We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but overpriced”

Richard's Fresh Seafood
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Stanhope
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Seafood restaurant and fish market
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Lobster roll is the best ever and fish&chips are very good.

I just think it was really overpriced once you dont have service and the food is coming directly from the fishery.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    88
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Vermont
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best fish & chips ever. Really”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

While visiting PEI from Vermont, we stopped to visit a friend in Charlottetown. She said if we didn't mind a 20 minute drive, she'd take us to get the best fish and chips. 20 minutes later we were at Richard's. To begin with, the location is amazing, right on the water among a string of deep sea fishing tour operator shops. We did have to wait about a half hour after placing our order, but being right on the beach, it was super easy to kill the time. We happened to catch the gorgeous sunset and explore the nearby small lighthouse. Besides, it was worth the wait - we had THE BEST fish & chips. We also enjoyed a locally brewed beer while we ate and enjoyed the view from the rooftop dining area. All together spectacular.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rascal_Dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top notch Fish and Chips....Plus a View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went here based on some of the other reviews. We loved the fish and chips, one of the best I've ever had. Service was fine and the Beach Chair Ale was refreshing. We went upstairs to the deck and enjoyed the setting sun while we ate dinner. The view of the was spectacular. A perfect way to end the day!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Roll I've Ever Had - Bar None!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wow! The food was great! And what an experience!!!!!
I first read of Richard's in EnRoute magazine, and it had said that it was 'worth the wait' even though the lineup was long.
Well, we showed up with the kids about 30 minutes before the noon openning and let them play on the beach. But about 10 minutes to noon, the line-up started - only a dozen or so people, so not so bad - but the weather also turned.
We saw the thunderstorm clouds coming from the south.
About 5 minutes before it opened the rain came down hard, and it started to hail!!!
The restaurant opened and got us to move inside to take the order, but we were all soaked and freezing.
The food came out reasonably quick after that, and when it did - Oh Boy was it awesome.
I've never had a Lobster Roll that good.
Was it worth the wait? Yep! Was it worth the hail? That might be pushing it, but I'm certainly happy I got to try the food! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrystalandTom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
“Great meal and drive for visiting friends and family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The drive to Stanhope is beautiful and Richards is the cherry on top! The fish and chips are delicious, nice and light batter with fresh cut fries.....yummy! I could not decide between the lobster roll and fish and chips, so I got the fish and chips fresh and ordered the lobster roll to go. Best lobster roll in pei, huge chunks of lobster and not served on the biggest roll in Canada. Filling but light at the same time. Delicious! I have made the trip two times this summer, with visitors. One of the evenings we had the pleasure of listening to The Ross family. I defiantly recommend a trip to Richards for all visiting friends and family for a genuine island dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richard's Fresh Seafood also viewed

Rustico, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
New Glasgow, Prince Edward Island
 
New Glasgow, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Richard's Fresh Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing