We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, nice accommodations, great golf, average food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodd Brudenell River Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great setting, nice accommodations, great golf, average food”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a somewhat isolate spot, so if you go, this is preeptty much your destination. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage, and the accommodations were first rate, but you definately pay accordingly.
The pools are both nice, although the fitness room is pretty small.
The most disappointing thing here is the food. They claim to have 3 restaurants. Apparently, this is the pool bar (nice but limited frozen drink menu, chips, and ice cream), the golf club house pub (the only place for breakfast, but they do a nice job on both service and food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner)' and the truly disappointing "fine dining" Stillwater has a limited but decent menu,but poor service, and the food is not well prepared. The wild rice was undercooked (crunchy), and in general, the food was all a little on the salty side.
If you like golf, this is a great place to stay, but the food was not worth it (and you have quite a drive if you want to eat elsewhere. The best option might be to cook for yourself as the cottages have full kitchens and gas grills.

Room Tip: The cottages are expensive but very nice. Ask for a waterfront cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A, General Manager at Rodd Brudenell River Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our facility. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    89
    31
    22
    12
See reviews for
70
83
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Hastings
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed for two nights, and wished we could have stayed longer. The setting is gorgeous, with the view of the river; perfect for an early morning walk. The grounds were impeccable! We enjoyed the outdoor and indoor pools. We ate at Club 19 for breakfast, and were extremely impressed with the service and the food - delicious!

Room Tip: Our room was located in the second building, so we had a bit of a walk. You may wish to ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Wow, had a great time at Brudenell and recommend this resort to anyone visiting the area.
Beautiful location, right on the Brudenell River, and the golf course is pristine. We stayed in the hotel West Wing, which is slightly more updated than the East Wing, but from what we could see, both the old and the new had their own benefits. Also, the Chalets were beautiful and I would consider staying in one of these next time. On the property there is also the Brudenell campground and a wide variety of activities. Lawn bowling, tennis courts, beach volleyball, basketball court, horseback riding and an outdoor as well as an indoor pool and sauna... from what we took part in, there could be more that we didn't see!
We also attended a wedding on the property and would highly recommend the banquet hall. The room, decor and buffet served supper was all exactly as requested, and just when I thought I couldn't say one more nice thing about the professionalism of the staff, I was again wowed by their efficiency and experience of putting on a function, and their postive and always welcoming attitude!
You can travel a very short distance from the resort and visit Montague, Georgetown and Cardigan, as we did and ate at some really good restaurants. There was plenty to choose from within a 5-10 minute drive and the little towns had great history behind them not to mention the scenery!
Anyone who could complain about staying here should invite us with them when they plan to go to Brudenell and we would ensure they got the most out of their trip, it wouldn't take much to convince us to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheParkers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Was at this resort for 4 days and nights from July12th to July 16th The staff were polite and helpful willing to go above and beyond to please .The food was delicious and prepared to prefection and served with a smile .Our rooms were clean and the staff made every effort to have them ready for us while we were out. .We enjoyed our stay have no complaints highly recommend this place for a family vacation..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank robandrainy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Florida
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at this resort for two nights and wish we had left after the first. As for setting, it is lovely and the golf is fine but expensive. Now to the issues we had. Both nights we had children running overhead for hours which did not stop after contacting management. The second night the resort hosted a wedding party. We didn't complain until 11 PM about the loud noise in the hallway. This lasted until 4 AM. When we contacted the desk they said they checked and it was quiet. That is not my definition of quiet when you are kept awake for several hours.

Besides the noise there was mold in the bathroom along the floor and in the tile grout. We mentioned this to the desk clerk and were told we would be contacted by a supervisor. So far, no contact.

Now for the gouging. This place is truly isolated and you are a captive audience when it comes to purchases of any type of food. Be certain you bring yours with you or be willing to pay an exorbitant price for even a bottle of water.

If you come to PEI to golf, go somewhere else and surely do not stay here for lodging.

Room Tip: If you go there possible the top floor would be better. We were on the second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dartmouth ns
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here the first week of July. The weather was fantastic the whole time, but the mousquitos were bad in the evenings. Each room has a balcony, the hotel is only three levels. On the bottom level, each room has a door that leads outside and onto a nice grassy area overlooking the river and part of the golf course. There is a privet outdoor pool for hotel guests and also an indoor pool. They can both be accessed from outside. The room we had was alright, quite outdated but clean, that's the main thing. There was a little bit of scum in the bathroom, but not much. The bathroom had an excellent shower, which is something I always seem to notice. The grounds of the resort are beautiful and well taken care of. There are plenty of things to do, a huge bonfire pit down by the river, you can go on a trailride for thirty dollars, it isn't the best deal, and not the thing for for experienced riders, my brother went on and he seemed to enjoys it. You can also rent a kayak or canoe, which we didn't do.
The staff here are excellent, we were originally on the top level of the hotel, but we wanted to change, the clerk had to problem and changed us right away. As for value, it's pretty good, the only reason I gave it four is because there is no breakfast included in the room rate and it is very pricy to buy it at the golf club.

Overall a wonderful stay though, for good places to eat, old world pizza was great, just a few minutes drive, also Gills' diner was good for ice cream. And kates cafe for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhotp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We paid $99 a night per person to stay here and it also included a round of golf. The hotel room we had #101 was older and while completely fine, isn't a four start hotel. The staff are fantastic... the golf course restaurant is "ok" but there's not much near the hotel unless you drive to Cardigan or Montague.

Room Tip: Room #101 was a handicapped unit. As neither of us were handicapped, I don't know why they gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxhillOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
18.2 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
15.6 mi away
The Inn at St. Peters
The Inn at St. Peters
#1 of 1 in Saint Peters Bay
271 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Inn at Spry Point
The Inn at Spry Point
#1 of 1 in Annandale-Little Pond-Howe Bay
54 reviews
3.0 mi away
Georgetown Historic Inn
Georgetown Historic Inn
#1 of 1 in Georgetown
153 reviews
23.4 mi away
Johnson Shore Inn
Johnson Shore Inn
#1 of 1 in Hermanville
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Brudenell River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Brudenell River Resort

Property: Rodd Brudenell River Resort
Address: 86 Dewars Lane | PO Box 67, Georgetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Brudenell River Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Brudenell River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Brudenell River Hotel Georgetown
Rodd Brudenell River Cardigan
Rodd Brudenell River Resort Georgetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing