We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay outside Algonquin Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Barry's Bay B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay outside Algonquin Park”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My sister and I recently had the good fortune to stay at Fortune's Madawaska for a night en route to a canoe trip in Algonquin Park. It could not have been a better place to spend the night. Our room was very comfortable, clean and had a great view of the fields across the road and the Inn's garden. The price of the room was very reasonable too. Nancy, one of the owners, was welcoming and great to talk to. We had a great dinner and breakfast at the Inn--the food was delicious and the drinks were great. We also loved the bouquets of flowers fresh from Nancy's garden that adorned the Inn. As we left for our trip, my sister and I pledged to each other that we would be back in future years.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
It was great having you stay with us and hearing about your adventure. Thanks so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have stopped here for a meal for the past 4 years. Whether it has been just my wife and I or our family the service has been excellent and the food great. The menu was varied and complete. We will certainly visit again on our next visit to Barry's Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thanks Brian, that's music to our ears.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I've been a guest at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn for over 10 years and you simply cannot find a more welcoming place in all of the Madawaska Valley. The rooms are comfy and cozy, the food is simply amazing and your hosts, Nancy and Warwick have thought of every single need or request you may have. The Inn is a place you leave having made two new friends for life. Nancy and Warwick are very knowledgeable about any possible interest you may inquire about and are valuable resources with ideas on how to enjoy the many sites and activities in the area. The gardens surrounding the inn are meticulously maintained with Nancy's green thumb and continue to bloom all summer long with bursts of color. She really is a "flower whisperer". If you aren't planning an overnight stay, the restaurant is a great place to drop in for lunch or dinner anytime! You will feel like you went on a mini vacation after your meal!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Wow, thanks so much. I think I need to hire you as a marketing rep! Really appreciate you doing this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent the beautiful time in this nice and very comfortable place. The big room, excellent breakfasts and dinners, and fresh air around us make our weekend memorable. Nice atmosphere, and gracious host caused that we already miss this place.
Thank you Nancy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank org70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
So kind. You are right about the air. It is one on the things I love most about the valley. Hope you can come and visit again soon and resume my wild mushroom lessons!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great stop along the RAP tour - direct access to RAP trail.

Spent one night and ate 2 meals. The accomodations were clean, cozy and quaint. The food was fantastic!!! I'd stop in to eat if I didn't spend the night for sure!

My wife and I will definitely be making this our stopover for this leg of the RAP.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
It has been so hot this week that thinking of winter and our snowmobiling guests was a great respite. I'm glad you liked it! Warwick was the president of our club for years so we always love looking after our sledders. It will be that time of year again in a blink of an eye. Thanks so much for posting your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have stayed in over 50 B&Bs throughout my travels. Everything was great about this place from the rooms, very kind hosts and OMG the food...it was 5 star quality but with reasonable prices. I look forward to going back!

Room Tip: all rooms are great but if you have one with a pull out sofa bed that you plan on using, the pull ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Warwick and I work very hard to make our guests stay a positive experience. So when someone takes the time to tell us and everyone else that it is working, it means a great deal. We know our efforts are appreciated and that makes all the difference. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Just finished a wonderful nights stay at the inn. The breakfast was excellent, unfortunately we were unable to stay for dinner but the menu looks fantastic. Bob (from Buffalo NY) who I think is a regular guest assures me that it is worth a trip back just to try out the cuisine. Nancy was a gracious host and the rooms are clean and quaint.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gord M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thanks so much Gord. It was lovely to meet you both and I hope you had a relaxing day roaming the back roads of the valley and touring the caves. Come see us again sometime when you can enjoy Warwick's dinner menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
3.9 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#3 of 3 in Barry's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
17.9 mi away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
The Balmoral Hotel
#2 of 3 in Barry's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 7 in Barry's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
13.6 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn

Property: Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
Address: 19854 Hwy 60, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barry's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique country inn is located in the beautiful Madawaska Valley near the town of Barry's Bay. Set among sloping lawns and towering red pines the Inn is a perfect place to relax while you enjoy the valley or rest on your journey between Ottawa and Algonquin Park. Excellent dining room for your breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing