We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clifty Cove Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Big Lake Lodge(Big Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
100
38
15
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
38
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnova scotiamuskoka chairsswiss airsmall deckrenovated roomconvenience storecable tvone nightfacing the oceanno air conditioningbase to explorepleasant place to staymargaret's bayceiling fanoverlooking the watersmall fridgestayed for two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 159 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stopped on July 6th, 2009. By A Yahoo! Contributor, 07/26/09We had been driving the costal highway all day from the east, stopped here to check the room rates, 96.05 Canadian dollars per night. Desk clerk, her home is attached to the office, not friendly at all. About 830pm, she tells us everything, including the restaurant closes at 9pm in Peggy's Cove. We rushed back to it and got in just before closing. Showed back up at Clifty Cove at 10:20pm. Lady who runs the motel was hateful, she said she stated earlier that check in time is 10pm, and didn't want to let us look at the room first, the outside does look rather aged. So, we sign up, go to our room, outta there. The outside makes the drab, ancient furniture, and the warped old brown paneling on the wall downright depressing. We went back in under six minutes according to reciepts and asked for a refund. Motel lady was nasty hateful telling us we were quiet the nuisance. We had been polite with her at all times. She snatches a booklet out of her drawer telling me she couldn't give a refund then late admitted she didn't know how. Read her instruction book for the card machine for at least 10 minutes, keys everything in, and tells us a refund is complete. I told her the reciept was another charge, not a refund, she basically told us it was a refund, and she was locking the door. We left, GPS'ed back 15 minutes to Big Lake Lodge @ 5849 Hwy 333 in West Dover Nova Scotia. Clean, overlooks a big beautiful lake, man who owns the place lives there is very pleasant, happy to get up past 11pm and rent us a room for 98.31 in Canadian dollars. Got home, two charges for Clifty Cove on the credit card. So because the lady? at Clifty Cove lies now and said one charge is valid we have to send all the reciepts, Visa finds it interesting as well that we have a reciept the same night for another hotel. Moral of this story, unless you like drab run down hotels, with a hateful desk clerk to match, don't bother stopping at Clifty Cove on your otherwise beautiful drive through Peggy's Cove in Nova Scotia. It was the one and only bad experience we had on the whole two week trip in Nova Scotia, honestly. [--]

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank middletnNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

I'v been there for 6 nights. The rooms are basic but the location and the view is excelent. Also ther sevice was very good. When we came with our fresh hot lobsters from ryers (just 200 m away and best prices 9,24 per lb and you also can eat them there), jana (the owner) provided us with a candle stove to melt our butter and a opener for our wine.
Peggys cove where we had breakfast is only a 2 min. drive away. Halifax is a 40 min drive. The area around the hotel is perfect for walking or just relaxing.
They have now wireless,wich worked very good.
Andreas from Fulda-Germany

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Germantreaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

This is a basic motel with reasonable price. The location is great, only 3 minutes from Peggy's Cove. Beach view from the window is fantastic. However, what bothered me the most was the smell in the room. It was the smell of toilet, you know, that of a public toilet. It hit us right when we entered the room. In fact during the night, I was awaken a few times being bugged by the smell. The bedsheets were thin and worn, felt like they were washed and used for 10 years. I don't feel comfortable lying under the sheets. However, the ower lady was super nice. Got to give her credits. But she should hire better cleaners to clean the bathroom and replace all the bedsheets.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miumiu700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Clifty Cove is a very, very basic motel experience. Besides having an ok view of the ocean, the beds are nice, and the water is hot, and the tv is good. I was disappointed to see that most dreaded of bug, the 'water bug', aka roach, in the small bathroom (with a leaky water faucet - probably why he was hanging around) :p Just a wee little guy, but still...

However, overall it wasn't bad, and was easy to find and convenient to Peggy's Cove and other cute beachy areas around Halifax. Set your expectations realistically.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ashleylovespizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Great family owned motel. Basic but clean with wonderful ocean cove view from the room. Very accommodating owners, even let me use their phone and came to get me when I received a return call. We ended up buying the property that was for sale next door. Beautiful part of Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Springburn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews