We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property but lacks service”
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family and I recently enjoyed a weekend-long family reunion at Oakwood Resort. As much as we enjoyed the premises and the facilities uncluding the very impressive private beach, the service has much to be desired. I have been to many luxury hotels all over the world so I know a thing or two about tourism and hospitality. We had a few incidents over the weekend which left a not so satisfied taste in our mouths. Our first issue was that even though we booked 13 rooms, some standard but mostly deluxe, we were unable to get a group discount due to the fact that it is apparently high season (even though we did not book for a long weekend) and they are always fully booked, so in other words, they didn't need our business. Our second issue was that the resort made an error in their reservation with regard to 3 of the 13 rooms. Upon check in, they promptly advised the guests who booked those 3 rooms that there were no standard rooms available and that they would be given deluxe rooms and charged accordingly. It took a lot of going back and forth on the guests part (based on the manager's convenience) to finally agree to correct their mistake. The third issue had to do with toothpaste. Upon arrival there, my husband and I realized that we had forgotten out toothpaste and rather than drive into town just for toothpaste, we asked the front desk whether they have any. They provided us with a travel size toothpaste for $1.25. That would have been acceptable had that been in a motel rather than a golf and spa resort. It was not the $1.25 that bothered me but more so the principle. The fact that I paid $200 for a room with no group discount and then charged for a tiny tube of toothpaste was what got under my skin. We are planning our next year's family reunion and with there being so many resorts in Ontario, that with service like that, I will likely not be returning to Oakwood unless we are able to get a group discount the next time around and it's not for the resort but for the beach.

Room Tip: I would recommend a view of the golf course. We stayed at the Oak Lodge and had a great view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simone F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 462 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were nearing the end of a long road trip exploring Lakes Superior and Huron when we started for home. We picked an area that would put us in good position for the last big push to Chicago.... My wife found the Oakwood Resort on Google and decided to give it a try... A good choice!

We got a double queen in the Pine Lodge, which also housed the indoor pool and hot tubs for the resort... Room was about $200/night---a little expensive for us, but we decided to splurge for our last night! Our room was spacious and included a fridge, which is important to us, tho it was a fridge only, no inner freezer.... It had a large flat screen TV and every room had a lanai. The view was nothing special as it looked out onto the parking lot, but there were many trees at eye level... The lodge common area and room decor were rustic-looking. Access to the beach was an easy 5 minute walk and then an easy stroll to the main public beach in Grand Bend.... The beach was of high quality---very similar to the beaches you would find in western Michigan.... Overall, the grounds were nice. Can't comment on the golf course as we don't golf....

Since we got in late, the main dining room was closed, so we decided to eat at the pub.... It was decent food and had a great atmosphere---live band playing oldies... Even our young kids liked it. The breakfast buffet was definitely above average with a lot of selections.

Originally, we planned to stay only one night, then drive home... But, while we were getting ready to move out Sunday morning, we got a note under our door informing us our room wasn't reserved for that night and they were offering the room for $95... It didn't take long for us to decide to stay an extra day. So, our stay averaged about $150 CAD/nite, which wasn't bad compared to other places we stayed on our trip.

I do have a few complaint worth mentioning.... For the price, i think breakfast should have been included. Also, the room air conditioner was under powered for the size of the room... It was moderately warm--70's-80's, yet the room took a long time to cool down... I'd hate to think what it would be like if it were in the 90's! The room did have a ceiling fan, which helped... In the same vein, the halls and common areas did not seem to be air conditioned, so it was pretty hot in the hallways, even at night... And finally, there were orb weaver spiders everywhere... I understand the resort is out in the country and near the water, so you're gonna get them, but i gotta say, if you have arachnophobia, you might wanna re-think staying here..... The rooms were clean, however!

Overall, we thought this was a great resort and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't know about the other lodges, but the Pine Lodge was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrangeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

On our way to our camping vacation we slept here for the night.
We were checked in imediatly and were told how to get to our room.
The room was in the "longhouse" right across from a small park and the fire pit's which was great for us with 2 kid's.
It was an easy walk from the hotel to the beach which was very nice .
We also had breakfast at the dinning room in the morning it was buffet style with a good selection. Service was very good as well.
I found the hotel or resort to be a bit over priced but it was great for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

After doing our usual checking and cross checking we (my wife and I) decided on Oakwood. Three nights with one of the nights was with the meal (breakfast and dinner) package, arriving Monday leaving Thursday.

The Front desk clerk (Justine) was very courteous and check in was very quick. Our room was ready even though we showed up well before check-in time.

The room was small but comfortable with two queen size beds, a small easy chair, desk with chair, fireplace and a large dresser with a small refrigerator inside and a flat screen TV on top. The beds and chair were comfortable and had no evidence of bedbugs. The shower had decent pressure with lots of hot water. The ceiling was slanted and at the peak were quite high, even in the bathroom. We had a nice balcony which overlooked a part of the golf course with a couple patio chairs and a small table.

The grounds are well kept and clean and the fantastic beach is a couple minute walk from the Oakwood main building. I am not a huge beach lover but this beach was among the best I have ever walked. The sand is so fine and deep with little stones all along the length. We found a nice stone with what appears to be a fossilized foot print which was neat. The waters when we went were not rough at all, but I am sure that a west wind would bring in some nice rollers. You can also walk out quite a way as the waters are relatively shallow.

As I said, we had a meal plan for one day of our stay. Breakfast was plentiful with a nice variety. My wife didn't enjoy the scrambled eggs, but she is not an egg eater. I had no problem with them. The bacon was tasty but very thin and in my opinion under cooked. The coffee was out standing and the service was very good.

We tried to have dinner at Dave's Clubhouse Tuesday as the dining room is closed on Monday's and Tuesday's. Not sure why they close the dining room during the busy summer season, but they do. We got to Dave's just before 8:00 PM and was told that the wait for our meal would be at least an hour. We didn't stay that night, but returned the next night. Our meal ticket indicated that we would have to eat in the main dining room the next day, but it was Italian night Wednesday and we didn't feel like pasta. The front desk checked with Dave's and they assured us that Dave's would take our meal ticket. I had the rack of back ribs and my wife had the Special which was a 10 oz New York with a skewer of (3) shrimps. All was prepared very well, but I didn't believe the New York was 10 oz, ever and the rack of ribs was far less then a full rack or they came from a very small animal.

They also have a golf course on the property. The course is short with many par 3's and a couple monster par 5's. The course is well kept and as advertised the greens are very slow. The green at the par three is totally blind and I don't think the average golfer can reach it in one shot. The first and tenth tee off is right by Dave's bar and you have quite a gallery when teeing off which can also be a bit nerve racking.

We were both please with our stay, but there are always some issues. Our balcony was in need of some repair as a couple boards had significant rot. An extra easy chair for the room would be nice, but I am not sure were they would put it. Also they don't have in-house movies for the rooms which would have been helpful for the evenings. The golf course didn't appear to have any marshall's to keep the pace of play going. We got stuck behind a couple ladies and they were not interested in playing up to the group in front of them.

We would consider coming back but we wouldn't get a room that faces the highway as the noise from the truck traffic was quite loud all night and it got a lot busier fairly early in the morning. By the way, we had room 108 in the main building.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hhenry57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Oakwood Inn several times and always enjoyed the visit. We always go with the combination golf and meal package. It was our 38th wedding anniversary and we booked a room in the Oak section. Our room was great. We faced the golf course and had a lovely view. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. They have moved to energy saving light bulbs and the room was a little dark for reading etc. The golf course was in good shape and has some intersting and challenging holes. The good news stopped there. THE FOOD WAS HORRID Compared to the fine dining we were accustomed to at the Oak dining room
Their theme night buffet was a nightmare. They advertise KIds Eat Free so you can imagnine what our dining experience was like. We felt like we were at Pizza hut.for their all you can eat $9,99 special. The bufftet breakast the next morning was O.K but they need to have a fresh egg or omlet station. I might mention this was not a particulary cheap package so we were all dissapointed and IF we ever visit again we will opt out of the food package and dine off the resort.

Room Tip: WE alsways enfoy the view and a balcony so aske for a room facing thr golf course rather than the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Considering this lodge is located in a pretty remote location, we were surprised at the low quality of the room and the lack of service for the relatively high price. Our room was fine but dated - no better than a cheap hotel. The balcony looked like it was about to collapse and it had a table that appeared to be homemade and 20 years old. $40 and a trip to IKEA would easily upgrade the patio furniture to modern standards. Our room was not made up or cleaned once in a 3 day stay. The beach is beautiful but is a bit of a walk for those with children.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GVVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We just returned from a two night stay at the Oakwood. I had been there 10 years ago and was delighted to discover it was even better than I remembered. We stayed in the Oak Lodge on the second floor and were very pleased with our lovely big, clean room with large balcony and comfortable outdoor furniture. The room was well equipped with very comfortable beds and lovely bedding. The carpeting appeared new and everything was very clean. There was even a large bar fridge which was very convenient for our snacks and beverages. The grounds were beautiful and very well maintained with lovely gardens and a golf course running through the resort. We did not eat dinner at the resort but the restaurant offered good lunch choices and they would provide take-out if you wished to eat outside on your balcony. There was also barbecued hamburgers and hot dogs available. I felt the prices and value were good. The pool and hot tub area was very clean and well maintained. It was open reasonable hours from 7 am to 11 pm. The gem of the Oakwood is the beach! It is only a few minutes to walk to the gorgeous sandy beach. The water was a turquoise colour and definitely the time spent at the beach was a highlight. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our two day stay. We were in Grand Bend for a wedding but the stay at the Oakwood was definitely value added to a fabulous weekend!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank trishsargeant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
17.9 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
87 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Grand Bend
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Forest Golf and Country Hotel
24.9 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
174 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Grand Bend
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Bend
Price Range: $121 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing