We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!..”
Review of Calibishie Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calibishie Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Dominica was such a blast! After viewing pictures of the awesome and rugged north part of the island, we chose Calibishie Cove as our first guesthouse. We stayed in the Seaview room for a week in early May. The room, the surrounding gardens, and the views over Hodges bay were more beautiful than we imagined. Pictures just don't tell how amazing this cool little village and guesthouse are. We can't wait to make a return visit to Dominica, and Calibishie Cove will be one of those reasons.
The staff was very nice and attentive, yet laid back. It was great to wake up and have an amazing breakfast of eggs, pancakes, bacon, fresh fruit and juice. Hazel's dishes for dinner were really enjoyed on our private balcony. Her goat curry and coconut curried mahimahi were personal favorites.
While we never actually felt threatened and did not experience any crime on this trip, we felt really looked after and safe with locks on windows and doors, and a staff member was always at the property.
Of the three placed we stayed on the island, Calibishie Cove was our favorite.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natenmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 225 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were looked after wonderfully by Hazel, Arl, Tamar and Johanna. Great food brought up to our fabulous flat with its views over the coast and the island just nearby. Rum punches, jerk chicken, pancakes, Bello coffee and lime pepper jelly were all memorable. Thanks to the Calibishie Team.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank susiebabhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The ocean view room delivered a beautiful view of Treasure Island from your private deck. Hazel and Staff were very accommodating, moving our dining table around so we could dine in any location that suited us or the weather. The dinners are delicious and not to be missed for a private dining experience. We spent our first three days at Calibishie Cove to adjust to island time. When we returned from exploring the other areas of the island, Hazel was there to greet us like an old time friend for our last two nights as well. We were happy with our choice to stay at several other locations to limit the drive time to reach such attractions as Champagne Reef, Scott's Head and Rosalie Bay.

Room Tip: We were very happy in the ocean view room, the right size for a couple. It has hard to keep my husb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We have just returned from two weeks in Dominica. We stayed in the Rain Forest view room which gave great views of the forest and also sea views. The room was spacious, as was the balcony and we were pleased with our choice of accomodation.
Everybody at Calibishie Cove were helpful and friendly. The meals we had at the guesthouse were tasty, especially the goats curry - something we hadn't eaten before.
We spent half of our holiday doing self catering; this was great as we were able to buy fresh fish from the fisherman and local produce from the street vendors.
All in, by the end of our holiday we were totally 'chilled out'. Dominica has a charm all of it's own, totally unspoilt; although we could have done with some sign posts for Batibou beach. Once we eventually found it, it was one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen with nobody else to share it with!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This place was absolutely beautiful!! We had the garden/sea room which was spacious and also had a large porch where they would bring us breaksfast every morning. The view was spectacular and very untouristy..which is our preferance. The people who manged the guest house were very accomodating and could not be nicer!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Wonderful views of the Atlantic..small, well kept place. Breakfast in room was a treat. We had made a mistake with our reservation and the owner was very fair in resolving the issue.

Room Tip: Get room with a view of the Atlantic from the terrace..we didn't see the Penthouse, but probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeLoveDominica, Owner at Calibishie Cove, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2012

Thank you for your compliments! We do wish you had a chance to meet our beloved property manager, Hazel, who has been out since February to rehab an injured ankle. We are very glad to have her back starting April 2nd; she, as well, is enthusiastic to return to providing outstanding service as only she can do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

For our second trip to enjoy the natural beauty of Dominica, we knew we wanted to stay in the lovely Calibishie area, on the north side of the island, and Calibishie Cove looked like the perfect choice; the photos of the view from the wraparound veranda was what sold us. We stayed in the Penthouse for 8 nights and had a wonderful time, but there were a few downsides that you may wish to consider. Here's the rundown:

Pro's:
- tasteful, spacious and unique suite with soaring ceilings and a world-class view
- staff who will do anything in their power to make your stay more pleasant if you ask
- very comfortable bed, nicely furnished veranda
- use of a local cell phone pre-programmed with staff's numbers
- probably the best lodging choice in the area, unless you like to rough it
- really helpful website with great advice for trip planning (YES! buy the Keane's amphibian shoes they advise-- all round best choice for hiking)
- convenient locale close to both the airport, cute little Calibishie village, and many beautiful beaches and walks
- Penthouse kitchen gives you the all important self catering option, with basic tools you'll need
- Breakfast included with the room price, with coffee fixings all there so you don't have to wait for breakfast to make your coffee
-management introduced us to Jenner Robinson, phenomenal guide and invaluable source of reliable information for anything you could wish to know about Dominica
-environmentally aware management
-prevailing winds and ceiling fans keep the bugs away, even without screens
-outdoor shower on the veranda, great for rinsing off gear and sandy feet
-A&A grocery, less than a mile from the inn, has a very respectable wine selection, and a modest but adequate selection of pantry basics. (Do not miss the farmer's market in Portsmouth, GET THERE by 7:30 am! to get the best selection of fresh produce that can be found outside Roseau.)

Con's
-Solar water heater; best time to get a truly hot shower is when the sun has been up a while; water was noticeably less hot before dawn, after dark, and on rainy days
-Windy location - stiff winds from the northeast made the veranda almost unusable during our entire stay, although other reviewers have clearly enjoyed this (we had looked forward to eating all our meals outdoors and only managed it once)
- Frequent showers and stiff winds require keeping the shutters closed on the north and east facing sides of the suite, so you can't enjoy the spectacular view of the northeast coast from inside (Dominica seemed to be experiencing unusually cool, windy and rainy weather for this time of year, the rain was mainly during the night and early in the a.m.,so it didn't spoil our daytime activities, but the wind literally howled every night, and it took some getting used to, to sleep through it) We did manage to place our porch chairs in the doorway on the narrower, west- facing, leeward side, of the veranda; so we could at least enjoy the view of the trees and birdsong.
- Unacceptably dim lighting in fixtures that cannot take brighter bulbs - bring an ipad if you like to read in bed; the bathroom, kitchen and dining areas can be quite gloomy in the evenings
- Staff is sometimes missing, particularly in the evenings (but you CAN call someone on the provided cell if you really need something). Don't expect the polished service of a resort, it's friendly, but laid back. We had some failures to communicate which, had we persevered, would probably have been resolved.
- In our experience, dinner at the inn was a hit or miss affair (Hazel, who usually cooks, was not there during our stay). (We also tried the Veranda View, Coral Reef and Bamboo in town; they were no better.) Admittedly, we are super picky about cuisine. Our advice: go to Dominica for the unspoiled nature, go to Italy for the food!
- Breakfast was adequate and sometimes late in arriving- (don't expect good baked goods on Dominica): Bacon, eggs, white bread for toast, some local fruit.
-Sadly, crime in Dominica seems to be increasing somewhat. Batibou, the prettiest beach on the island, has unfortunately gotten quite a reputation, and locals repeatedly warned us not to go unless we had a guide with us. So, we went, but did take a guide, and had it virtually to ourselves. It's still worth seeing!

Favorite things we did:
- Hired Jenner Robinson for 3 days out of the 8; he drove us, in our Courtesy Rental car, to the key sights we knew would be hard to get to on our own. With peerless timing, he got us to every spot just when the cruise ship daytrippers were elsewhere, so we had every stunning hike and view, totally to ourselves, even the Emerald Pool. He also gave us excellent advice on what, when, where & how to see the other things on our 'self-guided' days
- Hike to Victoria Falls (went with Jenner, this is NOT wise to attempt on your own)
- Hike to Glassy Point (with Jenner)
- Birdwatching (Jenner again) - saw Dominica's own Jaco parrots and unique hummingbirds
- Hike to both Spanny falls (first one is easy, for the second we were glad to have Jenner guiding us)
- Jaco falls (very pretty and easy, no guide necessary)
-Chaudiere falls & pool (very pretty; we had planned to self guide but a local one attached himself to us and actually showed us many marvelous things we'd have missed on our own)
- Hanging out in Calibishie, chatting with the locals, rum punches at the Coral Reef with its marvelous view -Admiring the Red Rocks and Pointe Baptiste (the beachside bar at Red Rock Haven is presently closed, however)
-Farmer's market at Portsmouth on Saturday a.m. (we left at 6:45 am to get there by 7:30!) -Calibishie Ridge Road walk (beautiful views, interesting talks with the farmers along the way)
-Syndicate Nature trail and birdwatching on the way (would never have known where to look for the Jaco parrot but for Jenner) - for this you need to leave at 6:30 am
-Wai'tukubuli trail - we only did segment 12 (by Indigo art center on way to Portsmouth) but it was unforgettable

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Westporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeLoveDominica, Owner at Calibishie Cove, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful compliments on our 'tasteful, comfortable accommodations!' We are thrilled you and your husband had such a wonderful time. Thank you also for sending your comments in several emails to us before posting this review. As we discussed last week, we did address all of your suggestions immediately and thoroughly.

Thank you for the suggestions. You said, correctly, that you were pretty sure the few minor hitches were one-time things, caused by our manager being off-island for a few weeks for emergency medical treatment & rehab, and that they did not merit inclusion in a review online. Since you posted your thoughts here, we will address them here in hopes of creating understanding for other readers who are looking to make a decision about traveling to Dominica.

As mentioned, our acclaimed manager, Hazel, has been out of the country for medical reasons for a few weeks. Our local staff works incredibly hard to make things perfect in her absence (you are unlikely to find service or food comparable to ours anywhere on the island - we regularly assess competition), so we are grateful for your flexibility. We empower and train locals to create a truly friendly, wonderfully local experience while contributing to economic development in Dominica.

Likewise, our staff bakes fresh bread daily for breakfast, and they were trained on baking and dinner techniques by renowned French chef Gui Alinat. There has been a flour shortage (as shortages happen on islands from time to time, especially in developing nations). Please understand that Dominica is very much a developing country and it is not possible to provide the consistent flawless service of a Hilton or Hyatt while respecting local culture and customs. We agree with you – one should not go to Dominica primarily for the food, however, with such amazing fresh ingredients (fish and lobster are almost always caught the same day), there is a freshness you will not find most places and our staff creates some delicious contemporary twists on traditional local cuisine for dinner. We offer a range of choices for breakfast, including wheat bread, granola, multiple pancake options, fresh local fruits, and juices. All require considerable organization and effort by our staff, for which they are frequently commended by guests. Additionally, we have an nice, boutique selection of wines from all over the world.

Any developing nation with people in need will have a couple of pickpocketing episodes a year. It's not excusable, but it happens. Even in Florida, one certainly wouldn't leave valuables on the beach while swimming in the water – why would someone leave such painful temptation where families are truly in need? Dominica has much, much less theft than Spain, Italy, or even France, for perspective. We speak from having looked at the reports, as well as from personal anecdote. While it won't let me include a link here, for impartial statistics supporting our comments, go to nationmaster dot com and review top stats section which shows country rankings on various crime categories. A little common sense goes a long way and 99% of visitors to the country are regarded with nothing but smiles. Isolated incidents on one beach can set off a chain of gossip that makes an isolated situation seem like a trend. Thankfully, it is not. Dominica IS a safe, family-friendly place that is eager to treat travelers well. The fact that everyone warned you of this isolated situation shows how much Dominicans care. This can be said about very few places in the Caribbean, and even fewer eco-destinations worldwide.

Your visit was during an unseasonably cool and windy time. Usually, the amount of breeze is just right (amazingly so!) and one can keep the windows open as long as it's not storming. It is also normally perfect weather for the plunge pool. With all due respect, I've never heard of it being too cool in Dominica to get into a pool! This weather likely also affected the amount of solar hot water, but please see other guest reviews - our hot water is usually plentiful.

We have our full-wattage lighting on dimmer switches because keeping mellow, warm mood lighting in the evenings completely and totally prevents insects from coming into the building. We are from Florida and know this extremely well. Being from Connecticut, you might not have had a way to know this, and our staff should have explained it to you - we apologize if they did not. We do have individual bedside/chairside lights that are on dimmers and go quite bright, designed for reading. The outdoor lighting is all bright enough for reading. It is our intention to offer comfort and relaxation to our guests, hence, we test these matters out regularly. If I couldn't read there at night, I would be very unhappy, yet I can read there. We even import special bulbs to allow for dimmability. Dominica has phased out incandescent bulbs for CFLs earlier than most nations, so we go to a lot of effort to make this all work for guest needs, and we have received consistently positive reviews of these elements.

Thanks again for taking so much time to provide a thorough critique. I hope we will have the chance to host you again one day, and that we can exceed your wildest vacation dreams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calibishie
8.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
9.7 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
505 reviews
20.8 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
0.6 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calibishie Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calibishie Cove

Address: Point Dubique, Calibishie, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Price Range: $155 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Calibishie Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calibishie Cove-on the mountainous island's beach-studded northeastern corner-is a colonial-style hotel inspired to reenergize with just four rooms, each with platform beds, large shutters, and a private patio overlooking quaint panoramic vistas of Caribbean Sea. Nestled 80-feet above Hodges Bay Beach, the Eco-hotel sets the tone for an elegant and private relaxed beach hideaway. Calibishie captures the native spirit of Dominica with its distinctive "Nature Island" philosophy. At-a-glance: Distinguished Eco Boutique-hotel | Romantic Beach | Weddings | On-site Dining | Organic Garden | Nature Made Views | Yoga + Wellness Retreat | Sustainable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Calibishie Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calibishie Cove Hotel Calibishie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing