We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Fish and Chips” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richard's Fresh Seafood

Richard's Fresh Seafood
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Stanhope
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Seafood restaurant and fish market
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

loved everything. Atmosphere, food, service all great. The fish and chips were amazing and they threw in an extra peice of fish for free. Glad they did because the fish was so good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_Diii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    88
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best lobster burger. .yes lobster!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Local place just inside the park. Just let the gate person know you are going to Richards and not to be charged admission. Not fancy but as other reviews state the food is great. Out of three nights inn the area we are there twice. Lobster burger and lobster roll were our choices. Beer is good also. Full of lobster hope they never change. Also local seafood is available fresh for you to take home and cook.

Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best lobster roll!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

If you like lobster rolls, Richard's is the place. It's across the road from the lighthouse at Covehead Bay. This is a walk up to the window and order type of place - don't expect fancy, just great food and pleasant service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Richard's Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Everyone says to go to the Church Lobster Dinners, but we decided to try a recommendation from our landlady to go to Richard’s Fresh Seafood. (richardfreshseafood.com). Until 7pm, you can buy raw or cooked lobster at the fish mart, take it home and pig out in comfort. Or you can go to the take out window, which stays open much later, and order lobster rolls, lobster clubs, steamed clams, scallops, fish and chips, etc. There are tables to eat your take out. The lobster, fish and chips, and clams were super fresh and delicious. Added plus- you have an excellent view of the Stanhope Covehead Wharf. Suggest having a beer while you wait, it can sometimes be up to 45 minutes for your dinner. Reservations not possible.
Richard’s is in the National Park, but you don’t have to pay entrance fees if you tell them you’re going to Richard’s.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laughs_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips on PEI”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

My family and I ate at Richard's Seafood yesterday for supper. The first thing I really liked was the buzzer they give you to let you know when your food is ready. This was the best fish and chips I've ever eaten! We spent the whole time trying to figure out how they did the batter in a way that was light, yet cripsy and stayed on the fish. The tartar sauce is amazing and creative. The chips were delicious too! We ordered two orders of fish and chips with two extra fillets for four people and just split the fries between us. I had heard so many people talk about Richard's so I'm glad I finally got to see for myself how delicious it is!
My only complaint, and I don't think there's much they can do about it, is the amount of flies there were. But it's not enough to turn me off going there, just an annoyance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishcangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richard's Fresh Seafood also viewed

Rustico, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Richard's Fresh Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing