We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best B&Bs I have ever been to in all my travels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Barry's Bay B&B and Inns
Ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best B&Bs I have ever been to in all my travels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have stayed in over 50 B&Bs throughout my travels. Everything was great about this place from the rooms, very kind hosts and OMG the food...it was 5 star quality but with reasonable prices. I look forward to going back!

Room Tip: all rooms are great but if you have one with a pull out sofa bed that you plan on using, the pull ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Warwick and I work very hard to make our guests stay a positive experience. So when someone takes the time to tell us and everyone else that it is working, it means a great deal. We know our efforts are appreciated and that makes all the difference. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Just finished a wonderful nights stay at the inn. The breakfast was excellent, unfortunately we were unable to stay for dinner but the menu looks fantastic. Bob (from Buffalo NY) who I think is a regular guest assures me that it is worth a trip back just to try out the cuisine. Nancy was a gracious host and the rooms are clean and quaint.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gord M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thanks so much Gord. It was lovely to meet you both and I hope you had a relaxing day roaming the back roads of the valley and touring the caves. Come see us again sometime when you can enjoy Warwick's dinner menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We just spent two days taking a course learning how to canoe in white water and it was an amazing treat to stay at this lovely property. The Inn is warm, charming, inviting, and super clean. Nancy is an amazing hostess and made us feel welcomed and cared for. Having a full menu to choose from for dinner was truly a pleasant surprise and the meals were excellent. I highly recommend staying here if you are ever in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sun Room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbmd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so very much appreciated when people take the time to do this. What a beautiful weekend it was for your canoe adventure. I'm sure Sunday proved to be as much fun as Saturday and that your drive home was a safe one. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravenhurst, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was very nice.
I did hear there was a hottub after our visit so perhaps it was not operational at the time.
Friendly but not too frienedly that it is invasive.
Just about right.
Recomended!
Accomodated special needs regarding our bills.
Bed was very comfortable. Slept like log.
Walked the trails after dinner and that was fun.
Short Ribs to die for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sissi609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hot tub is absolutely operational. We have it written up in the information booklets in the rooms but
I guess you didn't get a chance to read that. Sorry you missed it but so glad you enjoyed your stay.
We enjoyed having you with us too and hopefully on your next trip to Barry's Bay you will get a chance for a nice soak!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were on a 3 day trip and stayed with them for one night.
We were welcomed warmly by Nancy and had a lovely and comfortable room.
Our night included dinner so we chose from a list of about 8 appetizers and a similar number of entrees.
I had an amazing samosa with peach cutney and my wife had a house salad. The samosa was probably the best I've had and we have many good Indian restaurants here in the GTA.
I had a penne with tomato basil sauce with black olives and feta cheese and my wife had pickerel. Both were outstanding.
We would definitely come back again and I can't say enough good things about the food and the warm welcome we received..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank3892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Hope you are able to join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We always travel at least once during the winter snowmobile season to this beautiful little paradise .
It is very easy to access off the trails . The entire experience is always excellent. The meals are delicious . The rooms are so cozy and clean. The hot tub is just the best way to end a day. We always look forward to our stay .
Thanks again for your warm hospitality this past Family Day Weekend. It was a pleasure to spend time with you .
Rick and Bev Kinsman

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
It is always a pleasure to have you visit. We absolutely love it when our guests return time and again.Thanks so much for writing a review. I know how busy people are and it really means something when they take the time to do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great dinner, breakfast, and hospitality. Staffs were very kind and friendly. Although we were staying with our baby, we really could relax and enjoyed stay!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Iety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Travelling with a baby takes a certain amount of courage. I know you had some difficult days on your trip, I'm just happy we could make your stay with us stress free. Your little one was adorable!! Thanks for taking the time to write the review, we appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
17.9 mi away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#3 of 3 in Barry's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 7 in Barry's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
The Balmoral Hotel
#2 of 3 in Barry's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.6 mi away
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
#5 of 7 in Barry's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn

Property: Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
Address: 19854 Hwy 60, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barry's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique country inn is located in the beautiful Madawaska Valley near the town of Barry's Bay. Set among sloping lawns and towering red pines the Inn is a perfect place to relax while you enjoy the valley or rest on your journey between Ottawa and Algonquin Park. Excellent dining room for your breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing