We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in long house.”
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
London, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stayed in long house.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The resort is divided up into several sections. Each one is a step up from the other. We stayed over night in the section called long house. This is a motel motor inn type/style accomadation. We parked in front of the room, so easy in and out. The room is a little outdated and needs to be renovated. Bed was comfy, clean, heating worked fine, patio in front and back of room. Overall not bad, a little pricey but its Grand Bend and not a lot of choice in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyeslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    149
    84
    52
    22
See reviews for
163
133
4
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a short fall road trip to Michigan, and on our return we drove through Port Huron/Sarnia and headed to the Oakwood Resort in Grand Bend for the final weekend. I really love the Oakwood Resort - it's like a resort in Muskoka, except it's on Lake Huron. It's a grand old Inn, with several buildings, all with different style accommodate - some in the main building, some 'motel style', etc. The motel style room we were in had a high vaulted ceiling with old timbers criss-crossing the ceiling - it looked great, was cozy with a corner electric fireplace that really warmed up the room, and the room was quiet and very spacious. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was also very spacious - plenty of room. With our group of friends, we could park right outside our rooms, and sit in muskoka chairs and chat and catch up on the news in the outdoors under great big fir trees. It was so pretty, a very relaxing atmosphere, and great for a group. We were there after Canadian Thanksgiving, and only the pub was open for dinner, but it was great. The menu selection was good, and everyone in the group found something they liked. The waiter was happy to split the bill amoung all the varied couples & family groupings, even though it was quite complex - thanks for making your guests life easy! They have a golf course onsite - OK, it's not wonderful, but it fits the resort style... just relaxed, having fun, nothing fancy, and real easy to fun with a group who all have varied golf skills. I love the Oakwood Resort!

Room Tip: There are lots of different types of rooms - make sure when you book you ask about all the options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VNKSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Back for a second time in July of 2012 my girlfriend and I decided to take the golf package which included golf , cart, and a dinner. Last time we went to Grand bend for dinner this time we had supper the first night at the clubhouse style casual restaurant in Oakwood , which was very good. Great service, a good menu and a real pleasant casual dining experience . The next night we had dinner at the dining room, that night it was an Italian buffett. Not especially impressed, just didn't feel there was anything special about it. I recalled that the previous year they had a number of choices from the a la carte menu that you could pick from this time we were stuck with a themed buffett. No way would this have been worth it if we didn't have he golf package as it was close to 30 $ for a pasta, chicken and sausage dinner if you didn't have the package. But overall the experience was still good, we are not experienced golfers so we choose a later tee time and did not have anyone pushing us so that made for a relaxed round of golf.
Everything else was good, excellent rooms and access to the beach is handy and easy.
Definitely intend to return, but will avoid any package that requires the dinner and golf
package as the buffett was nothing special, better to stay with the clubhouse dining and head out for supper if staying 2 nights.

Room Tip: Oak Lodge is excellent, awesome rooms, 2nd floor at rear is quiet and great to relax at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boomernotawhiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at this resort recently with friends. I have nothing but good reviews. We booked the standard room and it was more than I expected. Two Queen beds, extra seating, separate walk in closet, and a huge bathroom with lots of counter space. The rooms appear to be recently updated, so everything was in excellent condition. The location is spectacular, nestled among beautiful trees, but still within walking distance to the enormous beach. I could have stayed there for another week. The staff was very helpful and prompt with their service. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to book the Standard Rooms...they are cheaper and still in a great location on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

While Grand Bend isn't much to get excited about, the Oakwood Resort on the outskirts is quite lovely. It is an easy walk to town along the beach or by road and provides guests with a variety of amenities. The onsite food was pretty good and there are a number of other restaurants to choose from in the area. The highlight is the beach which is considered private and therefore was not too crowded (unlike the part further down by the downtown core).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tally_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We recently spent three nights (August 17-19) as part of a large gathering of family and friends with a total booking of nearly 13 rooms. Though our booking requests were made late in the season and considering that this is an event resort, the sales co-ordinator did a commendable job in accomodating everyones requests. As with every large booking there were a few hiccups which were very graciously resolved to everyones satisfaction. We loved the ambience of the resort and particularly its private beach. The room and breakfast service was excellent. For example, at the longhouse there is no ice machine but a request to the front desk for ice resulted in a bag of ice delivered in less than 2 minutes, faster than i could have got from the ice machine if I had stayed at one of the lodges. The food and the live entertainment at Dave's Pub made for a great Saturday night reunion dinner. Most of us would definitely be returning next year to this "gem" of Ontario resorts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the Oakwood Resort and I was very disappointed.The property is beautiful and the beach probably one of the best in Ontario.
However the hotel is shabby and rundown and over priced for what we got.
The dining room was dirty and the food far from pleasent. We were there on Italian night for the buffet and breakfast the next morning.The butter both at breakfast and dinner was served in a large metal mixing bowl with everyone helping themselves. The tables are wood with no place mats or table cloths and they were very sticky.
I found it inferior to even a three star in Cuba and much more expensive.
If Ontario wants tourists to vacation at home it has to go a long way to improve the hotels.
Go for the beach but you are throwing your money away if you stay at this resort.






and their restaurants

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaJ7406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
7.6 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
67 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Bend
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#7 of 8 in Grand Bend
29 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Grand Bend
14 reviews
6.5 mi away
Brentwood on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Property: Oakwood Resort
Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing