We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
177
34
7
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
34
7
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse sea view room every morning amazing views chocolate factory three nights breakfast and dinner scuba diving visiting dominica tour guide beautiful island ken paradise hike rainforest adventure beaches
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 226 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Dominica was such a blast! After viewing pictures of the awesome and rugged north part of the island, we chose Calibishie Cove as our first guesthouse. We stayed in the Seaview room for a week in early May. The room, the surrounding gardens, and the views over Hodges bay were more beautiful than we imagined. Pictures just don't tell how amazing this cool little village and guesthouse are. We can't wait to make a return visit to Dominica, and Calibishie Cove will be one of those reasons.
The staff was very nice and attentive, yet laid back. It was great to wake up and have an amazing breakfast of eggs, pancakes, bacon, fresh fruit and juice. Hazel's dishes for dinner were really enjoyed on our private balcony. Her goat curry and coconut curried mahimahi were personal favorites.
While we never actually felt threatened and did not experience any crime on this trip, we felt really looked after and safe with locks on windows and doors, and a staff member was always at the property.
Of the three placed we stayed on the island, Calibishie Cove was our favorite.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natenmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were looked after wonderfully by Hazel, Arl, Tamar and Johanna. Great food brought up to our fabulous flat with its views over the coast and the island just nearby. Rum punches, jerk chicken, pancakes, Bello coffee and lime pepper jelly were all memorable. Thanks to the Calibishie Team.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank susiebabhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The ocean view room delivered a beautiful view of Treasure Island from your private deck. Hazel and Staff were very accommodating, moving our dining table around so we could dine in any location that suited us or the weather. The dinners are delicious and not to be missed for a private dining experience. We spent our first three days at Calibishie Cove to adjust to island time. When we returned from exploring the other areas of the island, Hazel was there to greet us like an old time friend for our last two nights as well. We were happy with our choice to stay at several other locations to limit the drive time to reach such attractions as Champagne Reef, Scott's Head and Rosalie Bay.

Room Tip: We were very happy in the ocean view room, the right size for a couple. It has hard to keep my husband out of the hammock. The location of the guest house was very quiet and private which is essential for our enjoyment
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We have just returned from two weeks in Dominica. We stayed in the Rain Forest view room which gave great views of the forest and also sea views. The room was spacious, as was the balcony and we were pleased with our choice of accomodation.
Everybody at Calibishie Cove were helpful and friendly. The meals we had at the guesthouse were tasty, especially the goats curry - something we hadn't eaten before.
We spent half of our holiday doing self catering; this was great as we were able to buy fresh fish from the fisherman and local produce from the street vendors.
All in, by the end of our holiday we were totally 'chilled out'. Dominica has a charm all of it's own, totally unspoilt; although we could have done with some sign posts for Batibou beach. Once we eventually found it, it was one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen with nobody else to share it with!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This place was absolutely beautiful!! We had the garden/sea room which was spacious and also had a large porch where they would bring us breaksfast every morning. The view was spectacular and very untouristy..which is our preferance. The people who manged the guest house were very accomodating and could not be nicer!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews