We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Park, Great Beaches”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Bend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinery Provincial Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Returned from 10 days of camping in a travel trailer at Pinery. If your camping, the quality of your campsite has a huge impact on your trip. The parks best feature is the miles of sandy beaches surrounded by dunes. The water is clean, shallow with lots of sand bars and enough waves to entertain if not frighten the children at times. Since the best feature is the beach being close to the beach is great. The Dunes campground is the place to stay. If your in a large trailer there's only about 30 sites with power to choose from. They all book up months in advance. We stayed in the Riverside campground which then requires either a car ride of about 15 minutes on the ridiculous ring roads leading into and out of the campgrounds, or about a 10 minute bike ride thru some serious hills. We lucked out with a campsite in Area 4 that was huge and surrounded by forest on 2 sides, but still close to the washrooms (but not too close) The quality of the campsites varies hugely from our spacious site, to tiny pull thru sites in Area 1. It's a real crap shoot without seeing the sites first. The park had a number of programs for the kids, all of them were excellent. The park store has a ton of stuff in there, the prices were high but not outrageous. Firewood can be bought outside the park for a fraction of the cost in the park, but make sure it is dry. (buyer beware) All in all a great experience, although the lengthy ring roads and the need to stay off the dunes doesn't make it as fun as it was when I was a kid.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank eyeswideshut699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 209 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoy this park so much that we have been coming here every summer for the last 10 years. This beautiful park has plenty of beaches on Lake Huron (including one for dogs), which are wonderful for swimming. The water close to shore is shallow for awhile, good for small kids with supervision and the sand is lovely and plentiful for sandcastles or for those who just want to sunbathe.

In the summer, there are also daily, organized activities at the park that the family can enjoy (get a current listing when you pay & get your car pass). There are also bike and canoe rentals. Don't forget to try the many hiking trails.

If you forget sunscreen or want an ice cream, there is also a small store.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Kai-HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Reccomend this park to anyone who tents, trailers, or loves a great beach! Trails are excellent. Bathrooms/showers are immaculate! Beach and water amazing! Perfect for individual families and groups. Cannot wait to go back. So much to do. You can fish on the little river, hike, ride bikes, swim, and of course relax. I cannot say enough great things about this bedutiful huge park. Just watch out for poison ivy!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank survived5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent a weekend in Burley area in August. The park is very big, so be prepared to drive or bike to the store or even the beach (depending where your campsite is). We got lucky with our campsite as it was private and surrounded by trees, some of the other sites we've seen are open and very close to one another.
The beach is beautiful! Clear, blue water and fine, white sand. The beach was busy but you could easily find a spot even in the afternoon. We did see a few groups openly drinking beer on the beach which was a bit disappointing, but we did not bother reporting them because they did not make any noise or behave inappropriately.
Washrooms were clean, staff friendly. LCBO, Shoppers and supermarkets are a short drive from the park.
We had an enjoyable stay, will definatelly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank From207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I have been going here for the past 6 years, and he has been camping here since his childhood (over 20 years ago). We love it here. Typically we stay in the Dunes area, however this summer we spent a weekend in the Riverside 4 area (#811).

I'm almost hesitant to write this review mainly because it is already a popular place to camp, and for it to get any busier and lose it's charm would be a shame.

But, it also deserves recognition. There is so much to do here (if you want to) or you can simply relax on your site and do whatever you want. Over the years, we've rented bikes, rented canoe on the river or simply relaxed on what we believe is the best beach in Ontario.

The comfort stations (flush toilets, showers) are the cleanest that I've been to in comparison to other campground (both private and provincial), they have recycling and garbage facilities, and water taps throughout the grounds. At the end of the day, they do their part in providing the facilities, it's up to the campers to respect their surroundings.

Another great thing about the Pinery, for those staying for longer times, if you need a change of scenery, Grand Bend is just a quick drive.

Over the years, we've never had an issue with the quality of the sites and will continue to go here for a long time. We had a couple friends join us and they haven't been camping before and thought it was an amazing area.

Room Tip: Due to the popularity and repeat visitors, it's wise to book your site very early in the year (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank butterf1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent 3 night's here with our kid's.
It was our first official camping trip on our own.
We were located in the dunes area. It was a great location and the kid's had a great time playing in the dunes and on the beach.
The bathrooms were cleaned 3 times a day at least which was great as they were clean.
The only issue i found was that if you are looking for a small place this is not it, in order to get around to the park store or visitors center you have to drive or bring a bike.
We also spent the morning canoeing with the kid's which was a lot of fun and not very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KNGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Pinery in Dunes 1 area August 9th - 13th. Fabulous site beside boardwalk access to beach and close to comfort stations.

Disappointed we only found out about the poison ivy due to the fact that it was raining and we decided to drop in on the Visitor's Center. Campers need to be told about this at the GATE.

Also, preservation of the dunes is apparently a priority, but there is not enough posting on campgrounds to prevent people from taking 'herd' paths or man made paths to the dunes. If it is really a priorty, once again, gate keeper should be telling campers to only access the beach by official marked paths.

Plenty of policing taking place on beach and camp grounds, which makes for a safer feeling.

MUCH less rowdier crowds than Sauble Beach and MUCH larger camp sites to give you privacy.

We will book early again for next year :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADK_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
11.0 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
71 reviews
3.4 mi away
Oakwood Resort
Oakwood Resort
#2 of 4 in Grand Bend
460 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Grand Bend
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Grand Bend
16 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#7 of 8 in Grand Bend
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinery Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinery Provincial Park

Address: Rr 2, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Grand Bend
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Pinery Provincial Park Hotel Grand Bend
Pinery Provincial Park Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing