and drinks BEST SPICED RUM! GREAT FOOD!! Location Location Location!

POZ - Great Food! Great POZ-itive people! Walking distance to Calibishie Cove!!

Jenner tours - Jenner robinson <jenna23dm@yahoo.com> He knows Dominica like no one else and can provide drivers and access to some of the best places and guides on the island. STRONGLY RECOMMEND!! Driver is important especially when doing places like Boiling Lake which is a MUST SEE!

Derek snorkeling via boat !! Really, really fun! 612-5703 or call Jenner to coordinate!

You will love Calibishie and Calibishie Cove! It was by far our favorite place on the island. The people are amazing and extremely friendly, the beaches magnificent, and there is tons to do. 7 days was not enough. We can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: We were fortunate enough to sleep in both the Rainforest Suite and the Paradise Penthouse. This was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calibishie
9.7 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
489 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
20.8 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
269 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
11.1 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calibishie Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calibishie Cove

Property: Calibishie Cove
Address: Point Dubique, Calibishie, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Calibishie Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calibishie Cove-on the mountainous island's beach-studded northeastern corner-is a colonial-style hotel inspired to reenergize with just four rooms, each with platform beds, large shutters, and a private patio overlooking quaint panoramic vistas of Caribbean Sea. Nestled 80-feet above Hodges Bay Beach, the Eco-hotel sets the tone for an elegant and private relaxed beach hideaway. Calibishie captures the native spirit of Dominica with its distinctive "Nature Island" philosophy. At-a-glance: Distinguished Eco Boutique-hotel | Romantic Beach | Weddings | On-site Dining | Organic Garden | Nature Made Views | Yoga + Wellness Retreat | Sustainable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Calibishie Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calibishie Cove Hotel Calibishie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing