We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and even better Food!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Barry's Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were on a 3 day trip and stayed with them for one night.
We were welcomed warmly by Nancy and had a lovely and comfortable room.
Our night included dinner so we chose from a list of about 8 appetizers and a similar number of entrees.
I had an amazing samosa with peach cutney and my wife had a house salad. The samosa was probably the best I've had and we have many good Indian restaurants here in the GTA.
I had a penne with tomato basil sauce with black olives and feta cheese and my wife had pickerel. Both were outstanding.
We would definitely come back again and I can't say enough good things about the food and the warm welcome we received..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank3892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

What a lovely review. Thank you so much. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Hope you are able to join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 74 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We always travel at least once during the winter snowmobile season to this beautiful little paradise .
It is very easy to access off the trails . The entire experience is always excellent. The meals are delicious . The rooms are so cozy and clean. The hot tub is just the best way to end a day. We always look forward to our stay .
Thanks again for your warm hospitality this past Family Day Weekend. It was a pleasure to spend time with you .
Rick and Bev Kinsman

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

It is always a pleasure to have you visit. We absolutely love it when our guests return time and again.Thanks so much for writing a review. I know how busy people are and it really means something when they take the time to do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great dinner, breakfast, and hospitality. Staffs were very kind and friendly. Although we were staying with our baby, we really could relax and enjoyed stay!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Iety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Travelling with a baby takes a certain amount of courage. I know you had some difficult days on your trip, I'm just happy we could make your stay with us stress free. Your little one was adorable!! Thanks for taking the time to write the review, we appreciate it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

That title is not intended to be derogatory, rather complimentary. My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights this summer while attending a family wedding in Barry's Bay. We would say that we were fortunate to stumble upon Fortune's (pun intended), it being like taking a step back in time. By no means is everything all stainless steel and chrome, but rather the way things once were. Perhaps rustic is a good definition for Fortune's, but then I like rustic. It was cosy, spacious, friendly and secluded. There is a small resturant on site, serving breakfast and lunch, both of which were simple, but very good. Very conveniently located at the West end of Barry's Bay, and a very pleasant drive from Algonquin Park. All in all, a cut above the average and certainly a place to which we would hope to return in the forseable future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truereviewer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks so much for telling others about your experience with us. It means a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a very nice stay. Clean rooms, good food and Nancy is the perfect host. We checked in with our 18 month old daughter and there was a high chair waiting for her when we came down for breakfast the next day. Taking care of something like this may seem like a small thing but it is not something that we see very often. Thank you Nancy and we look forward to coming back sometime.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Travelling with a toddler is not easy. Glad we could help in some small way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay. Nancy is doing everything right. The food was great and the room perfect. The bathroom was spacious and the shower great. We looked forward to returning after a day of biking, hiking and swimming.

Room Tip: We had the Hudson Bay room which had a king size bed and two standard beds (plus a fold down bed) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

So kind. Thanks sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

It is not often that you are treated to a firm luxurious mattress while on the road. Amazing motorcycling roads all around the area. Wonderful hosts, fabulous breakfast and dinner in a lovely quiet setting. We will be back. D & D

Room Tip: Hudson's Bay room perfect for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbb2, Owner at Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

...and we will really look forward to having you back. Thanks for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
3.9 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#3 of 3 in Barry's Bay
61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
78 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 8 in Barry's Bay
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 8 in Barry's Bay
77 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Balmoral Hotel
#2 of 3 in Barry's Bay
4 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn

Address: 19854 Hwy 60, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barry's Bay
Price Range: $120 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique country inn is located in the beautiful Madawaska Valley near the town of Barry's Bay. Set among sloping lawns and towering red pines the Inn is a perfect place to relax while you enjoy the valley or rest on your journey between Ottawa and Algonquin Park. Excellent dining room for your breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing