We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, food and food service suck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodd Brudenell River Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very poor poor food service and very poor food. Stayed here a week and this aspect did not chamge at all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 272 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

Our favourite part of our time spent at the Rodd was at the restaurant Club 19. Each time we went we had wonderful service. They catered to our 5 year old. I actually felt like I was dining in a friend's home. The Chowder was so fresh and loaded with fish. The breakfasts were hearty. Our room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, the whirlpool was out of service while we were there but my husband and daughter enjoyed the indoor pool. I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigger060900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Dirty, dirty, dirty! Hairs in the bed and bath tub, mold on the shower tiles, house flies everywhere, including smushed into the curtains in several spots, and on the window sills.
You can hear everything in the hallway, the furniture is extremely dated, down to the old tube TV.
The restaurants, bar, etc are not vegetarian/vegan friendly.
I don't even want to use the bathroom, especially the shower. it looks like something owned by a college bachelor.
This hotel has the quality of a seedy motel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TellTaleTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Rodd Brudenell River Resort as part of a bicycle tour we were doing on the east side of PEI. Because the resort had a lot of activities and food on site we also decided to take our rest day there. Big mistake.

The resort was by far the worst place we stayed on the island. When we checked in, the resort had no place we could stow our tandem bicycle, so the person at the front desk offered us a complementary upgrade to a room with a porch to keep the bike. This would have been great had the room had heat and if they didn't try to charge us for the upgrade at check-out.

When we reported the heat problem to the resort they agreed to send maintenance. Unfortunately, it required them to get outside help which didn't come until the next day. Meanwhile, the room was freezing. The guy finally came the next day and tore apart the ceiling, had junk spewed around the room, including a ladder, all day. We asked whether we should move rooms, but were assured it would only take an hour. 5 hours later we demanded another room. Calling the front desk, reception kept saying they would look into it and get right back to us. They never called us back. Finally, we went down to the front desk in person.

At first they were going to move us across the hall, until we pointed out the heat wasn't working in that room as well. Finally we got another room in another part of the hotel. They sent a bell boy down to move us. Nice touch, until it became clear that he expect a tip to move us. Certainly not the bell boy's fault, but I was feeling like I was paying to be abused. (I ended up tipping him, but was pretty annoyed.)

The new room (suite) had two broken TVs. Luckily we aren't big TV watchers on vacation and didn't want to go through the torture of calling the front desk / maintenance again. Oh, and the hair dryer was broken as well.

The rooms in general, had a very run down appearance. They were clean, but rundown. As I mentioned, they tried to charge us for the upgrade for two nights at check-out time. I had to talk to the manager explaining there was no heat. So they tried to charge for one night upgrade. I had explain about the TVs and that I was promised a complementary upgrade at check-in. Reluctantly, they took the upgrade charge off the bill. Talk about pulling teeth.

I'm only hitting the tip of the iceberg in this review, but you get the idea. DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windrider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I would definitely stay here again. The location was beautiful by the river and golf course. We loved the golf and pools. The rooms were comfortable and with a little patio with a view. The staff was friendly. Everything we needed!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moe014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We got a last minute deal for $115/night, and it was well worth it! the room was large with a patio that overlooked the river and outdoor pool. The outdoor pool is huge (and heated!), and there is also an indoor pool, sauna and hot tub. There is everything you would expect to find at a resort including a spa, several restaurants and golf course. The bed did not look that impressive at first but was surprisingly super comfortable! The location is about 45-50 minutes from Charlottetown and about 30 min from the ferry. The Sunday brunch is absolutely fantastic (although I believe it only runs in the summer). We wanted to go to a lobster supper and Cardigan Lobster Suppers was what was recommended. It was very close by but the food was BAD and expensive! Don't go there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistyNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff were really nice and the room was spacious. We also managed to get a great rate ($99/night on a summer weekend - thanks Travelzoo). They allow dogs, so that was a bonus. There was a lot of space for our dog to run and there are some hikes nearby. The only down side was that you are charged $10/night for the dog, which we went in knowing. However paying tax on that charge I thought was a little much since it's neither a good or service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snout117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
18.2 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
15.6 mi away
The Inn at St. Peters
The Inn at St. Peters
#1 of 1 in Saint Peters Bay
293 reviews
3 mi away
Georgetown Historic Inn
Georgetown Historic Inn
#1 of 1 in Georgetown
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Brudenell River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Brudenell River Resort

Address: 86 Dewars Lane | PO Box 67, Georgetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range: $98 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Brudenell River Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodd Brudenell River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Brudenell River Hotel Georgetown
Rodd Brudenell River Cardigan
Rodd Brudenell River Resort Georgetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing