We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage
Rear of cottage Main Floor Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Front of cottage
Rear of cottage
Main Floor Living Room
Fully equipped kitchen.
Main floor bathroom.
Bedroom - double bed
Bedroom - Queen bed
Bedroom - Queen Bed
Master Bedroom 1/2 Bath
Lower Level family room.
Lower Level Shower
Beach
Sunset at Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cj0hns0n5...
Chatham, Canada
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

WE booked this cottage for thanksgiving weekend...the next day the owner cancelled our booking because he said he couldn't have 7 adults in for a weekend. Not happy campers. The majority of us are mature adults along with their grown children...which was never asked anyway.The cottage is big enough for 7 adults considering it has 4 bedrooms and three bathrooms and I do not recall seeing anything stating that it would not consider just adults. All in all I would not book with this cottage if you are considering an adult get away.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
The cottage was booked for 2 adults! After accepting the booking I was informed there would be 7 adults staying. Not exactly as expected.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roam64043...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“June stay 2017”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Hello

Our stay at your place was good and the beach waa close. However , there were things we noticed that were not clean . The bbq was not clean , the mop needs to changed, dusty, empty Kleenex boxes were left under the sink. Just a few details we noticed . As well, the keys that were left to open to the door did not work . We used the key pad all the time.
The basement was very cold, so we did not use the bedroom downstairs .

We did our best to clean the place as it was given to us.

Regards and thank you ,

Amanda

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
Amanda, thank you for your feedback. I agree the cottage was not up to the standard I would like. I have very little time between renters leaving and new ones coming so we depend on renters to leave the cottage as close to the condition as they received it as possible. Unfortunately the renters before you did not adhere to our guidelines. In the short time I had, I had to clean all bathrooms, clean all countertops, wipe down fridge, dispose of garbage and more. Obviously I didn't get to everything as I had an appointment in London I had to get to. As for the basement temperature, we normally do not have to worry about this in the summer, but there is a thermostat that controls the basement temperature located behind he door to the family room. I should have mentioned this to you in your welcome letter. Because you left the cottage in such good shape (much better than you received it) I would like to make good on your stay. If you and your family choose to stay in Grand Bend next year I would like to offer you and your family $200 of our regular rate, or if you would prefer, a free weekend of your choice between Sept 15 2017 and June 15 2018. Whether you can accept this offer or not, I do appreciate the feedback and thanks again for taking such good care of our cottage.
Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme Y
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Close to the beach, very clean and good quality furniture. Other than food there was essentially everything you could need at the cottage, including firewood, propane, kindling, dishes, pots, pans, utensils etc..

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2017
Thanks Graeme. I'm glad you and your guests enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharltonS...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved this house! Very homey/comfortable. It had everything one would need. Awesome area with a quick walk to the beach. The private beach was better than the big beach in Grand Bend. The only downside was that the downstairs area had a moldy smell, however, we had plenty of room and only used the upstairs. Great vacation.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Sandra, thank you for the kind review of our cottage. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. As for the moldy smell in the basement, we have been trying to determine the source and feel we have identified the lower level shower as the cause. We hope to have this resolved by next summer. Thanks again for taking the time and sharing your experience.
Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Extraordi...
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Five adults and two teenagers settled in very quickly into this home away from home. Wish we could have stayed longer. Lots of space to spread out and enjoy. Very well equipped. There are a lot of stairs down to the beach area so a little tricky for young children and their things.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. Much more importantly, thank you so much for taking such good care of our cottage and being such wonderful guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadiang...
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy Grand Bend!”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage in Aug 2016 with a group that included several adults and their children. There was lots of room for us all, with the cottage having four well-appointed bedrooms. Note that one bedroom (with a double and single) is in the basement, and the rest on the main floor. Lots and lots of storage space throughout the house, and all the amenities needed. Even had use of laundry, which was helpful with four sandy kids. The cottage got hot during the heat wave, as there is no a/c, but all the rooms have overhead fans, plus several other stand alone fans, which helped for sleeping. The main floor bathroom has a massive walk-in shower, so while there is no bathtub, it was easy to rinse off the kids. Great backyard and very very short walk to a children's playground. Also a short walk to the deeded beach (Sun Beach), which was an amazing alternative to the main strip. If you want to walk to the main strip, it took us about 1/2 hour (or less) and was a nice walk. You really do just need to bring towels and sheets - the cottage had everything else! Note that there is no wifi but there is TV with several channels and DVD player(s) and a Wii. Overall, we really enjoyed our time and loved being in Southcott Pines.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: No a/c
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Thank you so much for your positive review of your stay at our cottage. I am very happy to see that you and your guests enjoyed your stay. I must also mention how appreciative we are of the great care you took in caring for our cottage. Your group would definitely classify as preferred guests. Thank again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABCarruth...
1 review
“Great family cottage”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at this cottage. The interior was nice, especially the updated kitchen and main bathroom. The backyard was spacious and secluded and surrounded by trees. We also loved sitting out on the covered front porch. The beach was a 10 minute walk or a 2 minute drive. The only cons would be that there was no air conditioning and we happen to be there on one of the hottest days of the year. The beach was a bit of a trek for small kids under the age of 5. Overall we loved this cottage and would recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Thank you for your kind review of our cottage. I am happy you and your family enjoyed your stay and also am extremely grateful for the care you took of our home. We have considered adding air conditioning to the cottage but this would add to the operational cost which we would have to pass on to renters. It would be helpful to know whether you would be willing to pay extra to have AC included.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing