We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Weekend”
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Weekend”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the Oakwood this past week and we had an amazing time. Beautiful fall weather and great food were on the menu. We played golf all day and the service was excellent. There was no bar cart but we were expecting this because it was off season. Our room was nice but it could have been a little more updated. Only a few minutes walk down the beach aswell which was great ! Dave's Clubhouse was absolutely beautiful with all of its memorabilia hanging on the walls. We were provided with excellent service both times we went there to eat. Our server reminded us of Ashton Kutcher so we had to let him know, we don't remember his name but he was awesome. The food was delicious ! The grounds are well maintained and it was a pretty unique experience playing a round on a golf course without any sandtraps ! Thanks again Oakwood can't wait to see you next year !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Oakwood Resort. We appreciate the feedback you provided especially since you took advantage of so many of the great things we have to do here at Oakwood.

Regarding guest rooms we do have plans in place to do a refresh on the guestrooms so when you come back next year I am positive you will be pleased with the improvements we have done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    149
    84
    52
    22
See reviews for
163
133
4
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I am not sure where all of the negative reviews are coming from. We've stayed at Oakwood several times over the last few years, most recently this summer. Our room was extremely clean & the bed/pillows incredibly comfortable - we almost didn't want to get out of bed. We ate at Dave's Clubhouse for several of our meals & the food was delicious; staff very courteous and helpful. We cannot wait to go back as each and every stay has always exceeded our expectations. In addition, we enjoyed a massage at the Lakeside Spa which was exceptional & I would highly recommended for anyone looking to get away & relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie-a-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood and to tell us about the great experiences you have had over the years. We look forward to continuing to exceed your expectations and to see you back at the Resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Have held 3 conferences here in the past year. It is possibly the friendliest, most accommodating venue that we have used. The food was incredible, the service second to none. We will be going back....again and again :-) We had 80 rooms, conference room for 160 and all the meals without a single problem or complaint. We had to change several things at the last minute and it was all managed by "John" who was only too pleased to accommodate and help out. I recommend Oakwood Resort in Grand Bend for family, business and of course for fun. The golf course was also in very good condition! Thanks Oakwood, see you next month.

Room Tip: We used every type of room they had.........they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty08st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and your great feedback! We look forward to hosting your group again. We will also make sure that your review is passed on to the other departments and managers so they can be properly recognized for the great job they are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at the Oakwood resort twice this year once on business and the other was a weekend away with three other couples. I can honestly say this is a hidden gem. I have been at many conferences throughout North America in the last couple years and this ranks at the top for location and great surroundings. Myself and my couligues had full days of meetings and then enjoyed a round of golf and dinner in the pub each night. I would offer a special thanks to Mr David Bartlem who booked and oversaw our three day conference and made sure everything was TOP NOTCH. I returned to Oakwood a few weeks back with my wife and some of our friends and the guys golfed and the ladies went to the spa, again TOP NOTCH.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Oakwood! We are glad that you enjoyed both your business and leisure stay with us and we look forward to having you back as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our family of four had a great two night stay at the Oakwood in August 2013. Check in was easy, our deluxe room very comfortable for the four of us. Clean, had everything we needed. Super comfortable beds, nice in-room coffee. The breakfast buffet (which we paid an additional $10 per person as part of our room package) was average. Our dinner at the golf club was also just average - the service was horrendous - maybe they were just having a bad night, as they seemed very busy, but really too slow and too unfriendly. The view over the greens was nice though. The games room was not really geared for kids. A ping pong table, that's it. Otherwise just seemed to be poker and darts. The hot tub and swimming area were very convenient...but really seemed to need cleaning. I kind of got the feeling that there wasn't much of that going on in the pool complex area, which was a little disappointing - when we were there it was too cold to swim in the lake, so we spent lots of time in the pool and it wasn't great. We did have a great time on the tennis courts, located just up the road.

I realize this review seems a little negative, but overall it was actually a really nice getaway, and we would probably stay there again! We had a lot of fun in Grand Bend. The beach was lovely, nice that they have a sort of private section at the resort, it looks like a nice walk along the beach to the main strip (when the kids are bigger will attempt this). We also went over to Pinery Provincial Park, which was also lovely. I would say that if you want to go and experience this area, Oakwood is a great choice!

(btw...our best meal of the trip was at a Japanese restaurant at the top of the main strip...awesome sushi in Grand Bend, go figure!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyCJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments regarding your recent stay at Oakwood Resort, we are pleased that overall you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sharing your comments with the owners and managers regarding the service you received for dinner as this is not our normal standard and we will address this with staff to ensure that this does not happen again.

Your feedback regarding the games room is also beneficial as we have been recently discussing how to make this a more family friendly area. We appreciate the comments as we are always striving to improve the Oakwood experience for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Very good quality definitely stay here if you're in grand bend.


Kind of French looking resort beautiful at night.


Pool was nice. Close to the water too


The rooms were alright would have liked a bit better for the price.


Nice golf course.


Great food as well very very good go even if you're not staying.

All in all very nice resort would stay there everyday if I could.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bstudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Oakwood. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we also appreciate the feedback on the guestrooms. As with any resort or hotel regular refreshes of rooms is essential and we are planning on addressing this in the near future.

We do look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Oakwood is a sprawling golf resort with beautiful grounds and flower beds - impressive drive-up to the Main Lodge ( registration and check in). It has the rarest of assets which is semi "private" access to a lovely stretch of sandy beach on Lake Huron. The beach is less than 10 min if strolling leisurely and the path is a straight one. While it is not "secluded" it is way less crowded than the public beach at Grand Bend. We were able to walk at least 20-30 feet out into the lake and not even be knee deep - the water is crystal clear and you are walking on pillowy sand - no rocks at all. We came back here later after dark to admire the dazzling display of stars on the night sky...... Our rooms ( we travelled with friends) were on the upper level of the Main Lodge. The rooms alternate between "King" and "two Queen" bed rooms. Both rooms were of the "Deluxe" standard but the King room was definitely better. It had a sofa sitting area and was just brighter and better laid out. The rooms on the upper level have nice sit-down patio balconies with arm chairs and a table. Our rooms were spacious and overlooked the golf course. Everything in our room was in working order with the Air conditioning being very effective. There is also an electric fireplace in the room along with a TV and a bar fridge which was not very cold. Our room was right next to the beautiful patio deck off the main restaurant - this made for a bit of a noisy night as the space was reserved for a large wedding group. Our bathroom was spotless - but definitely cheaply renovated if this was a renovated bathroom - and my one grievance over all with the "Deluxe" rooms would be with the somewhat "basic" Pantene brand toiletries offered; very tiny ( we had to ask for 3 more of each !) and the soaps were wafer thin. I think a resort of this standard should have a slightly more luxurious brand (definitely for the "deluxe" rooms) and some shower gel in addition to bar soap. I really appreciated the generous supply of towels, including pool towels even though those were quite worn out.
Oakwood is a "lodge" type resort clad in wood and has cathedral ceilings in many locations - including where we had dinner on the day of arrival and breakfast the following morning. We took the meal package deal and that is what made this stay a tremendous value. The dinner buffet was excellent with generous salads and cold meats including smoked and poached salmon. The hot buffet included awesome prime rib, bbq ribs, grilled chicken, pork chops and salmon. Pastas and vegetables for a vegetarian option. Desserts included several cheese cakes, fresh fruit and fruit salad as well as a full smores bar. Breakfast was 'honest' if somewhat run-of-the-mill with the usual scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon and home fries. Everything was fresh and well cooked and not greasy. Baked goods were not memorable with everything clearly being store bought. We left Oakwood after one last visit to the lovely beach and we all agreed we would be back probably renting the cottage option on site with two adjoining units ( executive cottage 50 A and B).

Room Tip: Choose a room at the far end of the hall ( room 118 was awesome) - avoid the rooms right next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and your comments on your stay at Oakwood Inn. We appreciate the great feedback you have provided and appreciate all the great things you had to say about the Resort.

We will be sharing your review with owners and managers as well as the various departments involved in the items you touched on so they can be aware of where we are doing well and where we may require some improvement.

We would certainly enjoy having you back to the resort and looking forward to hosting you and your friends again shortly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
7.6 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
68 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Bend
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#7 of 8 in Grand Bend
29 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Grand Bend
14 reviews
6.5 mi away
Brentwood on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Property: Oakwood Resort
Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing