We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but be careful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Bend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinery Provincial Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went here a year ago with 5 friends. Had a good time.

We liked the beach, it was nice. Nothing like Grand Bend obviously, but it is nice to see a natural beach. I liked our site, if I were you though, I would book a site on the outside of the circles. The sites are sometimes around a circular road of sorts, the ones inside the circle seem to have less privacy than the ones on the other side of the road.

*Be careful*
The rent-a-cop camp security seem to always have a hand on their fine books, so look out for them. I walked acrossed the street to a buddies campsite with an open beer, and they came running from a mile away ha. An even better store, my co-workers 80 year old parents nearly got a ticket for having a glass of wine during dinner over the long weekend, I found that funny.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CambridgeKyle_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Pinery Provincial Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 208 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Been going to the Pinery since 2006, religiously every summer. Amazing park, amazing beach, amazing sunsets. Fantastic thunderstorms when they roll in off of Lake Huron. Even those do not destroy my love for camping at the Pinery. Burley sites are my favourite. Always stay in Burley. They are the closest to the beach, meaning less of a hike to get there. Never have we had a bad experience. Book sites 6 months in advance or you will never get the ones you want. Summer is super busy. Leaving on Sunday can be a bit of a drag. It usually takes an hour from the time you leave the gates and head into town on hwy. 21. (normal time is approx. 15 mins). Some areas have brand new showers. Too many good things to say. Go an you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Burley sites are close to the beaches. Less of a walk.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Have been here many times over the years living less than an hour from it.

An expansive park with all the amenities of a Provincial Park. A great bike trail (but long) is featured withinn plus many hiking trails all under 5 km. The sandy beach is spectacular in length and quality and is quite popular in the summer.

The campsites are plentiful but book up quickly in the peak months. Visitor centre has undergone a reno in the last year.

If you go for either a day or longer, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Coondog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Returned from 10 days of camping in a travel trailer at Pinery. If your camping, the quality of your campsite has a huge impact on your trip. The parks best feature is the miles of sandy beaches surrounded by dunes. The water is clean, shallow with lots of sand bars and enough waves to entertain if not frighten the children at times. Since the best feature is the beach being close to the beach is great. The Dunes campground is the place to stay. If your in a large trailer there's only about 30 sites with power to choose from. They all book up months in advance. We stayed in the Riverside campground which then requires either a car ride of about 15 minutes on the ridiculous ring roads leading into and out of the campgrounds, or about a 10 minute bike ride thru some serious hills. We lucked out with a campsite in Area 4 that was huge and surrounded by forest on 2 sides, but still close to the washrooms (but not too close) The quality of the campsites varies hugely from our spacious site, to tiny pull thru sites in Area 1. It's a real crap shoot without seeing the sites first. The park had a number of programs for the kids, all of them were excellent. The park store has a ton of stuff in there, the prices were high but not outrageous. Firewood can be bought outside the park for a fraction of the cost in the park, but make sure it is dry. (buyer beware) All in all a great experience, although the lengthy ring roads and the need to stay off the dunes doesn't make it as fun as it was when I was a kid.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank eyeswideshut699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoy this park so much that we have been coming here every summer for the last 10 years. This beautiful park has plenty of beaches on Lake Huron (including one for dogs), which are wonderful for swimming. The water close to shore is shallow for awhile, good for small kids with supervision and the sand is lovely and plentiful for sandcastles or for those who just want to sunbathe.

In the summer, there are also daily, organized activities at the park that the family can enjoy (get a current listing when you pay & get your car pass). There are also bike and canoe rentals. Don't forget to try the many hiking trails.

If you forget sunscreen or want an ice cream, there is also a small store.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Kai-HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Reccomend this park to anyone who tents, trailers, or loves a great beach! Trails are excellent. Bathrooms/showers are immaculate! Beach and water amazing! Perfect for individual families and groups. Cannot wait to go back. So much to do. You can fish on the little river, hike, ride bikes, swim, and of course relax. I cannot say enough great things about this bedutiful huge park. Just watch out for poison ivy!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank survived5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent a weekend in Burley area in August. The park is very big, so be prepared to drive or bike to the store or even the beach (depending where your campsite is). We got lucky with our campsite as it was private and surrounded by trees, some of the other sites we've seen are open and very close to one another.
The beach is beautiful! Clear, blue water and fine, white sand. The beach was busy but you could easily find a spot even in the afternoon. We did see a few groups openly drinking beer on the beach which was a bit disappointing, but we did not bother reporting them because they did not make any noise or behave inappropriately.
Washrooms were clean, staff friendly. LCBO, Shoppers and supermarkets are a short drive from the park.
We had an enjoyable stay, will definatelly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank From207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
11.0 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
71 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
84 reviews
3.4 mi away
Oakwood Resort
Oakwood Resort
#3 of 4 in Grand Bend
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Grand Bend
81 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#7 of 8 in Grand Bend
30 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Grand Bend
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinery Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinery Provincial Park

Address: RR 2, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Grand Bend
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Pinery Provincial Park Hotel Grand Bend
Pinery Provincial Park Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing