We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.”
Review of The Sunset House - CLOSED

The Sunset House
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Sunset House is located on the water front of Grand Bend and has the best view of sunset in town. All of our dish are made from scratch using only fresh local ingredients.We offer something for everyone. Each day we create a special menu base on a theme. Mystery mondays,Thai tuesdays, wine it down wenesdays, thirsty thursday, festia fridays,sizzling saturdays, sangria sundays. We also have live music on the back patio from time to time. Hope to see you on the patio for sunset.
Grand Bend, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a hidden gem in Grand Bend. Great decor inside. Wonderful outdoor patio with lakeview and a water feature. The food is always consistently wonderful and creative. You won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cowgirlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    4
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Make a reservation in the summer! This place was very busy! We oredered the calamari and cheese stick appetizers (the cheese sticks were a favourite). Then we had a steak and the pickeral, both were very good. Enjoyed on their outdoor patio with a reasonably priced bottle of wine and the sunset.

This place is not gourmet or fancy by any means but they do a pretty good job of make casual dinning enjoyable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tally_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a great experience...”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We came to this restaurant based on the other reviews on Trip Advisor and were disappointed in the result. We made a reservation and were seated promptly we sat on the back patio which had a really nice atmosphere. The place isn't that big (about 20 tables) but all of the wait staff seemed to be running around everywhere. Our server (who didn't seem very experienced) was not great - here's why:
We were finished our first drinks and sat with empty drinks for quite a while before being asked if we wanted a 2nd.
- When we ordered we were pretty convinced our server wasn't really listening to what we wanted and we were right -- we orderend an appetizer, it never arrived. I also ordered a burger with a few changes (no bun, and without bacon but onions instead), when the food arrived, it had the bun and the bacon, but no onions. When asked, the server said the kitchen was too busy to make substitions, but this was not communicated to me -- what if I didn't eat pork? If this was not possible, someone should have told me in case I needed to change my order.
Overall, the atmosphere was nice, but the service was awful. We will definitely not be returning to this restaurant. We will try somewhere else next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacodave, Owner at The Sunset House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear customer. Im am the owner of the establishment and wish extend my apologies for your experience. All i can say is sorry and hope you will come try us out again. Im not sure if you were aware that there is a beauitful upstairs with a breath taking view as well. We sit 216 so it can get pretty busy at times. Do to the fact were seasonal and staff have no place to live. Its hard to find experienced staff. We always try and give the customer what they want. especially for anyone who has alergies. no matter how busy we get. I know cause im in the kitchen cooking. I would love to make it up to u and invite you and a guest for lunch or dinner on me. just get back to me and i can take care of it. Again sorry you had a bad expereince and i hope you will give us the chance to show you what we can do.
dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The view from the Sunset House is great as it is located at the end of the street and in full view of the beach and the spectacular sunset that Grand Bend is famous for.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simone F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great sunset”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A very nice outside patio which overlooks the parking lot but also it allows you to see an amazing sunset. They had a nice pickerel on the menu which was very tasty. Good service

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hhenry57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sunset House also viewed

Grand Bend, Lambton Shores
Grand Bend, Lambton Shores
 
Grand Bend, Lambton Shores
Grand Bend, Lambton Shores
 
Grand Bend, Lambton Shores
Grand Bend, Lambton Shores
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing