We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit and will likely return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We visited Spectacle Lake Resort twice several years ago, when our kids were teenagers, and recently returned with our adult son and his girlfriend. This is a small resort, with cottages and lodge rooms overlooking a beautiful little lake. The cottages are not luxurious, but are clean and comfortable, and each has a fire pit outside as well as as a gas fire inside (although the thermostat had been removed, presumably so this could not be used in summer). The rates include unlimited use of canoes and kayaks, as well as a nice little beach that is good for swimming.
A negative - and the reason that my review is less than 4 star - is that the cottages are quite close together and several can accommodate up to 8 people. Our group of 4 was sandwiched between a large family group on one side and an even larger group of adults on the other side. As several additional adults from another cottage also spent most of their time at the cottage next to us, along with their two large dogs, it made for a lot of noise and very limited privacy. We did not complain as they were not really doing anything wrong - there were just so many of them! We will likely return to Spectacle Lake as their are so many positives, but a suggestion would be to limit of the number of adults who can occupy or converge at a cottage, at least on one end of the row, to make things a little more peaceful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mandb_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

Owners are relaxed, organised and friendly. The setting is fabulous--lots of fun to be
had with kayaks, canoes and paddle boats. Food was tasty, expecially the 'melt in your mouth' prime rib --particular kudos to our regular waiter Jeff for his good humour amidst the chaos. Both lodge rooms and cabins were clean and comfortable...an absolutely terrific place in which we had a most memorable time.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
5  Thank evamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We just came back today from Spectacle Lake Lodge. We loved our room, Lodge Room #1, especially since we had a patio and picnic table right on the beach. We loved it so much we booked for next year while we were there. The lake was beautiful, warm. Hassle free to use the boats, fire pit, and hot tub. Fantastic meals at the restaurant, and we loved our hosts - Leslie and Norm. And an honourable mention to our server Jeff who was so pleasant and made a killer martini!! Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: If you go in the summer - try and get Lodges 1 or 2 (or both if the price suits you)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandJ2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

A beautiful picturesque lake that offers a tranquil setting for those needing to relax or if so inclined you can use the lodges canoes and paddle boats for water fun or you can explore the many hiking trails or go 4 wheeling. The fishing is excellent from shore or by boat. The host and hostess at the lodge are extremely accommodating and will make sure your stay is an enjoyable experience. You can't go wrong with the meal plan at the lodge either, great choices, wonderfully prepared and ample amounts, you'll never walk away hungry. All in all, a great place to spend some time.

Room Tip: All rooms offer a lake view and there are a variety of options available from lodge rooms to individ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northof42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was our second visit to "Spectacular Lake Lodge" as I like to call it. This time to sample what summer has to offer now that we've visited during the splendor of autumn colours. Two seasons down and two to go...! We stayed in the same cabin now "our" and had a breathtakingly beautiful view of the lake. In the morning We'd turn on the coffee maker (there's complimentary coffee, a maker and mugs etc right in the room & fridge for milk etc 7 microwave) and sat out on our private porch with our steaming mugs to listen to the birds, and gaze out over the lake to see the dragonflies dancing across the glassy surface... Ah... what a way to start the day.
We went exploring around the lake by boat and also took to the trails above and around the lake. So many varieties of wild flowers plus wide stawberries! We didn't hear the loons back in October but this time we saw them make their daily circuit into our little cove - two by two- and occasionally making their unique call. Made me think of Kate Hepburn and Henry Fonda in "On Golden Pond". The food at the lodge is so wonderful. Delicious, beautifully prepared and presented but not pretentious - You know, It didn't feel out of place. Well we'll be back again...
Thank you to the Carters for making this little slice of paradise available to city folk like us who really needed to get away. It was everything I wanted and more....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Garnoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This was one of the stops for my wife and I snowmobiling en route around algonquin park tour. This was our favorite night stay as the food was amazing and hospitality was amazing and the cabin was warm and cozy with a picturesque view of the lake. I would highly recommend staying here and we will certainly be back! Ed and Neile Siblock
Oshawa ON

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edsiblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We were a group of eight snowmobilers on our way around Algonquin Park. Some of us had stayed at Spectacle Lake years previously and remembered it fondly. Thankfully I had booked the rooms about a month earlier, because they had lots of demand for them. Thankfully, though they couldn't contact me despite many attempts, they held them for us, knowing they had my credit card should we not show up.

Upon our arrival we had some mechanical problems that needed repairing in order to continue the next day. Norm graciously connected us with a local repair shop, loaned us some tools and then drove us into town to drop off the parts before closing, so that they could repair them first thing in the morning. It would have taken us a couple of hours to ride the sleds into town and back. Instead we were able to all enjoy a great meal together and get a good night's rest. The next morning after getting breakfast for all the guests, Norm once again took us to town to pickup the repaired parts.

The cottages we stayed in were clean, neat, warm and comfy. The water was good temperature and taste-wise. We'll be back again if we're in the area. Thanks Norm and Lesley,
M.Knecht, Brampton ON

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtxmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
8.4 mi away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
24.9 mi away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
223 reviews
21 mi away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
12.1 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#3 of 3 in Barry's Bay
62 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sunny Hill Resort
Sunny Hill Resort
#1 of 8 in Barry's Bay
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spectacle Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spectacle Lake Lodge

Address: 202 Spectacle Lake Road, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Barry's Bay
Price Range: $104 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spectacle Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spectacle Lake Lodge! Our lodge has 9 cottages, 5 lodge rooms, 140 occupancy gourmet restaurant, bar and fireside lounge, beach, terrace conference center, dock, hot tub and trails. All accommodations have A/C, fully winterized, potable tap water, flat panel TVs with 120+ channels and most have fireplaces. We LOVE hosting families, ATVers, snowmobilers, poker-runs, weddings, business retreats and travelers of all descriptions. We are family-owned and operated and you will not find a higher level of service and care. WiFi is available in the lounge. Take care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Spectacle Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spectacle Lake Hotel Barry`s Bay
Spectacle Lake Lodge Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing