We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodd Brudenell River Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a double room on the ground floor which was comfortable though not luxurious. There is a coffee maker in the room, no mini fridge. The outside pool was welcome on a hot day, well supplied with towels, lounge chairs & umbrellas. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Nearby are playgrounds, horse trails and rentals, a croquet court and lots of walking, cycling paths and the golf course as well.From here it's a 10 min drive to Montaque if you need any supplies and about 5 min to the lobster supper in nearby Cardigan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our property. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    81
    31
    22
    12
See reviews for
66
79
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed 4 days in a 2 bedroom cottage, and played 5 rounds on Brudenell, Dundarave (2) and Crowbush. The stay and play package was outstanding. Easy to get around, as Crowbush is only a 40 minute drive. Local restaurants in Montague, Georgetown and Cardigan were only 10 munites away. The cottage was very comfortable and met all expectations. Staff we exceptionally helpful and went out their way to make us feel special. The art of customer service is alive and well at Brudenell River resort.

Room Tip: Cottages are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newts057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our facility. I will definitely share your comments with all the members of team. We take great pride in providing great customer service. Thank you once again for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed for three nights at the beginning of July 2013. The resort is set in an awesome location in the Brudenell Provincial Park. It is a quiet, relaxing place to stay with great walking trails and nice peaceful views. We did not Golf so I cannot comment on the course although the grounds appeared to be well cared for. Staff were friendly and helpful. We only ate once at the restaurant in the clubhouse (breakfast) and it was fantastic ! Great service from the restaurant staff which felt very genuine. The food we had was fresh and perfectly cooked. We should have had breakfast every morning as our other experiences at local eateries were not nearly as good.

We paid a very reasonable rate for all three nights and felt we received good value for our stay. I should comment though that if our room had more comfortable beds, a mini fridge and a larger nicer washroom I would have been happy to pay more than we did. The beds felt cheap, small and somewhat stiff.

Overall for the rate we paid I would recommend this resort ($105 -$120 per night). The location is relaxing and out of the usual path of hordes of tourists. I would like to see a few upgrades to the rooms and some of the lobby and outdoor decking and would be happy to pay more and would probably stay longer than three nights. I stayed at a Rodd property in Moncton in early June and the beds were far more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our guest comments are extremely important to us and I will be sure to pass along your comments to all the members of our team as well as senior management. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The resort is located in a dream spot- quiet, bucolic, restful. I am not a golfer so I can't comment on the the course, but it looked nice to the untrained eye.Our servers were great, and the front desk staff was friendly and efficient. I didn't eat in the restaurant- our food was served in the meeting room.
The hotel is nice, but with some refreshments it could be great. I'd start with the bedding and the decking. The decking between the east and west wing felt needs to be redone. The bed was comfortable, but not "heavenly". A great bed is part of the appeal of staying at a hotel, so when I would rather have my own sheets and pillows I feel a bit let down.
On the plus side, the room was spotless, and the shower had very good water pressure.

Room Tip: I was facing the golf course and it was very quiet for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Richelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our facility. We take all of our reviews seriously and I will share your comments with our staff and senior management. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The service at front desk and restaurants was friendly and eager to please. Food was better than average and affordable.
A few disappointments: the main building and rooms need refreshing, considering the price and value expected from a chain resort. The decoration is outdated and so are the room amenities: old small TV, no mini-fridge, etc. The tennis equipment was beyond worn out and the rentals (bicycle, kayak..) were unavailable, even if the premises were very busy due to numerous business meetings. Spa massages were already sold out for the weekend when we arrived on wednesday.

Room Tip: Main building rooms are deceiving in terms of amenities and deco, but offer a nice view from the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruckuz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. I have complimented our staff on your remarks regarding service and food quality and I will speak to our senior management regarding your comments on our finishes. Again thank you for taking the time to complete a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This resort is quite lovely. We had a cottage on the river. It was clean and comfortable. We did
not enjoy the food at the resort. Our first lunch and Club 19 was terrible so we did not return. We
were attending a convention and the dinners were not good. I would not recommend this resort to anyone only because of the food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. We take all our reviews very seriously. At your convenience I would like to hear about the details of your visit in particular the food. By so doing we can improve our product, please e-mail me brudenell@roddhotelsandresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canning, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have been visiting Rodd Brudenell about once per year for about 25 years, and have always found it an excellent experience. Service is generally superb (one exception, noted below).

The location is excellent, with panoramic views of the Brudenell River, apparently from all rooms. Being on the river, if interested there are many early-morning photo opportunities for those interested in water birds such as Herons and Kingfishers (and gulls, of course).

Reception is good: quick, well organized. As usual, they gave us a room (suite actually) that exactly fitted our request made with their telephone reservation service.

Food: The Montague & Georgetown areas in PEI (like most of anything east of Charlottetown) is extremely limited, especially in the Fall, Winter, and Spring, unless one's idea of vacation food is a steady stream of junk fast food available in any mall in North America. For us this has been a challenge. Fortunately, the Rodd Resort has gradually been improving the food quality in what they call the "Club 19"; i.e., the lounge in the golf club House. Their the hours are excellent and the service superb. We are vegetarians, so everywhere choices are limited, but the "Club 19" has increased the offerings so there is sufficient choice. Portions tend to be very generous. Louise, our chatty breakfast server said that often "seniors" ask for children's portions because the breakfasts are huge, the wonderful buttermilk pancakes especially (though she warned that the chefs are more generous in the off-season). Prices are very reasonable. We have never tried the main dining room that is more expensive.

Rooms are good size, well maintained, and generally quiet. The suites have refrigerators and microwaves. In nearby Georgetown there is an fantastic bakery/art gallery, "The Maroon Pig Art Gallery and Sweet Shop", so one can purchase sweets, bread, etc. there and prepare breakfast in the room. The Bakery opens late, so it is necessary to shop the day before needed.

Activities: We are not golfers so cannot comment on the feature activity at Rodd's. Otherwise there is plenty of interest if exercise and nature and visiting artisans and cottage industries are attractive to you. Rodd Resort itself has many walking trails, and is very close to the PEI Confederation Trail that passes by from Georgetown. Even little Georgetown has several establishments; a favourite for us is the rather eccentric, very spontaneous artist, Peter Llewellyn, Shoreline Design. Further afield, near Belfast, are Koleszar Pottery, with very beautiful designs and a delightful owner, and Belfast Mini Mills, on a farm where are designed and manufactured modular processing mills for wool and other textiles that are intended for small cottage industries. The Mills also process the materials on site and have a shop. In summer there also is there an excellent light-meal café.

This particular visit did have one glitch. I mention this only because it delayed our departure so could have resulted in missing the ferry. When we arrived at check out, one other visitor was waiting but there was no staff in sight. (We could hear one on a telephone in an office.) After waiting several minutes, one person appeared from the office and began to process the person who was waiting. After another wait, a second appeared who was unclear about one procedure, so another wait. Then we discovered a lounge lunch charge of about $165 (for two people!) for a time we were nowhere near the Resort. This took some time while the correct receipt was found to make the correction. In all, out check-out took more than 25 minutes. Fortunately we had about 75 minutes available. Normally, because the ferry is 35 minutes away, we do not allow this much time to check out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was very pleased to hear we are improving each year in our food quality. I was concerned however by your check-out experience. If you would be so kind as to e-mail me at brudenell@roddhotelsandresorts.com Letting me know the date of your departure so we can review with our staff, to ensure that our future guests do not have the same experience. Once again thank you for taking a moment to submit a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
18.2 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
15.6 mi away
The Inn at St. Peters
The Inn at St. Peters
#1 of 1 in Saint Peters Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
29.1 mi away
Super 8 Charlottetown PE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages
10.6 mi away
The Inn at Spry Point
The Inn at Spry Point
#1 of 1 in Annandale-Little Pond-Howe Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
23.4 mi away
Johnson Shore Inn
Johnson Shore Inn
#1 of 1 in Hermanville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Brudenell River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Brudenell River Resort

Property: Rodd Brudenell River Resort
Address: 86 Dewars Lane | PO Box 67, Georgetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Brudenell River Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Brudenell River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Brudenell River Hotel Georgetown
Rodd Brudenell River Cardigan
Rodd Brudenell River Resort Georgetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing