We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great golf resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodd Brudenell River Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent 3 great days at this resort. Our room was quite large comfortable and looked out over the river and pool. It had a small balcony as well. We played two rounds of golf at the Brudenell and Dunderave Golf courses. These were beautiful world class golf courses that were a true pleasure and challenge to play. The service at all times was friendly and efficient. Breakfasts and post golf snacks at the Club 19 were great.

We were at this resort 10 years ago and stayed in older very basic cottages. They have been torn down and replaced now.

We are very happy we gave this place a second chance and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I will pass along your comments to all the members of our team. Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 272 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Carpet in the bedroom was stained. Mildew stains in the shower. Dated (and cheap) finishes throughout. Insuffient electrical outlets. TV and clock radio looked to be about 20 years old. The exercise room was shockingly poor. Location is beautiful. Comparable money in many other locations buys a superior quality experience that is head and shoulders above what we experienced here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btownshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. I will review your comments with our senior management. When you have a moment please send me an e-mail as I would like to know which room you were in so I can review it with our Executive Housekeeper. Please e-mail to tarnold@roddhotelsandresorts.com Once again thank you for taking the time to review our facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a double room on the ground floor which was comfortable though not luxurious. There is a coffee maker in the room, no mini fridge. The outside pool was welcome on a hot day, well supplied with towels, lounge chairs & umbrellas. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Nearby are playgrounds, horse trails and rentals, a croquet court and lots of walking, cycling paths and the golf course as well.From here it's a 10 min drive to Montaque if you need any supplies and about 5 min to the lobster supper in nearby Cardigan.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our property. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed 4 days in a 2 bedroom cottage, and played 5 rounds on Brudenell, Dundarave (2) and Crowbush. The stay and play package was outstanding. Easy to get around, as Crowbush is only a 40 minute drive. Local restaurants in Montague, Georgetown and Cardigan were only 10 munites away. The cottage was very comfortable and met all expectations. Staff we exceptionally helpful and went out their way to make us feel special. The art of customer service is alive and well at Brudenell River resort.

Room Tip: Cottages are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newts057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our facility. I will definitely share your comments with all the members of team. We take great pride in providing great customer service. Thank you once again for taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed for three nights at the beginning of July 2013. The resort is set in an awesome location in the Brudenell Provincial Park. It is a quiet, relaxing place to stay with great walking trails and nice peaceful views. We did not Golf so I cannot comment on the course although the grounds appeared to be well cared for. Staff were friendly and helpful. We only ate once at the restaurant in the clubhouse (breakfast) and it was fantastic ! Great service from the restaurant staff which felt very genuine. The food we had was fresh and perfectly cooked. We should have had breakfast every morning as our other experiences at local eateries were not nearly as good.

We paid a very reasonable rate for all three nights and felt we received good value for our stay. I should comment though that if our room had more comfortable beds, a mini fridge and a larger nicer washroom I would have been happy to pay more than we did. The beds felt cheap, small and somewhat stiff.

Overall for the rate we paid I would recommend this resort ($105 -$120 per night). The location is relaxing and out of the usual path of hordes of tourists. I would like to see a few upgrades to the rooms and some of the lobby and outdoor decking and would be happy to pay more and would probably stay longer than three nights. I stayed at a Rodd property in Moncton in early June and the beds were far more comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our guest comments are extremely important to us and I will be sure to pass along your comments to all the members of our team as well as senior management. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The resort is located in a dream spot- quiet, bucolic, restful. I am not a golfer so I can't comment on the the course, but it looked nice to the untrained eye.Our servers were great, and the front desk staff was friendly and efficient. I didn't eat in the restaurant- our food was served in the meeting room.
The hotel is nice, but with some refreshments it could be great. I'd start with the bedding and the decking. The decking between the east and west wing felt needs to be redone. The bed was comfortable, but not "heavenly". A great bed is part of the appeal of staying at a hotel, so when I would rather have my own sheets and pillows I feel a bit let down.
On the plus side, the room was spotless, and the shower had very good water pressure.

Room Tip: I was facing the golf course and it was very quiet for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Richelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our facility. We take all of our reviews seriously and I will share your comments with our staff and senior management. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The service at front desk and restaurants was friendly and eager to please. Food was better than average and affordable.
A few disappointments: the main building and rooms need refreshing, considering the price and value expected from a chain resort. The decoration is outdated and so are the room amenities: old small TV, no mini-fridge, etc. The tennis equipment was beyond worn out and the rentals (bicycle, kayak..) were unavailable, even if the premises were very busy due to numerous business meetings. Spa massages were already sold out for the weekend when we arrived on wednesday.

Room Tip: Main building rooms are deceiving in terms of amenities and deco, but offer a nice view from the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruckuz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. I have complimented our staff on your remarks regarding service and food quality and I will speak to our senior management regarding your comments on our finishes. Again thank you for taking the time to complete a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
18.2 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
15.6 mi away
The Inn at St. Peters
The Inn at St. Peters
#1 of 1 in Saint Peters Bay
292 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Georgetown Historic Inn
Georgetown Historic Inn
#1 of 1 in Georgetown
172 reviews
3.8 mi away
Small Town Bound Bed & Breakfast
6.0 mi away
Maplehurst Properties
Maplehurst Properties
#1 of 9 in Montague
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Brudenell River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Brudenell River Resort

Address: 86 Dewars Lane | PO Box 67, Georgetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range: $102 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Brudenell River Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rodd Brudenell River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Brudenell River Hotel Georgetown
Rodd Brudenell River Cardigan
Rodd Brudenell River Resort Georgetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing