We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad the Maritimes just seems to miss the mark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodd Brudenell River Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too bad the Maritimes just seems to miss the mark”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I just can never understand why it is that the Atlantic provinces have such a hard time doing things right. This reosrt had all the makings of a really nice family vacation spot...it just did so many things wrong that we found it beyond frustrating:
1) The "gourmet" restuarant "Stillwaters" was just simply awful. The food was worse than anything I have experienced in an awfully long time...and with kids....we eat at some pretty sad spots. I cannot urge this enough....don't waste your money on this place.


2) They have an outdoor pool and the wep page claims to have a pool bar. Ohhh...they have a pool bar alright...but it NEVER opens ( I asked the manager). So here we were...beautiful hot weather out wishing for a nice cold drink, but it's virtually inaccessible ( you have to order via phone all the way to the club house and they deliver it via golf cart. Absolutely Mickey Mouse!

3) The outdoor pool is a bloody ice bucket....

4) We rented a "echelon" cottage which sleeps 6. We were there with another couple along with our 2 daugters. They only have 2 lounge chairs set up outside! Doesn't take much to figure they should supply a few more chairs. And...why isn't there a fire pit at a cottage?

5) The other restaurantt "club 19" barely passes as a pub.

Bottom line is that this "resort" is well kept and has great potential...but the food and service is an epic fail. The place needs a giant overhaul and some massive improvements in attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nbfamily2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    97
    32
    23
    12
See reviews for
75
91
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

While the location and the golf course(s) are lovely, the facilities themselves are tired and worn. The service is relatively attentive and friendly, but certainly not exemplary. The rooms are clean and functional, but that's about all.

The dining was absolutely awful. "Stillwaters", the self-proclaimed "fine dining" restaurant, was no such thing. The ambiance was okay, and the menu sounded okay, albeit unexciting, but the results are very poorly executed, dry & overdone, and just plain bad. Breakfast was equally unappealing. There was only a jerry-rigged buffet in the pub area, and the very basic offerings were runny or dried out, barely warm, and the feel was that of a diner, but the food wasn't even as good as that. The service was friendly, but too familiar (i.e. being addressed as "dear" & "honey") and rough around the edges.

All in all, it just isn't 'resort' quality. This place badly needs an overhaul, a staff shakeup, and some training.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gandt_halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My son and I stayed here for a 3 day golf package. The courses are excellent, and challenging, if you are playing Dunvare take a cart it is a long ways between holes. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They let us checkout late as we played golf in the morning on our last day. The indoor pool and hot tub are very good. If you are interested in playing golf this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Recently stayed here for a business conference and it was excellent but would also recommend this for the avid golfer who is looking for a weekend getaway. We stayed an extra day after our conference and golfed the 2 championship 18 hole golf courses on site of the hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is good. You can stay in the main resort but cottages onsite are also very nice. Very relaxing and beautiful location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweeper1dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Recently stayed at the Rodd Brudenell for business. Really liked this property, well laid out with a nice marine, beautiful manicured grounds and a few golf courses to boot. Upon arriving, I was given a voucher for a discount at the golf course for our meeting group. We golfed the Devine 9, their executive 9 hole course (as we were not all that serious about golfing) the day was excellent, great company and it was only $5.73 for the day. A great deal!

Directly adjacent to the resort is a campground which has lots of activities for the kids. In addition the resort had an indoor and outdoor pool. The resort gave you all you needed; you were isolated, but not too isolated, a great value for the money.

The rooms were clean and spacious and the service was great. Would definitely recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cap pele
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

was there in july,what a lovely place to enjoy a good golf vacation,simply the best in the maritimes..thanks again for a lovely time,we will be back..

Room Tip: first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monctonCapPele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, MA
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Hubby wanted to golf on our road trip, chose this hotel.
Stayed 2 nights. Place was pretty vacant as it was off season.

Views from room were nice. Room was ok but the flies seemed to be attracted to the balconies and came in the room every time we opened the screen - annoying.

Hotel could use some updating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargieOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
18.2 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Country Inn
Cavendish Country Inn
#7 of 8 in Cavendish
44 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Inn at Spry Point
The Inn at Spry Point
#1 of 1 in Annandale-Little Pond-Howe Bay
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Johnson Shore Inn
Johnson Shore Inn
#1 of 1 in Hermanville
141 reviews
17.3 mi away
Shady Lane B&B
Shady Lane B&B
#1 of 3 in Morell
38 reviews
16.5 mi away
Cable Head B&B & Efficiency Suites
Cable Head B&B & Efficiency Suit...
#1 of 1 in Saint Peters Bay
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Brudenell River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Brudenell River Resort

Property: Rodd Brudenell River Resort
Address: 86 Dewars Lane | PO Box 67, Georgetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Brudenell River Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Brudenell River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Brudenell River Hotel Georgetown
Rodd Brudenell River Cardigan
Rodd Brudenell River Resort Georgetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing