We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking and Totally Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Calibishie Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calibishie Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and Totally Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Just returned from 6 nights at Calibishie Cove (and my first -- but NOT last trip to Dominica). We stayed in the Penthouse, and it was worth it. The views are incredible and sleeping with all the doors open to the sound of the water, the birds and other critters was so peaceful. Woke up to good coffee and freshly-made scrambled eggs with fruit every day. No TV, no phones, no newspapers -- just the water and sky. Bed (and futon) were comfortable. Shower was great. We liked this part of the island and spent a couple of days just up the road at the Escape Beach Bar & Grill (small pretty beach, adirondack chairs, cold drinks, good food).

Dominica is like the caribbean island of 50+ years ago -- so don't come if your idea of the perfect island getaway is a beachfront Marriott. Getting around is challenging (but that makes it fun). You must navigate hairpin turns, driving on the opposite side of the car/road (shifting with left hand), and "sniffing out" destinations since road signs are optional. Enjoyed a 1/2 day of snorkeling with the crew from Al Dive in Roseau -- Billy, Samantha, Alan & Bobby are the best dive operator on the island. Rent a 4-wheeler from Courtesy Car rentals and explore the beautiful island (make sure to drive down to #1 beach on your way to/from Portsmouth). The new IGA is Portsmouth (30 min drive) is THE PLACE to buy groceries/wine, etc.

As far as food within a short drive: Bamboo restaurant is convenient (but not the best), Escape Beach Bar is OK for lunch, but better for dinner, Pagua Bay was good (about 15 min drive away), Calabishie Restaurant is 5 min drive -- sit on deck and listen to waves lapping below, and for a true "locals" experience, go to Glenda's at the edge of town (call and schedule dinner in advance -- we caught her off guard, but she came through).

I came back from this island more relaxed than ever. . . and will be back.

Room Tip: Penthouse is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MG_IslandHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    35
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
166
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

We rented a room overlooking the rain forest and the ocean. It was glorious. After the first day, we were so relaxed and grateful for the view and wildlife that we mainly spent our time on the porch of our room, occasionally walking into town which was hot and hilly! Each time, we returned to a brisk, cooling breeze at our cozy accomodation. Between the hummingbirds and frigate birds, there was constantly something going on, if you chose to look for it. Having Hazel cook delicious meals for you and sending it up to your porch was a delight. This really does feel like EcoLuxury. Simple. Thoughtful. Comfortable. The beach was a rugged climb down a steep path and littered with coconuts and other natural and not-so-natural debris. Maybe we will try one of the beaches closer to town next time. Or maybe that was a particularly turbulent day. This is a real gem!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseAmethyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

I spent 8 days at Calibishie Cove and I have nothing but the best impressions of that place. The sea view is phenomenal, the rooms stylish, natural and elegant. The local hosts were very genuine, dedicated and fun. And of course the island itself is fantastic.

The food was simple and awesome. Freshly made bread everyday. Local dishes. Very nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chefgui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

This is the little gem of a resort in a tucked away spot on the island.
The setting is idyllic. All rooms look out onto the sea and all night you hear the sea rolling.
The rooms are clean and nicely decorated- the food and service is really really great.
It feels like a bed and breakfast but in separate accommodations that are private.
The hotel offers help with all activities or lets you go on your own with plenty of advise.
The BIG BONUS to this hotel is a guide called Jenner! We spent 3 days with him touring and kayaking and rafting and snorkeling with him. He is delightful, knowledgeable accommodating and knows everybody and everything. He is a billboard for Dominica!
He loves his country and wants you, as a tourist, to love it too. We did!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LittleGIrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Everything was wonderful during our visit to Calibishie Cove. My fiance and I were on the island for 2 weeks and wanted to get a feel for different parts of the island so that is why we only stayed at the guest houses for 2 days but will definitely return!
The complimentary breakfasts were delicious and made for such a pleasant morning enjoying them with some fresh coffee on the patio.
The sleeping arrangements were also wonderful! Both my fiance and I said that the bed was one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in, and with the breeze at night, it made for a perfect night's sleep.
Make sure to try the Escape Restaurant close by as well as Bamboo, just a few minute drive away.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellychez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

It was the little things we appreciated about our stay at Calibishie Cove. The handmade soaps & shampoos. The natural breezes blowing through the room (no a/c and windows that open!). The sounds of the Atlantic Ocean lulling you to sleep. Hummingbirds! The birdsong to wake you in the morning (oh and sunrise & full-moon rise over the ocean!) You cannot believe the stars on a clear, moonless night. A very natural experience, all in all.

Distance-wise, it isn't a long walk into Calibishi town: but at night, the road is dark and without much shoulder (so plan to drive the 5 minutes into town at night).

We really loved all the great recommendations from the local staff as to where to eat, directions to unsigned beaches, waterfalls, ...

Oh, and Hazel's Ginger Molasses Cake was The Real Deal.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohdelfino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

We had a FABULOUS time at Calibishie Cove. We found it easily. The kids loved the place. And Hazel and the staff were so warm, responsive and attentive it was wonderful.
The food was sumptuous and just what we needed! Individually prepared and delivered straight to our patio. The rooms were huge, clean and BUG FREE!! The view was breathtaking – especially the amazing moon view we had. Amazing.

We loved the "private" cove below the cliffs and the kids played Robinson Crusoe every chance they could.

We found the location to be centrally located for lots of exploring and had an exciting and adventurous hike up Diablotin one day. We started out at Noon on the trail and would NOT recommend that to anyone. We are fast hikers and came down in near total darkness – but the kids loved the adventure.

The Penthouse suite is incredible and for families with little ones, one of the Sea View rooms connects through an internal staircase which basically gives you spacious two story condo.
We had stayed in a very highly rated place in Dominica for the first few days of our stay and it did not compare in so many ways that we felt spoiled at CC.

We recommend Calibishie Cove highly to anyone visiting Dominica.

And don't miss Secret Beach just up the road. Magical.

Everyone was so accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbailar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calibishie
9.7 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
8.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calibishie Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calibishie Cove

Property: Calibishie Cove
Address: Point Dubique, Calibishie, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calibishie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Calibishie Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calibishie Cove-on the mountainous island's beach-studded northeastern corner-is a colonial-style hotel inspired to reenergize with just four rooms, each with platform beds, large shutters, and a private patio overlooking quaint panoramic vistas of Caribbean Sea. Nestled 80-feet above Hodges Bay Beach, the Eco-hotel sets the tone for an elegant and private relaxed beach hideaway. Calibishie captures the native spirit of Dominica with its distinctive "Nature Island" philosophy. At-a-glance: Distinguished Eco Boutique-hotel | Romantic Beach | Weddings | On-site Dining | Organic Garden | Nature Made Views | Yoga + Wellness Retreat | Sustainable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calibishie Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calibishie Cove Hotel Calibishie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing