We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome cottage feel with super grounds & nearby...”
other travelers have booked this property
Regular Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Regular Cottage
Superior Cottage Superior Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Regular Cottage
Superior Cottage
Superior Living Area
Superior Bedroom
Superior Fireplace
Regular Cottage Living Area
Regular Cottage Bedroom
Suites
Suite Living Area
Suites Twin Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Stanhope, Prince Edward Island

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
squarehea...
quebec,
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, needs sprucing up”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The location was fantastic. We only had a 3 day stay but we were able to visit a lot of the island and still have beach time. The site is great for kids, the activity room was a big hit whilst waiting for breakfast or just before bedtime. The nearest unsupervised beach is literally a 5 minute walk but if you take advantage of the family National Park pass, there are great supervised beaches just a few minutes away by car and they all have clean shower blocks and changing facilities. Our cottage was big enough for the 5 of us but needed a really good clean, the ceiling fans and the oven were nothing less than filthy. Toilet brushes would be helpful and an overhaul of the kitchen utensils is needed. However Keith and Sadie the dog were very helpful and friendly. One final tip, eat at the Churchill Arms in nearby Charlottetown-really great food especially the curries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and activity room.
Liked least: The general cleanliness.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2013
I would like to thank Joanne for her review and they seem to have had a great holiday.,which was our goal.
I remember the several e-mails we got before booking and special attention was given to the cottage as there daughter was suffering from allergies. I would imagine this would make a parent super-sensitive to the slightest amount of dust.
I explained to Joanne that because we were a pet friendly property that we would do our best to clean the cottage with extra care.
I was quite surprised to read that our cottage was ( Filthy ), a word that in no way could be used to describe our three star , modern, freshly decorated cottage, which is rated every year by Quality Assurance to retain our three star status.
As far as the toilet brushes, Tourism rules dictate that we can not have toilet brushes left in the bathrooms, as they retain dangerous bacteria that can be harmful.
I do hope that the Harvey's will join us again for another holiday, and we will continue to provide a positive experience and superior product to anyone who visits us.

Keith Notman Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W
Riverview, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome cottage feel with super grounds & nearby beaches & golf!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We searched for accommodations nearby our son's wedding resort and found this gem. If we were looking for crystal chandeliers and marble walled bathrooms we would have been disappointed but instead we found a lovely compound, quaint cottages and even nicer proprietors. They even offered to transform their common room/laundry room cottage for our rehearsal lunch. We picked up our buffet and then laid it out in fine style. Please view the attached photos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Real cottage living without the camper feel - close to beaches and golf!
Liked least: The bathrooms could have been upgraded a bit but were still very acceptable.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Sandpiper is the place for us!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Our family has travelled to PEI each summer for the past 10 years and have rented the three bedroom suite at Sandpiper for the past two years.

We can't say enough good things about Sandpiper. Our suite is roomy, comfortable and spotlessly clean, not to mention well appointed with large rooms, a comfortable screened in porch, a huge flat screen tv, two bathrooms, a washer/dryer and a dishwasher.

Our two teenage sons love the proximity to the beach and Stanhope Golf Course, as well as the ping pong and fooseball tables in the activity room - providing lots of opportunities to make new friends.

Stanhope is, in our opinion, the best spot on PEI. The beautiful beaches, proximity to lots of Island attractions and the peace and tranquility of cottage life keep us coming back year after year, not to mention hearing the roar of the surf as you settle down to sleep each night!

Above all, however, it is the Notmans and their daughter Penny who make Sandpiper such a great place to stay. Their commitment to customer satisfaction is second to none. Every single one of our concerns (and there were not many) was addressed promptly and cheerfully. We even made some suggestions for improvements to the suite which were all in place when we arrived this year.

We have come to regard Sandpiper, and Stanhope, as our home away from home and can't wait to go back in 2013. We have already started counting down the weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieB33...
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An excellent place to enjoy the beaches and attractions of P.E.I.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 for a stay in August 2011

We're about to return to Sandpiper Cottages for the eighth year running. The cottages are so comfortable and well maintained and close enough to the beach to hear the surf at times. The hosts are very welcoming and everything is as advertised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottages
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian j
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

My wife and i just spent a week in one of there suites, what a great holiday we had...We were told up front how small it was, but found it had plenty of space for us and another couple we had visit for two nights...The owners Keith and Pat notman made sure we had everything we needed, even had a lobster cooker for our traditional sea food dinner...Two thumbs up, we've already booked for next year...B. Jenner

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ... made us feel at home...
Liked least: nothing not to like...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy H
Burlington, Canada
1 review
“Fifteen years of excellence!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

My family of four has been staying at Sandpiper for fifteen years now and every year has been a truly charming and restful holiday. The cottages in which we've stayed are always pristinely clean - very important for a family that suffers from acute allergies.
My boys are teenagesrs now but there has always been lots for them to do from playing in the sandbox and on the swings when they were younger, to playing endless ping pong and air hockey tournaments together and with the other kids staying at Sandpiper with whom they seem to make new friends every year.
I, personally, appreciate that the kitchen is so well equipped which results in less packing for me and easy meal preparations.
Our hosts, Pat and Keith, are very personable and have seen my boys grow up over the years. We can always count on them to share their spot-on recommendations of places to eat, sites to explore, beach conditions, and even current local theatre productions. They've never steered us wrong.
I have and will continue to recommend Sandpiper Cottages to my family and friends. For a relaxing, and stress-free vacation, Sandpiper delivers on its promises year after year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving - otherwise, nothing comes to mind
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davefleet
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I stayed at Sandpiper with my wife and mother in July 2012. Unlike the other folks who have written reviews here, we had a profoundly bad experience.

We stayed in a two-bedroom "suite" for one night. On the plus side, the location of Sandpipers is superb - right next to the PEI national part and a glorious drive along the ocean. However, for us that was where the positive side ended. Among the problems we itemized to the owner the next morning:

1. Lots of dog hair in both bedrooms
2 .Long hair in the shower
3. Shower itself was very dirty
4. Chipped glass in the kitchen
5. Dirty glassware in the kitchen
6. Lamp in our bedroom didn't work

On a similarly poor (but less complaint-worthy) front:

- One of the bedrooms in the suite was barely big enough to accommodate the bed - there was maybe a foot or two of room available on two sides of the bed and the other two were against the wall.
- The cabin in which the suites were located was also set up to require you to park on the far side to the door, meaning a long mosquito-laden dash from car to door each time you went out.
- Coffee (from a Keurig machine) was $1.50 to purchase, and only from the front desk.

In the defence of the owners, we did receive a nice email from them apologizing for the cleanliness issue with our sheets (although not addressing the other elements). We appreciated the responsiveness from them after the fact, but we noted that rather than offering a discount from the full rate that we paid for our room, they offered us a discount if we returned to them in future - something that we have no intention of doing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was the one redeeming feature
Liked least: Cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2012
We feel badly that Mr. Fleet and his family had this experience while staying on our property and continue to take full responsibility for our mistake. A copy of the email that we sent to them immediately after we’d had a chance to investigate their issues and on the day of their departure, follows our response.

We would like to point out that while Mr. Fleet indicated that we didn’t address all of his concerns, we are quite sure that had we followed our own policy and had we had our own cleaning staff available, the problems would not have existed. We would also like to mention that we are not a hotel, and there is a coffee pot provided in the housekeeping suite. The suite is rated by Canada select as 2 ½ stars, largely due to it’s size. Our website has pictures of the unit, clearly indicating it size and setup. The suites include quite a few of the amenities that are included in our 3 star cottages and we have many young families that love our affordable suite accommodations and return year after year.

Our email to Mr. Fleet and Family follows:

“ First of all, we would like to apologize again that your experience with us was not acceptable and certainly not to the standard that we expect from ourselves. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to let us know where we went wrong.

We have always prided ourselves on providing clean, well appointed spaces in a friendly environment and for the most part have been able to do that. While we can’t change your experience, we have completed a thorough analysis and investigation this morning and we’d like to offer an explanation, still taking full responsibility of course. It has always been our practice to try to leave a day between bookings when we’ve had a dog as a guest in one of our units. Unfortunately, in this case, not only did we not do that but we accepted your booking for one night when that too is against our policy. Our regular cleaners were not scheduled because of this and as a result we had to rely on another service to provide the cleaning. Our mistake was to afford them the trust that we normally provide our own cleaners and because Keith and I had to be out for the evening we were not available to assist you.

We hope you will accept our apology and we’d like to encourage you to visit us again. Please, if you have the opportunity to visit PEI again, please make sure you contact either of us directly and we will be pleased to offer you a discount for your stay.”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$118
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing