We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved but still needs help”
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
burlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Improved but still needs help”
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We were back at the Oakwood and I'm happy to say the rooms are much better than they used to be. But some things still bother me, like the hangers that are theft-proof and very awkward to manage. The pillows are not very nice either, but overall, it's a huge improvement from last time we were there.
The only really bad thing I can say is about their Clubhouse. It's a beautiful space and it would be great if they had decent wait staff (actually they have horrendous service) and an organized kitchen. You do not get your order under 60' wait. It's too bad, because the food is okay, but having to deal with bad waitresses and the long wait, it is quite annoying.
Mr. Scatcherd, please do something about this!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabydiesonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    140
    79
    53
    18
See reviews for
148
125
4
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

we enjoyed our stay, esp. the beach, rooms are nice inside but the buildings need some improvement, we stayed in the standard rooms, inside were perfect except for the hangers it's full of dust , and outside needs a little cleaning esp. the benches and chairs front porch and back balcony, same with the building that houses the pool, needs some improvement too, also the hot tub at the back of the pool needs cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrspjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

staff is arrogant - not even a thank you upon checkout....
accomodations are OK but NOT for $200+ for this kind of money in the city you get a palace and friendly service!!!
gulf balls flying about everywhere... and overgrown boys (40+) zooming around on the golf mobiles like there is no one around...
kids screamng next door -
Food is too expensive and NOT that good
i guess when you have a monopoly - people dont count....
ended up staying in a motel on the other side of the peir - lovely, clean, highly recommneded - http://www.pinedale.on.ca/Rooms_Rates.html

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TO_Karina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan in hensall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

How to describe the experience my friend and I just had at the Oakwood Inn's 19th Hole pub? How would you rate a place where the waiter sits at your table with you, uninvited, while taking your order? How about singing to you upon delivering your appetizer? ("Here it is, for my Garlic Bread Girls!") There's friendly and then there's strange. Sorry, but based on our experience -- even though we both have a good sense of humour -- this guy crossed the line. Not planning to head to the 19th Hole any time soon… Admittedly, they do have other staff there, but we weren't lucky enough to get either of the other two wait staff who neither sang to their customers nor sat with them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirius29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Just spent a weekend here with my boyfriend, it was our first getaway together and it was great! We booked a package deal that included 2 nights in a deluxe room, golf and breakfast for only $238! Our room was very nice, it overlooked the golf course from a private balcony, there was a very comfortable king sized bed with a sitting area and fireplace. The golf course was very nice and picturesque, a par 70. The staff were all very friendly and there was a nice beach only a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisadem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We booked for the last night of the 'low' season and got the bed and breakfast deal, which was great. We hadn't known what to expect as prices along Lake Huron were high in most places I was looking at, and this one seemed very reasonable.

The place was lovely, the staff very friendly and welcoming. The view from the patio where we ate lunch over the golf course that day was fantastic. It felt like we were staying at a cottage, yet the king size bed was made up with great linen and bedding. We were only minutes from walking to the beach, the pool was lovely, we strolled around the place a little in the evening, and the buildings themselves were made to appear quite rustic but were actually very well maintained and updated.

We wanted to stay another night however it was raining so we decided to head home. We are planning on going back again when low season returns, as the prices for the mid and high season are a little bit too high I think.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaRamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

This place has a great website & snappy brochures, but it is over-priced and in much need of repair . Not a resort by any stretch of the imagination.
We stayed in a "Long House" room which had been" totally" renovated.
That meant - spraying taupe paint over old masonite paneling, even spraying it onto the hangars which were hooked onto the rod in the "closet". Ceiling was sprayed white over the old one which I wondered if it was the old asbestos stuff. The bathroom did have new flooring and fixtures, but they kept the ancient vanity base from 1952 and sprayed it and the walls olive green. The mattress was new, the towels were fine, sheets were cheap, and other furnishings- desk & office chair - were new . There were cobwebs everywhere - inside and out. A/C was was a window unit in the wall. A small old & dirty refrigerator was in the 'closet". The windows were dirty - outside the paint was peeling, exterior "patio" furnishings were mis-matched , rusty and old. Iron work was rusting, bent and full of cobwebs.

The staff was sullen when we checked in - they could have cared less. As I had read other reviews that indicated they offered Travel Zoo and AAA discounts, I asked for one of those rates when I made our reservation, but was told they were almost full, so we paid the rack rate of $173++. There were at least 10 vacant rooms in our section alone. The place was far from "almost full". The exterior of the other buldings ( 'lodges") looked worse than ours!

What a rip off!! Maybe the golf is good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gww3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
17.9 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Grand Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#4 of 8 in Grand Bend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
6.5 mi away
Brentwood on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Property: Oakwood Resort
Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing